Fiction logo

Coincidental Items

A mysterious package that makes all the difference

By simplicityPublished about a year ago 9 min read
Like

I was sitting at home when I heard such a clatter, upon the roof. It sounded as if something had crashed into it. Then, a dragging sound. Next, the door bell rang. I went to the door to investigate. It was 4 am and I wasn't expecting a package or a guest until later. As I opened the door, I see a colorful LED illuminated drone flying away. Lying at my feet on the door step, a package. It is wrapped in silver paper with a gold bow. I peer over the door threshold skeptical it's a distraction set to ensnare me. Once its presumed safe, I pull the package inside. I neatly unwrap the paper, remove the tape, and open the lid to reveal its contents. Inside is a hodgepodge of items: a rubber band, a trash bag, a dryer sheet, a small jar of cumin, a stamp, and a blue ink pen.

"What a bunch of junk", I exclaim.

There is no note indicating who the package is from or where it originated from. I concluded it must be a neighborhood kid just having some fun with a new drone while incorporating some holiday cheer. However, the individual had taken extreme care in wrapping the package. That fact I couldn't deny.

"Oh well, its the thought that counts", I think.

I throw the package to the side. Leaving it on my counter next to all the other disregarded items. The pile mostly consisting of old junk mail, city notices and recipes yet tried.

I go to the kitchen and open my fridge. Its packed full of platters and dishes to be served later, that night, once my family has arrived. A plentitude of savory and sweet treats to be consumed and shared. Its almost too much goodies to trust yourself around. One bite, then another, and another, next thing you know half the platter would be gone. I remember my first year hosting family at my place. I had made each platter. Sneaking bites here and there while composing them. Next thing I knew I was short ingredients and had to go to the store for more. The memory makes me laugh. This year I had bought professionally composed platters. These were culinary works of art. I close the door to the fridge and back away, turning my attention the other way. My attention lands on the trash. It is overflowing. All the packaging from unwrapping the trays I had ordered and other groceries and wine laid towering in the trash can. Everytime I noticed it I decided to put off for a later time. Now, I could not justify neglecting it any longer, but of course I was out of trash bags. Thats when I remember the package of miscellaneous items had one. I decide to use the one from the mysterious package. I'm sure the sender wouldn't miss it or try to retrieve it. I was grateful the package provided me an item I needed. The last two years I had forgotten to take the trash out before family arrived.

I walk to my living room. I finished the majority of decorating over the prior week, but I had a couple adjustments to make. I see one ornament, one from my childhood, lying on the ground. Its almost hidden under the branches of the tree, except for a glint that catches light breaking through the branches. My brother and I made this ornament together. We made an angel out of a Barqs root beer can. Unfortunately, it always managed to jiggle off its hook. Maybe I could use the rubber band to better adhere it to its hook. Besides whatelse of importance do I need a single rubber band for. What better way to make use of it. The owner of the package surely wouldnt miss it. I grab it from the package, retrieve the angel and macgyver it. I loop it from the tree hook to the hook on the back of the angel. When I'm done, it is firmly attached and stable. I'm reassured it will no longer jiggle off. Again pleasantly surprised by how useful the package of junk has become. I take a look at the remaining items in the box. As I stare at the stamp a feeling of alarm comes over me.

"Not again", I exclaim.

I forgot to mail my Christmas card to my brother. I still don't know if he will be attending my Christmas party. He never responded to any emails or phone calls. I heard through the grape vine of my family that he was starting a new job, so he must be tired and busy. Still it was odd to hear nothing. Anywho, I grab the pen and finish his Christmas card. Of course, wouldn't you know, I was still out of stamps. Now I remember why the letter was unmailed and sitting on my counter still. I judged the box too harshly on first discovering it's contents. It was becoming a godsend to my day and preparation for the holiday. I assume a late card is better than no card. I grab the stamp from the package and stick it in the corner.

