Fiction logo

Could’ve Been Me

A warning in a dream

By Real PoeticPublished 8 days ago 5 min read
Wonder AI Image

I love the feeling you get when you first wake up and for a split second, you're not conscious enough to realize what happened was all a dream, and once you come to terms it was just your imagination, you either feel like a detective throughout the day trying to put together clues to uncover the mysterious meaning or so disappointed the dream wasn't real that you struggle to get out of bed longer than usual. Who doesn't enjoy a good excuse to sleep in a few extra minutes? I sure do.

Though for the past few nights, I've been experiencing the same dream over and over again. This time, I'm not a fan of the mystery it's causing. Quite frankly, it's really driving me crazy. There's nothing I can't stand more right now than not knowing. I need to know. What is my dream trying to tell me, and why do I keep waking up when I do?

It's common for my dreams to take place in similar settings, but the events changed nightly. Not anymore. This one is recurring and precise, and its been on repeat since the first night. I can't think of one difference. In each dream, I could feel the white linen curtains brush against my forearm as I cranked open the old window outward to let in the scorching flames charging at me.

It was a dream, yet it was real, even though I was well aware that I was dreaming. I watched as my skin charred. I could feel every piece of ash that was stuck in my eyes and taste the smoke filling up inside of my lungs from the now crispy curtains.

It was like existing in another dimension, but that's not it... There was an energy that wasn't right; the vibe was off. I wish I had the words to describe it better, but it was just odd, eerie even.

I look over at my alarm clock and see that I still have time to catch up with my Uncle Paul before he leaves for a business trip. He taught me a lot, and if it wasn't for him, I wouldn't have survived middle school and my freshman year in high school. If he doesn't know what my dream means, then I'm not sure I'll ever figure this one out.

I jump out of bed and fly downstairs in a hurry. I'm just in time to stop him from exiting through the side door connected to the garage, and I ask him, "Hey Unc, I had a weird dream last night, and I needa know what it means. You gotta minute?"

"Ben, sometimes dreams don't have a meaning, but write it down in your journal, so you don't forget, and we'll talk about it when I get back. Tell your Mom I'll be back in time to help out with the barbecue next weekend."

He shut the door behind him, and now I'm left to pick apart the dream by myself. I go back upstairs to my room to grab a pen and paper from my backpack to record what happened, because I lost the dream journal that Uncle Paul gave me when I went to Jeremy's pool party a few weeks ago. I didn't tell him that I lost it, because he told me to stop hanging out with Jeremy and his friends.

It's no secret that underage drinking happens at their parties, but it's hard to stay away from them. Their parties are the most epic and exciting events of every teenager's summer vacation in this town. Every girl likes them and every guy wants to be them. Who doesn't want to have some fun every now and then? I'll never get my first girlfriend if I spend all day playing piano and video games with my uncle.

I don't know what the big deal is. It's not like I'm going to drink just because some of my classmates are doing it. I'm my own man, and I can choose for myself. But, I have thought about it once or twice. They're actually throwing another party tonight, and I plan to sneak out while Mom is asleep. I really want to see Avery. I have a feeling she's gonna be there.

I shake my head side to side to refocus my attention on the dream. I write down everything from beginning to end from memory. The end is what really confuses me the most. I go from burning in a house to trying to escape a faceless someone chasing after me in a swimming pool. However, I was unable to swim, and I'm a damn good swimmer. I thought I was kicking for my life, but I wasn't getting anywhere. I was terrifed. Once I could feel the person's breath on the back of my neck, my breathing slowed down to an alarming rate, and then I wake up at the exact same moment every single time.

After about an hour of analyzing and coming up with nothing, I decide not to overthink it anymore, and I close my journal and forget about the dream. I go into my closet to fetch my outfit for the party. I'm going to wear my lucky black tee and my favorite pair of dark wash jeans.

The day passes by, and it's time to sneak out of the house to go to the party. I climb out of my window and tear my lucky shirt on the way down. I'm pissed, and I'm worried Avery will think I look dirty, so I climb back into my bedroom window quietly and throw on a blue shirt instead. I'm already a couple of hours late anyway.

I finally make my way to Jeremy's house over on the next block. When I arrive, there's smoke everywhere, and the house is up in flames. The paramedics are pushing me backwards. My heart sinks as the firefighter's captain says there's nothing his crew can do to save those that are still trapped inside. Avery's mother starts screaming and crying in reply, and I know instantly that I'll never see her again.

It could've been me. It should've been me...

Author's note: I missed the deadline to submit this story to the 3:00AM Challenge by one minute!!! Oh well. Things happen. I'm still working on managing my time better lol! Hope you enjoyed it!

Until I write again,

-R.P ❤️

Short Story

About the Creator

Real Poetic

Welcome to my imagination. ✨

Thanks for reading!

[email protected]

Instagram: therealpoetic

-R.P. ❤️

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • kp8 days ago

    horrifying! bummer about the deadline too, this is a great entry. wonderful work!

  • Thanks for writing this!

  • Ben dodged a bullet there by being late. Poor Avery though and all the others. I'm so sorry you missed the deadline 🥺

  • The vivid description of the experience of waking up from a dream and the curiosity it sparks is relatable and beautifully expressed. The recurring dream you describe adds an intriguing layer of suspense. your writing engages us and leaves us eager to discover the answers to the dream's enigma alongside you. We are very happy to read this work and deeply moved, liked it, and hope to read more of your works, thank you very much for sharing this wonderful journey of the soul, subscribed.

  • shanmuga priya8 days ago

    I really enjoyed your writing.

Real PoeticWritten by Real Poetic

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.