Fiction logo

Cracked windows part 9

Ok K.O. Fanfiction

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like

Darkness falls

Boxman’s personality

I’m under a dark sheet of black.

I feel cozy and dipped in lavender. I know I’m hallucinating, it isn’t my boyfriend. It isn’t PV.

Last thing I saw before I got knocked out was that gorgeous face smirking at me, knocking me out with a huge blow to ny head.

God, even when he’s been under siege and his personality so diverged and cracked, his alter ego overshadowing his whole body, he’s still so damn gorgeous. But, I can’t think of that now.

My body is stuck and collapsed.

I knew that when I had forged that weapon out of tungsten and plasma rays, there would be a way to disable that high energy field Shadowy displayed. It had worked.

Getting that nasty alter ego out was the tricky part. Knowing that Professor Venomous had always been trying so hard to understand himself, having so many different names and egos and different masks, I always felt when we were together, I could unlock who he truly was. I could see him so clearly as he saw me. He didn’t want to be anyone that he was before, but he wasn’t sure who he was now. I thought that subduing the locks that Shadowy Figure’s cruel prison had on my boyfriend’s mind would last—now I feel I might perish without knowing for sure.

My mind washes over in a rows of pain and gravitating pressure, and I sink into euphoria. I feel as though I’m suddenly back in his arms again.

“Boxy?” He kisses my face. Every inch of it.

I sigh into his tight grip around my waist.

He really wants me to know I’m his with that grip.

I sink my teeth on his ear and nibble, I kiss his neck. He gasps harshly and gives me a sensual, deviant look. I grin at his antics as he pins me down deep into our mattress.

There’s no better place to be than right here with you, darling.

There’s no deeper terror than not knowing reality. I notice the lights are staticky and even PV looks not entirely real. He’s laying down and suddenly is standing up, dressed to the nines, ready to go out to that yacht party.

I realize it’s not real and I sink into my tears, wasting away from loneliness. My mind was collecting old memories and trying to make up new ones. Pathetic.

I feel a sting as I lift my head and my eyes slowly open as I hear someone call my name.

“No, we can’t keep a villian here!” A woman says, her voice in hysterics, her nurse hat askew and her eyes had dark circles around them, “If the other victims from Shadowy and T.K.O’s attacks knew the partner of—”

“Shhh! He’s awake!” I recognized the other voice. It was Carol. Mr. Gar was by her side, holding her hand.

Professor Venomous had let me in on a secret that Mr. Gar had also been a former member of POINT and was disgraced from the organization due to the incident involving himself (his former alias Laserblast). It was also very obvious that he had a thing for Silverspark(Carol) back in the day, but Professor Venomous (Laserblast at the time) was already dating her. Now, Mr. Gar was officially dating Carol—

But, I didn’t really care about all that. I mainly wanted to know how my kids were doing and my daughter Fink, too.

Poor K.O. was wrapped up in this crazy plot because Shadowy knew how to manipulative and manufacture fear out of thin air. I knew that somehow this would end in tears, I just didn’t know how or why.

Carol comes to my side after the nurse leaves and gives me a soft smile. “You feelin’ ok?”

I shake my head. “No. I feel groggy and achy. My head… is killin’…”

“We saw what happened. Everything. You make that weapon all by your lonesome?” Mr. Gar asks. “It was very impressive for something on the fly.”

I manage to smile. “Ye…yes. I did make it. I didn’t have a lot of time. I only had read a few abstracts on plasma and tungsten and this was the best I could do on short notice.”

Carol puts one hand on her hip, and yawns, but gives me this concentrated look of pride. “You really gave that creep a run for the hills. He was struggling to keep up.”

“Thanks,” I nod in respect. “Do y’all know where my kids are? Or Fink?”

“I did see your bots near the plaza… or what remains of the plaza… they saw you and we told them not to worry. They were pretty upset,” Carol explains, running her fingers through her hair, her eyes looking at me kindly. “I think Fink is near the competition ring. She mentioned something about helping Enid and Rad.”

