Fiction logo

Dawn

The Barn

By LaTonya FallsPublished 2 years ago 10 min read
1

Crickets chirping, the smell of fresh cut grass, apples falling from the trees. I was as happy as Santa Claus after a hot chocolate and three chocolate chip cookies. I could not wait to get to the barn and play with baby Justine. She was born on a wet Friday evening. Her mother was quite a squealer sometimes from sunup to sundown. The constant sound made me scream, Just Stop Just Stop! So, when we found out she was pregnant I said I will name the first girl Just Stop Justine or just, Justine.

The sun was peeking through the clouds saying its’ final goodbye for the day. Uncle Mat picked me up from school that afternoon with a grin on his face as he said, “Get ready little one.” “Is today the day,” I screamed with excitement! She has been digging and getting ready for a little while right before I left to come pick you up. Well hurry before she looks around and finds out we are not there to care for her!

Aunt Maxine was filling the trough with lots of goodies, as she would say, for the other pigs. As we were pulling up, I almost jumped out the pickup as it came to a stop. Aunt Maxine, Aunt Maxine where is Justine? In the field over on the side, she has been pacing back and forth for a few hours. Uncle Mat will go check her titts to see if any milk is coming out that is how we know she will be ready to deliver. The more that drips the closer we are to new piglets. I ran around back jumped over the fence and who do I see Jerry the Rooster chasing the lady chickens’ round about the yard. Flapping his feathers showing off as usual and sounding like he was begging for a date. After that encounter, I decided to tiptoe up on Justine as to not alarm her because she might have been in labor. There you are girl, my gosh you look happy still eating. It is not your time, but you will be a mother soon enough. We will wait on Uncle Mat to come check on you girl. I rubbed her head and she grunted with joy to see me.

Running through the grass twirling and twirling, the evening turned to night as I played and played. I turned and stopped midair to find a young owl. Gazing into the eyes felt like an instant connection. It was scary but comforting, as his or her eyes said, hoot hoot, I slowly waved back, Hello and away it flew. I found another farm friend. Well Justine till morning. You will be a mom tomorrow just like when your mom had you. I tickled her behind the ear, rubbed her head and to a hot bath I adjourned to.

The next day, I looked out the window to see Uncle Mat carrying hay into the barn. Rubbing my eyes and adjusting my vision I saw Aunt Maxine carrying hay also. My heart jumped as I leaped to my feet and put on a coat and rain boots. Running downstairs sliding down the rails the rest of the way out the back door breathless as can be. Where do you want me, is she in labor? Yes, she is, and they are coming out as we speak. I went in and Justine was laid out. She is still pushing, and we are on number five. I am late on the job, let me start the names. Okay, so how many boys and how many girls. Well, let us see the first two came out were boys, then I left, and Auntie took over. Ask her for the next few. I am back on six. You are doing great Justine, you keep pushing until you are done, I told Justine keeping her calm.

Afternoon approached, Justine was done and a new mom of ten new piglets. She had six girls and four boys cute as could be. It was time for lunch, so we left to let Justine rest. Tired and hungry I had to grab a pad and pen so I could get the names written down. Do you know what, I will give all the girls a name that starts with a J and all the boys a name that starts with a J but sounds like an H. Ha, that’s clever, Uncle Mat said! I dabbled on the pad, tapped my foot, scratched my head, and ate my P B & J then cleared my dishes. Standing up at the table I made the announcement of the names. All of those are great little one, now is the time we better go check on the new mom.

Right behind you, should we bring Justine a little food? Yes, that would keep her fueled for the babies. I went around to the side of the barn, ouch! I looked up nothing, then I looked down and saw it was an apple. I looked around but no one was in sight. Up a little further was the pale of food for Justine. Grabbed it and ran on, ouch, another apple. Still, no one was around. What took you so long, little one. There was this army of darting apples bopping me on the head. I looked east, I looked west no body was around. “There is a mystery to be solved so let me point out the kiddos quick, little one said.”

After spending the afternoon with Justine and her piglets I yarned, smiled at her, and said goodnight. Walking out of the barn the stars shined like glitter. It took me away for a split second until, hoot hoot went in the night. I gazed up at the tree it was the owl again. You must be a night owl; we meet her under the night light often. I named the owl Dawn and talked to him about Justine. He sat attentively as if he knew what I was saying, hooting at me when I paused. I looked deep into his eyes and there was a family with two kids sitting in the backyard of a home. The father was standing at the Bar B Q pit an old lady was sitting in a rocking chair knitting and the kids were blowing bubbles catching them in their hands. The mom was painting a picture of something. Suddenly thunder clapped loudly, I screamed ran in the house then hid under the table.

