Fiction logo

Coco boy and the chocolate cake

Coco not coco

By Alessia MavakalaPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

It was a hot and sweaty summer morning and the last thing I wanted to do was get ready for this wedding I was randomly invited to. I am not here to ruin anyone’s special day but imagine getting married with the love of your life, your sweetheart and honey bee and you purposely decide to invite me, Coco boy. Not because I am a special person in your life but because you wanted to thank me for making a cake, that I was going to get paid for at the end of the month, anyway. I imagine the couple would did such a thing because they felt bad for me, as I was an underpaid intern at a bakery I hate.

I would have loved to decline such a useless and last minute invite but I had the eyes of my boss all over me and the tiredness of that sleepless night completely killed my negotiation skills. I ended up agreeing to get there while smiling at my boss, who was delighted to see I was developing some sort of relationship with my first client.

This was my first official commission since I started working at the bakery and I had to spend the whole night at the bakery to make sure the cake was ready the morning after, when the soon-to-be married couple was going to collect it. While thinking about Mary and Sheldon happily tasting my chocolate cake and promising eternal love to each other, I started to think about Georgia, the one and only girl I ever fell in love with. Sadly for me, I wasn’t as lucky as my client; I was in love with Georgia but the chocolate eyed girl was not in love with me.

I had a few minutes left before closing the shop. That’s when I saw her, looking marvellous as always, wearing a white top and a purple low rise mini skirt. The fabulous lady looked me right into the eyes and sliced my heart in half with her enchanting deadly glance. She walked into the shop and smiled at me. Despite my immeasurable happiness, I had to tell her that I was about to close the shop and without a care in the world of what I had just told her, she looked at the newly finished cake in front of me and asked for a slice of it.

Was this my lucky day or was I just given the opportunity to conquer her heart by allowing her to taste the best cake I have ever created? I took the chef knife from the counter and cut a triangular shaped slice of chocolate cake. The scrumptious cake was softened on the inside by mouth-watering and sticky layers of melted white chocolate, it was crispy outside thanks to the sugared coconut powder that was covering the external layer of the cake. The warmth of the cake transferred into the plate, which was lukewarm hot when I gave it to her and the melted white chocolate was dripping through her fingers while she ate the last piece on the plate. We sat on the floor of the bakery and ate the cake together while talking about our unfulfilling working experiences.

I looked at the empty plates in our hands and at the paralyzing site, I realised what I did. The cake was gone and Mary and Sheldon were not going to eat it on their wedding night. We could not think of a valuable solution to get out of the rabbit hole we digged, so we decided to taste my magic coco, to spark our imaginations. My magic coco was always in my bag, waiting to be used during emergencies.

While we looked at our empty plates trying to find a solution not to get in trouble, we decided we were going to make a new cake with my special magic coco, to replace the only ingredient missing. We thought that there was no way they were going to realise the difference between the sugared coconut powder and my magic coco, especially if the magic was going to work on them, like it was working on us. We spent the whole night awake making the cake, and as soon as we finished we cleaned and glazed the kitchen from top to bottom. Chocolate eyed girl had to leave before the sun rose to avoid issues with my boss, but we promised each other to meet again.

I had the most wonderful and fun sleepless night, with the girl I always liked, but when I opened the shop to allow the customers in, the happiness and content vanished. Was I going to sell this young couple a cake, containing my special ingredient? The very same ingredient that gave me the nickname Coco boy? That is exactly what was happening. I tried to hide my concern and like a coward I smiled and gave them the cake. The young woman looked at me, thanked me for my work and asked me why I looked tired. I told her that I have been working extra hours as an intern to gain extra money, due to the pay rate not being high enough. My boss walked into the shop and greeted the couple, who took advantage of that moment to invite me to their wedding. The shame and guilt of my faulty actions invaded my spirit and while I agreed to join the wedding night, I couldn’t stop hating myself and being Coco boy.

Young Adult
Like

About the Creator

Alessia Mavakala

Hey, I'm a filmmaker and I also love acting. Writing is my passion. I love interior design, good food and I believe self care is a form of art.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.