Fiction logo

Dawn of the Eternals

Light the fire within.

By Jessica LampasiPublished about a year ago β€’ 25 min read
2
Image made using Midjourney AI software.

All is quiet in the woods, and the dawn appears as a sunlight crown gilding the dark sky. The trees and plants are covered in a layer of condensation, the dew beads shimmering with the glow of the rising sun.

They say that it is always darkest before the dawn, and for the Woman, this night had been the darkest of her young life.

Her feet pound against the damp earth as she runs, bare branches swiping at her arms and cheeks. She feels the blood trickling down her chin, making tracks down her wrist, but she pays it no mind. She clutches the bundle closer to her chest and runs faster, deeper into the trees.

She knows that no one will follow her here. There is a heaviness that blankets the forest, fed by centuries of curses, hatred, and death. But that will soon change.

Shades of pink and orange are painted overhead when the Woman reaches the clearing. The light from the rising sun is chasing away the last bit of darkness. She doesn't even allow herself to catch her breath before she drops to her knees and lays the bundle down on the mossy floor.

For a moment, she lifts her face to the sky, soaking in the rays of the morning light. Dawn signifies a new beginning, hope, and illumination. It also signifies an awakening.

It is time the forest was awakened.

She looks down at the child, searching for just the right word. Her precious baby.

Dawn.

She feels the humming in her blood. The light sparking at the edge of her consciousness. Putting her palm against the child's chest, she closes her eyes and says the word in her mind again, pulling on that singing power flowing through her veins.

Dawn.

She feels the magic ripple across the ground like a pebble dropped in water, spreading out through the forest. The humming intensifies, and the trees and plants come alive with it.

Time is running out. Still kneeling, she looks up to the sky again, closing her eyes and throwing her arms wide, calling to them. She knows they are there. She knows that now, they can feel her. Can hear her.

They have awakened.

She needs you. The time of reckoning is coming, and she is your only hope. Protect her.

The forest seems to vibrate in response, and that is all the assurance she needs. She rises to her feet and makes her way back to the village. She knows what awaits her, but now, she can greet death with open arms and peace in her heart.

She is your only hope.

She hears the bellowing roar in the distance, and thanks the gods for hearing her pleas as she walks to what will surely be her doom.

But back in the clearing, drawn by the thrum of power and the child's cries, a great golden beast emerges from a deep slumber. He leaves his companions behind and leaves the safety of his cavern. When he comes upon the clearing, he lumbers over to the small bundle.

The child reaches a tentative hand in the air, and the beast lowers his glittering head to meet it.

And the ripple of power is felt all across the world.

20 years later

Autumn has arrived to the Greywood. In a matter of days, a curtain of vibrant reds and golds fell over the forest, and the beauty of it took my breath away. Now, I lay on my back looking up to the sky, watching as the now dead leaves fall to the ground around me. An occasional breeze will catch a handful and send them flying away in a flurry, like large brown snowflakes.

Winter is approaching quickly. The changing of the seasons has been happening earlier and earlier the last few years, and the winters are growing longer. Soon, the Greywood will become a place befitting it's name; grey, bleak, and unwelcoming.

I know what these longer winters mean. Everyone in the village does. After all, the Greywood was named as such for a reason, and the forest had a reputation for centuries. It wasn't until twenty years ago that the forest came alive, that the villagers started migrating here, drawn to the call of the spirits that reside here.

The spirits that were awakened with the Eternals.

Before that, when the Eternals slept, the forest was an unwelcome, dangerous place. And these longer, drawn out winters? That means the forest is returning to it's former darkness. It means change is coming.

I take a deep breath in and release it slowly, trying to ease the ball of tension forming in the pit of my stomach. The elders in the village have always remained cryptic about my past, and even more so about my future, but I know enough to acknowledge that whatever change is coming, my fate is irrevocably intertwined with it.

Taking one more fortifying breath, I push myself up into a sitting position. I have wasted too much time out here in the trees, and soon someone will notice I'm gone.

"Finally. Have you decided to return to the world of the living?"

My head snaps to the side, eyes scanning the trees for the source of the voice. As soon as I see who it belongs to, I release a long groan and let my body fall back again, throwing my arm over my eyes.

"Belor's shards! You startled me, Veric."

Hearing the crunch of leaves draw closer, I shift my arm away from my eyes and hesitantly crack an eyelid. Veric is standing right over me with a look of severe admonishment.

"You of all people should be wary of the curses you pick up from the villagers, Dawn. Gods forbid you let that slip out in the presence of Belor himself." He bows his head in a sign of reverence as he says the name.

