Fiction logo

Dame Nature

Continued page 4

By simplicityPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 4 min read
1

It was decided dinner would be at Siena Restaurant. In the past Local 121 would have been the place, but it's no longer an option. Siena has options in various price ranges. Probably more friendly than Mills Tavern to the pocket book. Food afterall, was not the purpose of this meeting.

"What do you do Colel? For a living?"

"I own 2 factories. I make tools for farmers and ranchers. Do you remember the symbol in your book of the purse and pinecone."

"Yes."

"What if in the female book I told you there is a symbol of the purse and pinecone with a snake as well."

"I'd ask to see that. I'd be interested, very interested in seeing that."

"You have seen it, just not detailed. The mans hand is also a snake. Look at how it is positioned next time you look at it. It's position is supposed to symbolize a snake. So the snake offers the pinecone or purse. The brain only gets you so far, the hands are what offers it to the next generation. The hands are the skill. The greatest have both intelligence and skill. Without, you have no purse, nothing to offer. Thus, the pinecone is also an egg. The snake offers the egg to another. So, the whole is important. Its unknown what will happen to the egg or pinecone; It will grow or die and become used by others and the earth."

He said it all with such a simplicity, a ease. He spoke as if it all was common place. Like a breeze, the words just barely rustled her. That is until she listened and really heard the meaning.

"Okay"

"The female book has a picture depicting this. The books compliment eachother. What if I then told you a symbol on pillar 43 at Gobekli Tepe is also referenced in the book with a slight alteration."

"I'd say a friend of mine really would like to meet you and I am still very interested."

The restaurant seemed to disappear. The incoherent chatter of patrons became a silent hum in the background as his words whirled around the table creating their own cocoon. A cocoon she was sure she would emerge more mature than when she entered. She could already feel a change in her taking place with the bits of information he was sharing.

"Colel, How did you come to be the keeper of these books and knowledge exactly?"

"Skeptical or you don't believe me?"

Her tone had carried a melody of disbelief, but her disbelief was not in her question to Colel. The disbelief existed from the fact that this person existed and could be the source of all her answers and she was just now aware of him. There was a whole other book.

"No, sorry, excuse me. Please tell me more about these books, about you and your family, about the history. I believe, I just can't believe there is so much more to the story that I didn't know existed. That you are here, infront of me, possibly with information that might help with my research. I mean, you are a golden ticket. You are a seven!"

"Oh I see."

He scratched the back of his head calmly, but most likely out of being uncomfortable.

"Seven? I'm getting older and I want to pass my knowledge to you if I can, if it's not trespassing on my ancestors knowledge space."

"Seven, the luckiest number. The first official day of the world. Are you sick?"

"No, but I'm not getting younger and the process takes a while. If you are not the one I should pass it on to I need to decide on another. I put it off for a long time. I knew you were interested in the book you were given and starting your own research. I have known of you since you were younger."

"I was told nothing about you."

"That's not true, you just didn't know you were being told stuff about my family. There are people who know of rumors of the books and speculate that they exists. There are people who would try to steal them if the books were confirmed to be real. So, I hope I don't have to stress or enforce why it is so important to be careful. There are people in the brotherhood who may target you as part of a test and there are people who are not in the brotherhood, but have a vendetta because they have been tested and failed. Others want in, still others are just curious pursuers of knowledge. Do you understand? I will be here for two months. At the end of my visit I need for you to come with me to my home."

"I will still be teaching."

"No you will need to come with me."

"I have a job."

"We all do. If you are serious, this is also your job."

"I need until the end of the semester."

"No you come for a week and then return and then come back at the end of the semester."

She was grasping her necklace again blankly staring at Colel. He didn't seem open to discussion and she wasn't sure how to start her dispute. Afterall he wasn't a credit card company. It would be simpler if he was. So she agreed because it seemed the only avenue he'd accept. She felt a whim of thrill. She kissed her necklace and released it. Thanking her old friend in the process. One last question plagued her, but she didn't hesitate to ask it. It felt right.

"Can I bring a friend? A scholarly friend?"





Sent from my Galaxy

MysteryScriptMicrofictionExcerpt
1

About the Creator

simplicity

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    Your writing style is so captivating. I also thought it was great.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.