Once I return from mailing the letter, which is only a 10 minute walk to the post office near my house, I sit at the counter breakfast bar near my kitchen. I am famished from all the work I've come to do this morning. There are two items left in the box. A small jar of cumin and a dryer sheet. I am kinda known for my tuna salad so I decide to make some. I will make a large batch. Enough for lunch for myself and enough to offer as an hors d'oeuvres with crackers later. What makes my tuna salad so delicious is the small amount of cumin I add to it amongst other items. My brother always loved it. Feeling nostalgic, I begin to gather all the ingredients to make my tuna salad. I grab 4 cans of tuna, mayo, mustard, onion, celery, salt, pepper, and cumin. Sometimes I use relish, instead of celery. I dice the onion and celery in the smallest dice still considered a dice. The key is to not add to many fillers. The tuna should still be the star. I grab the cumin jar and open it. I give it a smell. It is fragrant and smells of quality cumin. Someone purposefully found a quality specialty spice store because I didnt recognize the brand from any of the usual grocery stores. I measure out just under a half teaspoon. It may not sound like enough, but a little cumin can go a long way. Again, not trying to over power the salad just give it a hint of cumin flavor. I mix a cup of mayo with about a teaspoon of mustard. I add a little salt and pepper, the cumin, and stir it all together. Once the dressing is mixed I add the tuna and veggies and stir it all together. I transfer it to Tupperware and put it in the fridge reserving a small amount to make a sandwich. I sit down at the kitchen bar again once my sandwich is made with cheese, lettuce and tomato. I admire my work before taking a large hungry bite. It is a perfect mix. Delicious. It will work for later. Plus it will only get better as it sits and all the flavors marry together. I throw out the old cumin in my cupboard and replace it with the new jar. Thankful to the mysterious sender of the package.

It seemed wrong to allow the last item to go unused and sit idly alone in the empty box. I take the dryer sheet delighting in its sent. I am washing the sheets for the guest bedroom. Although I have my own dryer sheets I pop the gifted one into the dryer.

After setting the fresh linens I decide to take a nap. Before I do, However, I breakdown the mysterious package and place it in my recycle. I wish there was a note indicating who had sent it. I would send a note of my gratitude explaining how every item ended up being of importance. Maybe they would be as surprised as I ended up being. I guess one 'mans' junk really is another 'mans' treasure. After placing the box in the recycle I'm inspired to fully clean up the counter before heading upstairs for a nap. I want to be fresh for the party. I set my phone alarm for 4pm. Then crawl into bed, getting warm and cozy.

I am awoken by a knock. I grab my phone and check the time. It 3:45pm. I dont expect anyone for at least 2 more hours. I go to the door and open it trying not to sound groggy. Standing at my front door is my brother. Immediately I relax. I also gain a surge of energy needed to shake me from my nap.

"Hi, I wasnt sure you would be coming today? You never replied.", I try to explain my confusion at seeing him.

"I didn't. Are you sure, I thought I did yesterday.", he replies.

"I'm sure", I say, knowing I'm not that forgetful.

"Well we both have been busy I guess", I say trying to sooth any embarrassment he may feel.

"Well we will agree to disagree, I told you last night", he says assuredly.

"Anyways I'm early, just wanted to stop by and see if you wanted some help setting up, if not I'm going to go to the hotel and get ready for the party tonight", he states.

"Go get ready, set up will be a breeze and most of it is already ready. It just needs to be placed and arranged", I persuade.

"Okay, good. Just wanted to check. See you in a couple hours", he says on leaving.

"see you soon! Glad you are here!", I say sincerely.

"Oh one last thing. Tell me you used the rubber band for our ornament that always falls off the tree?! And I cant wait for your tuna salad. See ya", He says smiling as he walks away from my front door.

"Of Course!!!", I exclaime as I have my AH-HA moment from my brothers intimation.

I reopen the front door I was shutting and yell after him "I forgot you did tell me last night you'd be here".

He puts a hand behind his head and waves without turning around.

I lean my back against the door, a full grin across my face. I'm ready for tonights party thanks to the help of a little package full of not-so-junk items. Grateful for my family.

Reference

The Visit, Twas the Night Before Christmas, The Sentinel, Troy NY, DEC.23, 1823

Twas the Night Before Christmas: The Story A Trivia Behind the Beloved Classic Holiday Tale; Sager, Jessica; Nov.1, 2022; Parade, Parade.com

familyHumorMysteryShort Story
Like

About the Creator

simplicity

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

simplicity is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.