Fiction logo

Coconuts and Me

On a tropical island far away from my former self

By Novel AllenPublished about a year ago 3 min read
8
Coconuts and Me
Photo by Datingscout on Unsplash

If you are anything like me, feeling the world's vibrations

At a much deeper level, feeling that things are

Not really what they seem to be, that something is amiss

Almost a sense of not really belonging... anywhere

I identify truly with this state of feeling alien sometimes, within

A life seemingly perfect in every way, except to me

As if there are two different persons, existing completely

In a different sphere, where the two have yet to meet<<<

Something meaningful needed to be done

So I went on a quest, a long trek to find and solidify

The two halves that needed to become as one

I eventually found her, and her me, that is how I

Have come to narrate this pathway to my redemption<<<

I gave my newfound me my old telephone number

I now use a brand new one, you see

Still she knows the old one, so

I keep it handy, just in case she needs me

Just in case she got lost again

And could not find her way back to me,

Her old self, the one with all the memories

Shoved deep, deep down where they are

Compressed but not forgotten!<<<

We started my story at the end

So let us begin again

From the beginning<<<

The whole entire me, the entire sum of my parts

Were missing, and existed someplace else

I needed to find the other pieces of my puzzle

So to become whole, unabridged and absolute

I have searched long and really hard

Through heartache, pain and loneliness

Lonely, though surrounded by many...many

Kind and well wishing souls, offering to help<<<

They did not understand, that only I

Could really find the scattered parts of me

Where were they? I wondered, it's been years

They should be here by now!

I have broken hearts, had my heart broken

Started again, broke the connections, continued

Along the path to finding a wholesome me<<<

The answer was a vacation in the sun

My old self agreed with my 'self' which was to be

We took ourselves off to the sunny Caribbean

By Hugh Whyte on Unsplash

Deck chairs, beached umbrellas and suntan bodies

Everywhere, soaking in the gifts of nature<<<

I sat under the smiling villainous and wicked sun

Lovely to bask in but ready to burn and scorch

I swam and walked, drank coconut water

And ate the gelatinous delicious meat inside the husk<<<

I sat back down, hidden in the shade from the yellow sun's

Inviting and beguiling offer of soulful nourishment, and

Promptly fell asleep. I quietly dreamed amidst the raucous

Symphony of fun loving, myriad voices of happiness and frivolity

Within this dream I saw myself, disconnected from myself

Reaching, reaching out to embrace and comfort me

The closer she got, the faster I ran, afraid to connect with me<<<

STOP! Shouted in such deep agony. I stood still, unable to move

Myself caught up with me. Embraced me, would not let go

We stood locked in perfect harmony and peace, absolute and divine

Our souls collided, my old self and my new consciousness

The two became as one. I was reborn beneath the healing sun

We shimmered into one complete and wholesome being

Without awaking, I felt free. Unencumbered and perfect!<<<

I finally opened my eyes. Everything seemed new!

I rose up from my slumber, tossed everything to the wind

And started to run..............

I ran until I collapsed on the sands...Laughing!

The person I had been running away from

My whole life, was really me, refusing to accept

Myself for who I really am!

I was, AM, a new person! REBORN!

Hello WORLD. Here I come!>>>

/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

SatireAdventure
8

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Very good! I really related to this one

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    This is so uplifting and I truly love the way you told this! Amazing, wonderful job! 😍

  • Wowww! This was so powerful and inspirational! You did a fantastic job ok this one!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    What an uplifting and refreshing piece. Love it.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    What a revelation! Your passion is unrivalled! Simply inspiring!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.