Fiction logo

Creating Happiness in Glass & Fabric

The Animals have Stories

By Patti Leota GenackPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Photo caption: Top row of animal portraits are all beads. Bear and owl in the scissors are beads. Bottom group left to right: Blue Jay, Peacock, Raven, Owl, Parrot. The last three are in various stages of completion.

Create Your Happiness ** Friskars & Vocal

I am a sculptor in hot glass of animals, birds and prehistoric glyphs such as rock art. The majority of my work is in glass and usually as glass beads which is how I earn my living. I started working on this series of work in March 2020. This first set of 5 are all birds with glass heads, commercial doll bodies, and outfits that I’ve sewn (am sewing) for them. I would love to focus my attention and time on this series of work. It is really difficult to make any sort of progress when each month I must concentrate making and hopefully selling enough beads to make expenses. Please understand, I love working in glass.

I am creating stories with these animal and bird sculptures by dressing them in clothing. I am giving them human personalities. I imagine my anthropomorphic sculptures will have conversations and fun adventures or they, in their outfits, will encourage everyone to create these adventures and conversations for them. One creature at a time I am designing their outfits and sewing them up. So far I’ve only finished two, the Blue Jay and the Peacock. (I might go back and dye the body of the blue jay and make Epoxy Sculpt feet for it. I painted the body of the Peacock, but l learned that dying the doll body is a more durable and permanent solution. I have fabric selected for all of the ones I have started. I sew and like most people who sew I have acquired a lot of fabric to work with. I’m a fabric magnet.)

I’ve also made two bear heads and have their bodies dyed already. I know what they will be wearing. I actually had their outfits (gingham & fur/knit) decided upon before I made their glass heads. I want to make a fox (plaid), a hedgehog (flowers) and a rabbit (polka dots) to go with the bears. The last five animal’s bodies I bought at the thrift store and on ebay. They are a bit nicer than the first ones as their limbs are jointed. Each time I go to the thrift store I check for more doll bodies that are the correct size for me to work with.

These are important to me because I need to work larger. They are small sculptures, but still larger than the sculptural work I do in glass of which most is small enough to wear (I’ve included some examples in the photo). I find it interesting how the beads (I make animal head beads first) informed and inspired these larger sculptures. Now the larger sculptures are informing what the glass beads look like. Anyone that creates and makes things knows that one must work. The work itself inspires more ideas.

Working on these is my happiness. If nothing else I’m happy to share a bit of the joy of my characters. I do not plan on keeping these sculptures when they are finished. I intend to sell them on my website www.glasshorseranch.com. I will also share images of them on my facebook accounts (personal and business), Pinterest, Instagram and Twitter. I will of course credit you if you contribute to my project. I have earned my living as an artist for a long time and believe that work needs to go to a new home from my studio to have a life of its own. Art grows with the people it lives with. This last year has been difficult for most and especially artists. My sales have gone way down because of the uncertainly the pandemic created. Customers wondered if they would have money to pay bills and were not spending on art. Part of me feels that working on this series is an indulgence, but I guess all art is an indulgence for the spirit and soul. It all equals happiness.

Fantasy

About the Creator

Patti Leota Genack

Lampwork artist since 1998. Lampwork is melting glass with an oxygen/propane torch to make sculptures and beads. Find my work at glasshorseranch.com and hopefull here soon.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    PLGWritten by Patti Leota Genack

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.