"Yeah, well, I would have to actually be in his presence for that to happen, wouldn't I?" I should feel guilty about the hint of accusation in my voice, but I don't. "Honestly. Sometimes I think you elders made up their entire existence just to keep everyone in line. Why do we never see them?"

Sighing, the old man shakes his head and reaches his hand towards me, ignoring my question. I hesitate only for a moment before grasping it and letting him help me up. As much as I would like to lay out here all day and avoid my responsibilities, I know I need to get back to the village.

Today is an important day, after all.

I shake the dried leaves from my body and out of my tangled hair. Veric is already traipsing off towards the village, so I have no choice but to follow. As always, the closer I get to the village, the more my discomfort grows. I've always been somewhat of an outcast, never fitting in with the other children. The target of endless taunting and ridicule.

Of course, there are many possible reasons for this, since I never made much of an effort to get along with the other children growing up. But the most likely reason is probably due to my unsettling red eyes.

Or rather, what they are rumored to represent.

Dawn; Image made using Midjourney AI and Facetune

We make our way out of the wilderness of the Greywood and through the village. As if confirming my inner musings, the whispered word follows me when the villagers watch me pass. It floats from their lips in hushed tones, as it always does, following me unbidden no matter where I try to run.

Witch.

I don't know if I'm a witch. The elders remain cryptic, neither confirming nor denying the rumor. I suppose the combination of my unsettling appearance, my secluded existence, and the fact that I was found abandoned as a child just led people to naturally assume the most obvious explanation. That I am a witch.

Even though I'm not sure if I'm a witch, I know enough to know that I am... different. The elders say I'm "special," that I "bear great importance." This is the only explanation they have given me or anyone else that has complained as I have grown up. Which is pretty much everyone in the village.

I have led a very privileged life, much more privileged than anyone else in the village. I am never left wanting, even now as food gets scarcer and the Greywood grows colder and more desolate. I have been granted the best of everything; the nicest cottage, the best tutors, private training sessions. That's probably another reason I have spent most of my life ostracized from the rest of the villagers. Everyone holds my privilege against me.

Including myself.

I have never wanted any of it. The stone cottage, the tutoring, the extra rations. In fact, I have expressed my discomfort with the special treatment to the elders on multiple occasions. Every time, they inform me that it's not my decision. That I have a higher calling, and a day will come when I must "fulfill my destiny," so I must be taken care of until then.

They have refused to inform me what exactly my "destiny" entails, yet still continue to treat me like the village darling while at the same time monitoring my every move.

It's a stifling existence.

There is one piece of information that they shared with me when I was a child, though. They did inform me when I would be called upon to fulfill said destiny. I'm assuming they told me with the hope that I would look ahead to that time and prepare myself for it, perhaps train harder or study more diligently to make sure I am ready. But to me, it has only represented my impending doom, a quiet countdown lurking in the back of my subconscious.

I would be called upon on my twenty-first birthday.

Which happens to be today.

Sighing in resignation, I follow Veric up the path to my simple, yet charming stone cottage. Smoke pours out of the chimney, a sweet, earthy smell floating through the air. Veric must have set a pot of tea to boil in the fireplace.

We walk through my front gate. As we approach my door, I cast a forlorn glance at my beautiful garden. It is one of the few things I take great pride in, tending to and nurturing every spare moment I get. I wonder who will tend to it when I am sent off to "fulfill my destiny."

I have really come to hate that word.

I have no idea how this oh-so-important day is supposed to play out, so when Veric walks to my table and takes a seat, I assume we are proceeding with my studies as usual. I grab the vial of pale blue liquid that Veric has me drink every day and head to the table.

He raises a hand to stop me. "You won't be taking your medicine anymore, Dawn."

I freeze in my tracks. He has had me take this medicine every single day as early as I could remember. It has become as much a part of my daily routine as eating, or relieving myself. To find that I suddenly don't have to take it is... disorienting.

"Oh." I tentatively set it back in the rack with the rest of the vials and walk over to the table. Taking a seat next to Veric, I ask, "Then, will you finally be able to tell me what it was for?"

Veric is one of the village elders, but his primary role in the village is as a healer. There has been more than one occasion that has left me wondering if his craft might might include less healing and a little more... magic.

Maybe that's the witch in me talking. Like drawn to like.

He has been my mentor as long as I can remember, and in the absence of any parental figures, he has taken on the role of my surrogate father as well. I trust him more than anyone else I know. So, I have never argued with him about taking my medicine or questioned what it might be for.

Until now.

