Fiction logo

Dear stranger

Letters that Tell

By J. AdamsPublished about a year ago 7 min read
Dear stranger
Photo by Rowan Heuvel on Unsplash

The sun was setting, and his scorched skin felt soothed by the cool sea breeze. Henry finished his work as he hauled in the last load of shrimp. The net was full. The shrimp fell in piles on the deck, tiny crabs were scurrying sideways to escape the scene, and small fish were jumping among the shrimp, but something unusual caught the fisherman's attention. Normally, the nets would catch debris or trash from the seabed, such as boots, boxes, cans, and the occasional bottles. However, the bottle had something in particular, besides being a bottle of expensive wine, inside it was a series of rolled-up pages.

Henry removed his gloves and examined the bottle closely. He popped the cork to reach inside. The pages were intact, scrawled in an unknown language. Possibly it should contain an important message, even so, he would have to wait until he got home, he knew very well who could decipher the long message contained in those pages.

It was not until nightfall that Henry was able to reach his home. He always walked up the mountain trail to get there, and it took him a long time because of the load of fish and shrimp he carried on his shoulders.

After being greeted with appreciation by his family, Henry asked about Julia, his daughter, who was the only one of his children who decided to study a career after finishing high school.

They were about to have dinner, so he finished washing up before showing the sheets to his daughter.

Julia was very interested in her father's find. The strange language in which the bundle of leaves was written was Portuguese. Fortunately, Julia had a computer and used the translator to decipher the message.

Many of the pages had different dates, which implied that it was written in different time periods.

"Dear stranger," began the voluminous bundle of papers.

"I really don't know how to start this letter, but I feel very fortunate that it has been found. I am lost; I could not say I am alone, for a 17-year-old girl to be shipwrecked with her parents and land on a deserted island is not quite living with the best company, I hope you understand what I mean.

This was something very unexpected.

Anyway, let's start from the beginning...

It all started at the beginning of summer vacation on a luxury cruise ship; things were going great, and life was perfect. The place was totally pompous, with a spectacular concert space, more than 10 pools with warm water (phew, how I miss warm water), 24-hour room service, a large bar with exotic drinks, and many other comforts that I no longer have, as far as you can assume.

Unfortunately (that's the only word I can use to describe what happened, in a polite way) a big storm hit our boat, causing us to lose our way and crash into a reef. Screams all around, a big blackout, crazy people pushing and shoving and stomping, everything was a catastrophe.

Fortunately, we managed to get on a survival raft, we drifted for more than two days until we finally reached this island. I can't complain, it's a beautiful place, with white sands, crystal clear waters, palm trees and a variety of exotic flowers and thank heavens, fruit as well. But, to my misfortune, there is no civilization signal and to top it off, my cell phone is dead. No more Instagram, TikTok, not even Twitter, can you imagine?

I have no idea when I'll check my social networks again."

Julia winced.

"Normally, ordinary people; that is, like me, would go crazy being stuck in a place as small as this, isolated from the whole world, without the remotest possibility of communication with the rest of the planet. But for my parents, it was like continuing their vacation. They never had the comforts and luxuries I was given as a child, coming from a small village, forgotten by time, where they had to chop wood for cooking, fetch water in large containers (every day) far from home and the medical service was a man who came by their house once a Lent. So for them, this was normal.

As soon as we arrived, my mother rolled up her sleeves and the first thing she did was to make a broom and clean and organize much of the beach; obviously, I had to help her. While we were doing that, we gathered fruits and herbs to feed ourselves. My father, on the other hand, went into the interior of the island and looked for a nice place where he made a big fire and built a home, much like the place where he was born, with walls, roofs, rooms, and even doors!

It is incredible to witness what necessity does, everything he had at hand was used for something, my father completely disassembled the raft and used much of it to make the roof, some machetes, spears, and fishing rods. My mother was very happy to find some plants, with which she made the fabric to weave some hammocks.

This was a relief for me, no more ants or bugs crawling over my body and face, just remembering it makes me cringe.

Clearly, this didn't happen overnight, my parents could be living in hell and they wouldn't even know it as long as they keep themselves busy."

Everyone in Henry's house was mute, attentive to what the letter said.

"One day, while my parents were asleep, I set out to explore the island and was surprised to discover a hidden cave. When I plucked up the courage to enter, I was thrilled to see that the cave was full of treasures: ancient coins (perhaps galleons? I don't know; as I mentioned before, my phone had died a long time ago, so it was impossible for me to know what kind of coins they were), necklaces and precious stones. I was in awe of the beauty around me and felt like I was the queen of Portugal."

Everyone at the table became even more interested to know what the letter said

"With a handful of them, I could buy a helicopter and return to civilization, to the modern era, to electricity. Dreaming doesn't cost a thing.

I must confess that life has become daily on the island, between lighting the fire and fetching water and food, the days slip away like the sea in the sand. Fortunately for us, the island had a source of fresh water, a spring about 45 minutes from our new home. The annoying thing was to go back and forth every day for water. Which we did before dark to avoid any danger. I miss how easy it was to turn on a faucet and have water come to your hands without having to take a step.

From my point of view, it wasn't all bad; I spend the day swimming, I enjoy walking around barefoot and scantily clad, and I have a tan that all my friends would kill for.

I find the local flora fascinating, according to my mother, almost everything is eaten and if not, it is medicinal or firewood.

Dad has found a new hobby: gardening. He likes to grow his own food. He loves to watch the seedlings grow and get stronger, despite the insects and other bugs that tend to eat them.

It's Christmas or so we think. Dad cut down a tree and we decorated it as if it were a Christmas tree. Of course, once it dries we will use it as firewood, but the spirit is what counts.

Merry Christmas, dear stranger.

I miss my friends...

Happy New Year, dear stranger

This year I'm sure we will be rescued by someone if you're wondering why I haven't thrown this letter into the sea it's because I still can't get a bottle to carry it in.

We are in luck! I have found the perfect bottle, the sea always drags things and deposits them on the shore of the beach, bless global pollution and how careless people are.

I hope this letter quickly reaches someone who will rescue us.

By the way, about the treasure, I lied, but I had to get your attention somehow. Sorry... Please send help; I'm tired of banana leaves.

Sincerely yours,

Gabriela De Sousa

A girl shipwrecked on an island."

"And that was the last page," Julia completed.

Everyone was silent

Henry cleared his throat

"What's the date on the letter?"

Julia searched through the sheets until she found the first page, they both glanced at the date and were stunned.

The letter was dated five years ago.

"Possibly they must have been rescued by now," said the father, not quite sure.

"I have an idea," Julia exclaimed in exultation.

She opened the search engine in the browser and researched the girl and the shipwreck. Her brow furrowed for a few minutes, then her face relaxed and a smile was painted on her lips.

In a digital newspaper, there was a small report about the rescued castaways. It took the authorities 2 years to find them, however, the people were in good physical health.

On a particular note, Mr. and Mrs. De Sousa were so used to life on the island that they decided to visit it once a year for the rest of their lives.

familyShort StoryHumor

About the Creator

J. Adams

I'm a novice writer of entertaining fiction and fantasy stories. My writing is creative, imaginative, and captivating. I'm always looking for new ways to explore the world of fiction and fantasy. My writing style is unique.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    J. AdamsWritten by J. Adams

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.