Fiction logo

Dark Smoke

I always knew that you were real.

By Theresa EvansPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Dark Smoke
Photo by Kyle Johnson on Unsplash

From what the elders told the children here in Fun Valley, there weren't always dragons in the valley. I heard the elders' old stories over the years, but I never thought these magical stories were true until I met a dragon named dark Smoke. To better understand how I met this dragon, let me start at the beginning of my adventure. I was walking in the forest of the fun valley when I walked upon a cave that I had never seen before. Now I am not a fan of dark places, but this cave kept calling out to me for some odd reason. I had to face my fears and investigate the cave, and when I took the first step into the cave, I heard someone or something call my name.

"Hello Phoenix, how are you? My name is dark Smoke, and I am your personal dragon. Now I know that all of this is new and scary to you, but I have been assigned to you by the elders, so I need you to only listen and not speak until you have heard everything. I know that you have loads of questions but keep in mind that all of the questions you have for me will be answered as I tell you the reason for my existence and why I have been assigned to you. Will you have the patience to listen and learn how to work with me so that I can show you what we both are capable of together?" Dark Smoke said.

Okay, now, I just peed on myself, and the first and only thing that I could think of to do was scream and run. Before I could make it back to the cave entrance, Dark Smoke was already at the entrance by the time I made it there, and once I got there, I froze. "Hey, Ummm, are you human, and why are you hiding in the shadows of this cave? Do you have a sickness that you are dying from? What do you want with me?"

"Hold on there, Phoenix," said Dark Smoke. "Slow and take a breath. First of all, let me apologize for the way we are meeting. You were not supposed to come to me until your eighteenth birthday. Now for you to be here in front of me now means that you are already ready for your journey into working with a dragon-like me, and I know that we will be a great team. I know that you are only twelve years old, but you are the first of your kind to mature so fast. I have already contacted the elders to let your guardians know that you are with me, and they will be fine."

By Thomas Despeyroux on Unsplash

Dark Smoke moved to the side for me to leave the cave, and the voice followed me. I knew I was thrown in the air and caught by a giant bird-looking thing. The wings were as sharp as broken glass. Its claws were as sharp as knives, and its beak was as pointy as a sharpened pencil. The funny thing about the way this bird-looking thing was carrying me was how it carried me with such gentleness. Now I was still hearing the voice of the person speaking to me, but I couldn't see them until the bird-looking thing placed me back on the ground, and when I was able to turn around, I was stunned at what I was looking at. In my first visual, Dragan thought I belonged to him, and he belonged to me for some odd reason. This dragon was talking to me, and I lost all function in my vocal cords.

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Theresa Evans

I am a woman on fire for the love of life and being able to reach one life at a time through my words. If I can reach one then I can teach one the art of healing one's self from the inside out all mentaly

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.