He sighs deeply and places a gentle hand on my shoulder. "My dear girl. I know you have so many questions, and I desperately wish I could answer them. Alas, it is not my place." He meets my gaze meaningfully. "But take heart in the knowledge that you don't have to wait much longer."

Dread coils in my stomach. I look away from his earnest brown eyes, afraid that he will see the fear I try so desperately to hide. The fear that has been slowly mounting, festering inside me as the silent countdown has gradually reached it's conclusion.

Veric squeezes my shoulder. I've never been one to stay quiet or demure. My silence must be unsettling for him. "It's nearly time. Are you ready?"

Moving past my moment of weakness, I meet his eyes again. "No, Veric. I'll never be ready. In fact, I've half a mind to run back to the Greywood and spend the rest of my days as a hermit. I know where to hide. You'll never find me."

He lets out a low chuckle. "I highly doubt that, ignis. But, by all means, keep talking. Get all of that spiteful energy out of your system now."

My chest warms at his use of the nickname. His term of endearment for me as long as I have known him. Ignis. Fire. It softens my resolve just a little bit.

Standing, I say, "If they need me so desperately, they are going to have to take me exactly as I come; spiteful, obstinate, and incredibly strong willed. If they really have been keeping an eye on me, they shouldn't expect anything less."

He laughs this time. "Oh believe me, I have tried to warn them what they are getting themselves into. I think they are well equipped to handle you."

Scoffing, I say, "I've met them, Veric. They are a bunch of stuffy old codgers... excluding you, of course. You aren't stuffy. But you are old." He laughs again. "They know well enough what to expect. Why they still want me, I have no idea."

Sighing deeply, he looks right in my eyes. "Your council isn't with the elders, Dawn."

I furrow my brow. "Who else would I be meeting with?"

"I think you know."

My heart threatens to beat out of my chest. If I'm not meeting with the elders, then I do know who is expecting me.

The beings I have questioned even existed. The ones who, if they are real, have been using the elders, probably Veric himself, to watch me and control the course of my life. The ones that I am apparently about to meet for the first time, that are about to change the entire trajectory of my life.

The Eternals.

No one in the village has ever met or seen them other than the elders, but they are a constant presence held over our heads. They are held in such high esteem, on par with the old gods. Some even refer to them as the new gods and worship them as such. Not much is known about them, their origin, or even what they look like. But they are always there.

And I am about to meet them.

Swallowing thickly, I try unsuccessfully to tamp my fear down again.

He stands and walks over to me, ushering me to my room. "Come, child. You must get ready. They are waiting."

I let him guide me to my room. He must have already instructed a servant to choose what I am going to wear for my council with the Eternals, because when I look over at the garment hanging next to my dressing table, I release an unexpected gasp.

It is the most beautiful, opulent gown I have ever seen. The top of the gown is an iridescent gold cloth that seems to reflect the light no matter what angle I turn it to. As the fabric reaches towards the floor, the shimmering gold cloth gradually fades into a deep maroon. The light catches on the darker fabric just as brightly as it catches on the gold, sending a reflection of rainbows dancing along the wall.

The gown is floor length with long sleeves and a high neckline. I lift it off the top of my dressing table and turn it around. The back sweeps low, but a clear material covers the open space, overlaid with a scattering of what appear to be metallic scales in gold and maroon to match the cloth.

I look from the dress to Veric, my breath caught in my throat. "I can't wear this, Veric."

He casually dismisses my panic with a wave of his hand. "Nonsense, you will look stunning."

"Oh, I never said I wouldn't look stunning." I hold the dress against my body. "But isn't this a bit much? I'm going to look ridiculous. Aren't they just a bunch of old men that have lived in a cave for centuries? Maybe they are wizards... Still. This gown is the most extravagant thing I have ever seen. I can't wear this."

He shakes his head and walks back towards the door. "You need to wear this, just trust me. Now, get ready. We will head for the caverns soon."

When the door is shut behind him, I am left in silence, staring at the endless shimmering fabric in my trembling hands. At least I am being sent to meet my doom in dazzling grandeur.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Under the cover of darkness, Veric and I make our way through the village to the edges of the Greywood. The gown is stifling, and I am hidden under the weight of a heavy wool cloak. I feel as if my body is a furnace, my skin being boiled from within. At the same time, I can't stop my trembling.

I don't know what's wrong with me. Am I afraid to meet the Eternals and learn what my future holds? Absolutely. But never in my life have I been a sweating, trembling wreck like this.

I turn to Veric and whisper urgently. "Something is wrong with me."

He shoots a sidelong glance my way, keeping his pace. "I assure you, you are fine. It's just going to take some time for your body to adjust to the changes."

"Changes? What on earth are you talking about?"