Saturday mornings are the best, Aunt Maxine makes the best breakfast and sometimes lets me drink some of her coffee. Well, we ate and drank, danced to loud music, and cleaned up the kitchen. I ran outside to get some sunshine, skipped down the steps, and tripped on an apple. “Again, I quietly said.” Uncle Mat walked up reached out his hand to help me up. Are you okay little one? Yes, but I better get to solving this mystery of the Fallen Apple or I will need a doctor soon. Well back before you came there was a little boy that used to come drop off a basket of fruit his grandmother used to make us, weekly. What happened to him why did he stop, I asked?” Unfortunately, the house caught on fire and burned down with the family inside. It was a sad tragedy that no one saw coming. Well enjoy this sunshine we may be getting rain tomorrow.

I took a ride on my bike to see if my friend was home. I made it to the corner to turn, her and her mom were coming out of the driveway, on down the street they went. I could tell it was her because she wore that green flower headband in her hair for the whole week. I rode my bike back home, crossed the street to ride on the other side to see an old grey house with boards on the windows. When I crossed and walked into the yard, it had a giant apple tree in the middle of the yard. This must be the family my uncle was mentioning. I got off my bike at the tree and went up on the porch, trying to peak, unable to see anything, then, the board on the other side fell. I ran to my bike and without hesitation started peddling. Got to the sidewalk and there was Dawn sitting in the apple tree. I raced home no breath left in me, jumped off the bike as it was rolling into the yard, pushed the door open and ran upstairs under the covers.

Waking up to the sound of Dawn, hooting outside my window I decided to get up. “Let me be brave, I told myself.” The sky was full of stars shining and Dawn was giving me the look. Nice night we are having here? Did you know the family down the street with the apple tree? Our pig Justine had ten piglets the other day, they are a handful. The crickets and grasshoppers gave me answers of nighttime sounds, but Dawn only hoot hoot. I sat quietly with my hands propping up my chin. Thinking about the apples, my uncle’s story, and Dawn. Dawn gave me that look again, and I stared at her ready for the story, into her eyes I went. A woman with a basket gathering apples and picking them from the tree. Kids riding their bikes in the yard. Then a dog next door ran out of the house barking and jumping, the dog ran over to the kids barking louder. The father came out of the home, looked at the house next door, saw a flash of light in one of the rooms windows, then signaled his wife. Take the kids in the house he told the woman. The father ran into the home grabbed something, ran over to the neighbor’s house, knocked, screamed hello then went on in. Somebody ran out across the backyard and over the fence. The father came running out, dashed down the street and turned the corner.

“Hey little one you not in the bed, it is late, Uncle Mat said.” I was concerned about the family down the street. Well worry no longer they are in a better place. I laid down counted sheep and woke up to the sound of Jerry. He does his job right on time. The thought of the family was still in my head. But I still could not figure out why apples were hitting me in the head. Is there a such thing as ghost and how did their home catch on fire with all of them in there. More mysteries to solve little time to do it alone. I decided to see if my friend were home again, she would know how to help me solve this mystery.

Without hesitation she had already figured out who the family was, what happened to the neighbors that lived next door to them and what the father had in his hand. When I mentioned the owl, she claimed she never seen an owl. She told me her grandmother knew them and told her what happened to the family.

She was a dead end, so I went home. The mystery was the owl, not about the family or the neighbors. It was all not a mystery but an angel in disguise that would follow all families to help them through their lives.

As I sat in my room, Dawn appeared out my window. I see that my job was to help the next family or inform the neighborhood of any misadventure that could occur. I silently sat waiting on Dawn to reveal, I looked into his eyes, but it was me in the truck and the trailer of animals behind with Uncle Mat an Aunt Maxine. I looked back and saw the barn burning. We drove off and the fire got smaller and smaller but, in the distance, ahead I heard a long harsh scream, looking to see Dawn. He was soaring above with great speed as if to keep up with the truck. I smiled with a big comforting smile that also brought a tear to my eye. Thanks for protecting my family and sharing your wisdom with me. He has been watching me and my family all this time to save us from ourselves.

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.