Fiction logo

Contraudacious

Contraudacious: The overwhelming capacity to hear contradictory sounds.

By KBPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - November 2023
12
Contraudacious
Photo by Marek Piwnicki on Unsplash

The dull hum of the LED lights above me fill the silent void in the room. Though, the silent void in the room was never silent. My thoughts filled them. They are never-ending.

I never understood how people went for a run to “Clear their head.” I thought it was hyperbole; surely, your head couldn’t be clear. The internal monologue of their voices don't just shut down…do they?

The hum becomes louder and louder as I try to put my focus into writing. Writing in my journal is supposed to help. It’s supposed to take this constant stream of consciousness and put it onto the page. So it can live elsewhere. But my thoughts are at war with this incessant high pitch scream.

I place my headphones in. I press play on the score of Interstellar; A better form of consistent sound than whatever is going on above me.n

Still in my soul, I hear it. Maybe I don’t hear it. But I do. I know it’s there.

I feel sweat drip down the side of my body as I pick up my pencil once again. My shirt is too loose to absorb it. I don’t like tight-fitting clothing.

My pencil screeches along the paper; graphite pulling at the loose pulp.

I let the pencil slip out of my moist hand, toss my headphones aside, and run to the light switch.

This newfound darkness is ever consuming.

And I feel at peace.

Until I hear the car door slam outside.

PsychologicalMicrofiction
12

About the Creator

KB

A snippet of life. Some real, some not. Thanks for reading!

https://vocal.media/vocal-plus?via=kb

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming6 months ago

    You describe getting out of your own head as something really claustrophobic and capture that really well. It's ironic that darkness brings peace but the inability to write - nice touch. I wonder about the car door - is it because the peace will be threatened? Is it someone scary arriving?

  • Lana V Lynx6 months ago

    Wow, this was quite vivid. I've been blessed with the capacity to isolate useful sounds and concentrate on them while ignoring others. Also, have you read about the experiment where people were confound in completely sound-proof rooms with no sound of any kind? Most of them wanted out in a matter of hours. Apparently, complete silence is not good for humans either.

  • Test6 months ago

    So , so relateable - I have some odd thing with noise, especially with more than one at the same time-makes me anxious . And once I'm aware that it exists...You captured that feeling perfectly 🤍 Great word for it and congrats on top sotry!

  • tarun bhatt6 months ago

    I can relate to your thoughts on going for a run.

  • Wow, this is intense, well written! I actually read it while taking a break from my own micro fiction- I want to share it with you when I’m done because I think our words and their stories go nicely together!

  • Lol that ending! Your story was extremely relatable! Loved your word!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.