"Patience, Dawn. If you have any questions for me after your council, I will be more than happy to answer them. Until then, be patient."

I scoff. Am I doomed to a life of old men simply giving me cryptic responses to any question I ask? I suppose it wouldn't be much of a change from the life I've lived so far.

I begrudgingly keep my silence until we reach the outer edge of the Greywood. We leave the towering trees and dense brush behind us and walk towards a solid wall of granite. I've never ventured this direction before. As children we are always warned to avoid the mountain and the caverns at all costs.

Because that is where They reside.

The darkness is so complete that I have no idea where we are going, but Veric heads straight towards the granite wall. To my surprise, he leads us directly to a small opening, and we squeeze our way through.

When we are through the wall and out of the cold air, my eyes slowly adjust to my surroundings.

We are standing in a monstrously large cavern. It is so large that it almost appears as if the mountain itself is hollowed out. Our entire village could fit in this chamber ten times over.

There is a small pool in the center of the room that reflects the twinkling blue lights glowing from the ceiling of the cavern far overhead. Every surface, from the floor to the walls to the angled ceiling, is smooth, polished stone; gleaming like obsidian in the faint blue light from above and a scattering of torches around the space.

I feel hands at my shoulder and allow Veric to remove the stifling wool cloak. Even though the cavern appears bleak and cold, it is surprisingly warm. A musty, dank chill doesn't permeate the air, but instead I'm enveloped by the warm, comforting scent of cinnamon and burning wood.

Veric sets my cloak on a dark bench that I hadn't noticed right away. I turn to him. "Where are they?"

Before he can answer, a low grumble fills the space around me. Searching around for the source, I see nothing, but the deep vibrations continue to grow in intensity. Suddenly, the ground gives a violent shake and I'm almost sent sprawling on the ground.

When I regain my footing, I straighten out my dress and look up.

At the far end of the cavern, the torch lights catch on an object shimmering in the distance. The ground begins to shake beneath my feet again, this time in an even, steady beat.

Thump. Thump. Thump. Thump.

With each beat, the glittering object grows closer. And closer.

My eyes take in the materializing shape before my brain can truly comprehend what I'm seeing. Shimmering gold scales along the back. Softer maroon scales covering the belly. Talons as long as my arms, teeth as big as my head. Opalescent maroon wings twice the size of my cottage. And the eyes... An unsettling red. Just like mine. Looking me up and down with an inquisitive gaze.

Before me stands an alarmingly beautiful and dazzlingly terrifying... Dragon.

Image made using Midjourney AI Software

"Belor's shards."

A choking cough sounds besides me and I look over to see Veric glaring at me, eyes bugging out of his head. He gives a subtle shake of his head then looks back to the behemoth dragon, dropping to one knee. He glances at me again, motioning for me to do the same.

As I fall to my knee and bow my head to show my respect, I hear Veric say, "Please forgive her, Lord Belor. She knows not to whom she speaks, and I fear I did a poor job preparing her for this encounter. The fault is mine."

A coldness settles over my body despite thick warmth of the cavern. Tingles run down my spine, reaching to the tips of my fingers and toes.

Belor? He is more than just an Eternal. He is a god. Yet here he is, standing in front of me. I knew I was coming here for a council with the Eternals, but to be standing in front of the Great One himself? I wasn't expecting that honor.

I also wasn't expecting the Eternals to be... Dragons. Are they all dragons?

Shaking my head to clear my spiraling thoughts, I bow deeper. "I sincerely apologize, your eminence. I meant no offense. Your... your sheer beauty caught me by surprise, that's all." I've never had to beg forgiveness and grovel before.

I think I'm terrible at it.

A quiet, exasperated sigh comes from the man beside me, and I wince. Then a low, rolling grumble permeates the air around us, the hum going straight to my bones. I discreetly glance up to see belly of the dragon before me shaking with subtle vibrations.

He is amused.

How do I know that?

There is no need for apologies, Ignis. I can sense your confusion, and it is entirely warranted.

I shoot to my feet, my head whipping to Veric. It was such a distinct voice, sounding clearly in my consciousness. As if someone were speaking directly to my mind. It wasn't Veric's voice, but he is the only person to ever use that name for me.

"How did you do that?"

He looks up at me and his eyes widen. He starts to shake his head, but before he can say anything, it happens again.

It is not Veric's voice you are hearing in your head, child.

Slowly, I turn my head back to the dragon. He is carefully studying me with those fiery red eyes. I fight the shiver threatening to run down my body.

Is this how people feel when I look at them?

