Fiction logo

Dave

unspoken

By Sid Aaron HirjiPublished 7 months ago Updated 6 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - October 2023
20

I call him Dave. He is in my head. I hear the harsh awful whispers not in my ear but in my head. I have tried to ignore him, yet he is there. He says in my head to take all my medications at once as I am a stupid ant. I look at my medications-Clonazepam, Olanzepine, Seraquel and Cipralex. He repeats the request with more urgency. Oh overdosing would be nice. No more pain, no more anger, and no more Dave.

I have Schizophrenia. I have deep conversations with my hallucinations. Dave seems to be the most pronounced. When he comes, I forget everything. Bloodcurdling screams, a vision that threatens me with a death touch dart, a damned goblin of a voice that steals my happiness...They are all around me every day. But now, my mind is rooted on Dave.

I am in the donut shop sipping a lemon tea. A young woman serves me with a smile. I gaze at her and she looks away. Dave reminds me of how pathetic and empty my life is. I'll never experience a woman's touch, never break the cycle of toxicity. I will always have a headache that makes me feel bludgeoned, damned, beguiled and cursed. I feel a wave of nausea hit me. I retch and people look at me with disgust. A man checks on me. I tell him I'm okay and I just need rest. He is incapable of understanding that I am under attack, I am at WAR.

Dave is screaming now. End the misery! I focus sharply on my tea. I feel if I get up my bones will shatter. I lift the tea to my lips using as little motion as possible. Dave insists I throw the tea out as it is poison...POISON. That word reverberates with me. I am a poison. I scare everyone near and dear. If I could muster the strength, I would take all my pills at once. Am I a coward for wanting to back out? Do I dare actually think myself worthy of living? Dave has instilled the thoughts of hopelessness in my head for years. I feel I can't break free from him. I sit in silence, or what an observer would call silence. I am never alone, even when nobody is around. The people in the donut shop must be looking at me-at least Dave thinks so. They think I am disgusting. I am a freak, unworthy of a chance. I am destined to be alone without a helping hand.

I look over to my side for a moment. A young couple is holding hands and raising their faces together in a kiss. I pretend that is me who is receiving the kiss, only Dave interrupts that thought. He beckons me to run. Run and hide from the world! They are all against you! You must hurry, end your life, end it!

Dave's insistence is killing me at this point. I feel myself sweating and my breathing becomes labored. Dave is urging me to act, to destruct, to destroy myself. He states I have no dignity, that this is the right time. I have nothing left in this world, and nobody would stop the end result even if a man walked in with a knife and was defenceless. Dave is telling me I must act now and I can not wait any longer...

I wake up from this mad dream in the mental hospital. It was a reoccurring nightmare based on the time I went off medication. I am sweating and breathing heavily. A nurse is rushing to my side. I am safe, and Dave is gone, for now.

CONTENT WARNING
20

About the Creator

Sid Aaron Hirji

Canadian born man who finds literature and science equally fascinating. Trauma bleeds through generations, words heal the hidden scars.

youtube https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCS3WEyx5XeX-o8xRwG-cMlg

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    Fuck you, Dave ❤

  • Donna Bolch6 months ago

    this story resonated with me..i too am battling demons that plague my body with chronic pain with fibromyalgia and functional neurological disorder.YOU ARE WORTHY OF LOVE and i hope you can find happiness.

  • Sady Bayne 6 months ago

    This one really caught my eye because I use Dave in reference to ADHD and this was a well written relatable story. If you want check out my Poem called *DAVE* in the poets community!

  • Luna Hawthorne7 months ago

    hello everyone iam a new writer here i wish u all look on my profile and read my stories Congratulations its an amazing story😍🥳🥳

  • This was so sad. Just yesterday I watched a TikTok video of an audio of what a schizophrenic hears in their head. It's exactly like Dave. I don't hear voices in my head. I'm not schizophrenic either. But I do tell myself all the things that Dave tells. Maybe I am Dave 🤣🤣🤣 Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Margaret Brennan7 months ago

    First, congratulations on your TS status. Now ... what a profound story! So excellently written and enlightening. Thank you so much for sharing.

  • Donna Renee7 months ago

    Wow… that was intense!! congrats on the top story!

  • Congratulations on your Top Story💯♥️😉🎉🎉🎉

  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    Bloody Dave. I see this as a positive dream. Dave is your antagonist and your strength to thwart him is your protagonist. When you wake up you have won. Punch him in the face in the dream and wake up smiling. This is so well written anyway, you have already won. Congrats on Top Story my friend.

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Wow. That is powerful. Congrats on the TS

  • Rob Angeli7 months ago

    Gripping and horrific edging between reality and nightmare. You communicate this dilemma very well. Bravo, you really moved me with that one.

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Loved the ending!!! Well done!!!💕♥️♥️

  • Stay Away, Dave 😮👻📝💯💙

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.