I sigh in relief. “Oh okay.”

“So… Fink says you were trying to save Professor Venomous,” Carol says in a questioning manner, “Do you believe that Shadowy Figure overtook him entirely?”

“I’m not sure. He told us it was a compromise. I’m not sure what that entailed…” I shiver in an involuntary way. “I had hoped when he saw Fink and myself he’d wake up a bit.”

Mr. Gar moves over near the bed and sighs deeply. “I think it was admirable to save him the way you did.”

“I appreciate that, thank you,” I say and feel my head pounding so I close my eyes a moment. “I don’t think it did much though.” My eyes open and I see the couple give each other a knowing look.

Carol sighs and looks over at the window in sadness. “Yeah. My son is still out there. He’s.. just as lost.” She starts tearing up and I place my hand on my arm.

“K.O. is a very good kid, Carol. Don’t worry. I know everything seems bleak right now, but it’ll be okay.”

As I speak, she smiles a bit and put her hand on my hand. “Tell him, Gene.”

Mr. Gar nods curtly, “Lord Boxman?”

I nod, “Yes?”

“You did save your partner. He was aware of everything and back to himself when he asked me to help you. You were unconscious and he picked you up, checked you for injury. He was worried. Crying,” he rubs the back of his neck with his hand, uncomfortable with the emotional aspect but then looks at me seriously, “And he pleaded with me to get you medical attention. I, of course, could not refuse that request.”

“I’d go so far as to say Laser—I mean Professor Venomous loves you, Boxman, very much so,” Carol adds, making Mr. Gar blush, as her eyes twinkle at him when she says it. “I could tell when I dropped my son off at Voxmore that you two were really happy together.”

I felt myself warming up to their kindness and candor and I smiled. “There’s no words to say that can really…” I cough a moment and Carol gets me water. I drink a bit and then sigh, “No words that can honestly express how much what you’ve done for all of us means to me. Beyond hero or villain status. It just… exemplifies beyond anything I can imagine,” I say to the glowing couple.

“We just did what we had to do. It is important to always help each other. Villian or hero, we all need help sometimes,” Mr. Gar says. Carol gently nudges against his hip and he clears his throat.

We are very glad to have helped you, Lord Boxman,” Carol says with emphasis and the taller one nods. “Gene isn’t too good with showing emotion!” She brightens and I laugh softly.

“I know how that is with my PV. Please, Carol, call me Boxman,” I say and she nods with a grin.

“Sure thing!” She gives me a thumbs up.

“Now I know where K.O. got that annoying amount of positive energy from…” I grumble and she laughs heartily.

Mr. Gar frowns, “It’s called confidence, Boxman.”

“Well, I feel better now. Maybe I’m feeling confident enough to blow up this hospital! After all, they didn’t want me here!” I laugh in a over the top villian way and Mr. Gar starts acting in a defensive mode, getting his fists up in the air. Carol rolls her eye and sighs, leaning in and tousling my hair. It makes me blink in surprise by the level of comfort she has with me in such little time.

“You old rascal. Get some rest. You’ll need it for your kids. And your man!” She winks and I feel my face heat up.

They say goodbye and I hear them arguing as they walk out.

“He said he’ll blow it up… Carol!”

“He was joking!”

“Well, not funny!!”

I laugh at their silly couple dynamics and feel my insides go all gooey and warm inside. It’s nice but I need to get out of here.

I’m not some disabled old man. I’m Lord Boxman! I’m a engineer, a villian, and as it turns out.. a decent dad and person.

And….I gotta go check on everyone.

I knew that sun was setting soon and I had to get there before night hit.

I was hoping that PV was still there and Shadowy was finally gone, though I had a bad feeling he wasn’t quite gone yet.

The darkness was still hanging over us all, and I knew with all of us combined, there could a way to have that dangerous darkness finally fall.

Fan Fiction
Like

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.