I straighten my shoulders, standing proud under his scrutinizing gaze. My neck and arms itch terribly under the fabric of this gown, and it takes everything in my power not to scratch at it. My hands are still trembling, and I ball them in tight fists, willing them to still.

Gods, what is wrong with me?

I know you have many questions, child. I assure you that they will be answered. But first, I have much to tell you, and I think you will find that what I have to say will solve many of your mysteries.

Looking over at Veric, I notice that he has made his way over to take a seat on the bench. "Can you hear him speaking?" I ask.

He shakes his head. "Only if he wishes me to. But no, I can't hear what he is saying to you right now."

This conversation is only for you, Dawn. Veric knows much of what I am about to tell you, but there are a few details he is not aware of. I would like to leave the decision to share that information in your hands, since it involves you.

I look at Belor, nodding. How can a creature be so utterly terrifying, yet captivating at the same time? I cast my eyes down to the floor, waiting for him to continue.

Many centuries ago, my companions and I walked among humans, working hand in hand with them. We were not as we are today; we had a form similar to yours, although we could not be called distinctly human.

You see, we were a collection of magic wielding folk, who came together to help unite the world in peace and harmony. We are each one of us immortal, so we referred to ourselves as the Eternals. But not all magic wielders wished to join us. Those who opposed us were not in favor of a peaceful, united world. They thrive on destruction, chaos, and war.

I listen with rapt attention. How is it possible that the villagers have come to view the Eternals as essentially gods, yet we don't know any of their history?

As the chosen leader, I made a decision that cost us greatly. I chose to fight those opposed to our decisions. A great war ensued, and we lost. The Eternals were placed under a dreadful curse.

I nod. I know this part of this story. The Eternals were cast into a cursed slumber, and were only awakened twenty years ago.

Twenty years...

Chills spread to every corner of my body and I stumble back against the wall, sliding to the floor.

Belor lowers his gargantuan head to meet my eyes again. Yes, Dawn. We were cursed to live as beasts and cast into an enchanted slumber. But before the battle, I consulted one our members, a powerful seer.

She delivered a prophecy; We would lose the battle, would be cursed. But eventually, we would return. Our salvation would be found in one of our own, who would awaken us, and free us from our curse.

Indeed, centuries later, our slumber was disturbed, and we were awakened. We have lived in these forms for twenty years, waiting for the rest of the curse to be broken.

I swallow thickly, my entire body shaking. I know what is coming next.

Your magical awakening brought us from our slumber, Dawn. You are our salvation, the one who will break our curse and free the Eternals. We had to wait ceturies for your arrival, but here you are. We have watched you grow and mature, waiting until you were ready to fulfill your destiny. And now, you are.

I shake my head, finally finding my courage to speak. "I don't understand. What is so special about me? How do you even know I am the one? How could I possibly be the one to break this curse?"

Here, Veric speaks up. "My dear, I am so sorry for the secrets I have kept from you over the years. The elders and I have been responsible for watching over the village, but primarily for taking care of you. Making sure you are ready for this. And... It was painful for me to do, but I had to keep you... maintained until you were ready."

I look back to Belor. "Maintained?"

I know you feel it, Dawn. You are no longer required to take the potions that subdue your magic. Your power is awakening, lighting a fire in your blood.

As if in response, the tremors that have been wracking my body grow to a vibrating hum. I look from Veric to Belor in shock.

"How is this possible?"

I think you know. Ignis. It means fire. You have spent your life wondering what sets you apart. It is not your hair, nor your eyes. Those are manifestations of your subdued power.

Yes, you are powerful. It is time to embrace that power and fulfill your destiny, fulfill the prophecy. To free us, and join your people.

I look down at my trembling hands, at my shimmering gown that matches the scales covering the majestic dragon before me perfectly. Looking back up, I meet Belor's glowing eye. And suddenly, it makes sense. Why I have never felt like I belonged. Why I have been destined for this, to fulfill the prophecy. So I am expecting the next words that are spoken to my mind, feel them in the depths of my soul. It's almost a relief; like being gone for a long while and finally returning home.

You are an Eternal, Dawn.

Fantasy
2

About the Creator

Jessica Lampasi

Hi everyone! My two passions are reading and writing. Writing has always been an activity I enjoy, but it was a hobby placed on the back burner in my busy life. Now, I’m ready to devote some quality time to pursuing my passion.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Katelynneabout a year ago

    Amazing work! πŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌ

  • Brad Rafuseabout a year ago

    Awesome beginning. Now you have to finish it!!!

  • Jenn Wishabout a year ago

    This was fantastic! Bravo!!

  • Nick labout a year ago

    Just wow…

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.