Fiction logo

CONVOKE

The calling

By S. SpencerPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by Lucas Pezeta on Pexel.com

My name is Nicole Lunar. I am twenty-four years old. I live in Bellefontaine, Ohio, in the woods. My great aunt left me a cabin house after she passed away. The house, which is composed of cement and wood, is isolated from the rest of the town. My great aunt didn't have any children, so after graduating with a graphic design degree from the University of Illinois at Chicago, I relocated here in search of a new beginning with a slower pace and to be inspired by new creative ideas. Rather than living in a metropolis, which has more pollution and traffic, I’ve been living here for six months now.

So far, my morning routine has consisted of walking in the woods. The trees appear to be staring at me as the leaves fall to the ground. I frequently have the feeling that someone is watching me. Birds sing periodically, and I occasionally hear a toot-toot sound. However, when I glance up at the sky, I see nothing flying around, and sometimes I notice squirrels scrambling up the trees.

Surprisingly, while I'm inside the cabin at night, it's difficult for me to breathe. My chest tightens as if a ton of bricks were pushing down on me. In all the rooms, there's a craved sketch symbol on the walls of a barn owl in a possessive manner. The cabin gets quite cold at night, so I'll light the fireplace and pull out my aunt's cape to use as a blanket. I'd then take a seat in the rocking chair. And watch the fire until I fall asleep. My chest begins to feel lighter with the passage of time.

My mother begged me not to come, but I couldn't resist. In my dreams, I would see a barn owl and fragments of the cabin. It's almost as though I've been summoned. This land holds great significance for me because it is a part of my family's heritage. When I visit the town, the locals frown strangely when they learn I'm a Lunar, as if my last name curses them.

My mother never wanted to discuss some of her family's history, but because my great aunt left me the land, she provided me with some knowledge. My ancestors arrived in the United States in 1861, she said. And not long after they arrived, the town became both gorgeous and frightening. The town's name, Bellefontaine, comes from a French phrase that means "beautiful spring." Even though it wasn't much of a cabin, it played an important role in my family lineage.

So, one day, while I was doing my usual walk, I noticed two people on bicycles riding on the trail, which was odd because this part of the woods is private property, as indicated by signs. There aren't many people around. I couldn't think of anything to say or do. I'm not a wimp since I trained in Tae-kwon-do. I'm guessing it was a couple. He was in his sixties, sported a beard, and was in excellent physical shape. He was clearly a fitness fanatic. The woman appeared to be petite but in her mid-fifties and looked like she could have been a runaway model. She had a strange look about her with beauty. They came to a halt and gave me a piercing stare.

"You have a striking resemblance to her. Oh my goodness!" According to the male as he gets off the bike.

“Excuse me.”

The woman got off her bike and walked up to me. I began to go into defensive mode.

“Wait! Wait! You are a Lunar right?”

I gave a slight nod of approval. With so many unanswered questions, I was confused, and they were in disbelief, as was I.

“This is private property.”

Then, all of a sudden, it began to rain heavily, with thunderous lighting, and the sky darkened. The duo exchanged frightened looks before hopping on their bikes and riding in opposite directions. This only added to my confusion. As I began walking back to the cabin, the sky returned to its previous state of blue. It was strange; I felt connected in a weird way with relief.

Once inside the cabin, drenched from the rain, I contacted my mother. She led me to a hidden area filled with historical artifacts, including a leather-bound book bearing a prominent barn owl symbol. As I turned each page, there was a written language that I didn't understand.

But as I got to the last page, there was a pendant necklace attached to it, so I put it on my neck. I felt free. And my great aunt appeared, not in human form but more like a ghostly reflection, and she pointed to the front door. When I got outside, I noticed a barn owl in the sky and decided to pursue it deeper into the woods.

Photo on Pexel.com

Then I came to a complete stop. I couldn’t believe what I was seeing. It was my great aunt and the barn owl that was in my dreams.

Photo by Alexandre Silva Lucas on Pexel.com

“You are a witch the gift is passed down to you. “

So now, whenever I take my daily walk in the woods, I proudly wear the proper attire.

Photo on Pexel.com

I am a descendant of witches. I am a witch.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

S. Spencer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.