Fiction logo

Clock Record

Doomsday Diary

By Candis RuizPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Clock Record
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

January 6, 2121

My name is Gloria. I had found this diary not too long ago; around when the world was starting to end. At least it seems this way. I am the last of my family members... and one of the survivors out of eight individuals I have met on my travels to help in finding more. Along with this diary, I had also found tissue papers, a bar of soap, and a checkered hair ribbon- all things that may have belonged to a deceased young woman. The house was abandoned most likely a week ago as we ransacked for leftovers.

It is strange. I used to go to school five days a week from seven to two. I did the same boring routine day in and day out. Today is Thursday and yet, I truly have taken the things I found most uneventful for granted. My mother was the one who saved me. She pushed me out of the way when our apartment building collapsed. Florida rarely ever has earthquakes that reach a magnitude of nine. The aftershock hit and the ground beneath our feet opened. I couldn't hold onto her. She didn't say anything when she fell. Just placed the damn locket she usually had around her neck in my hand. She didn't scream on her way down either, hitting the bottom as if everything were painless. I thought about jumping in right after I saw how happy she looked. The locket still sits at the bottom of my backpack.

January 7, 2121

Friday. All Fridays are usually rowdy. People got paid and would go out for dinner or drinks. Families would order takeout or have "fun night". Now, nothing moves. The world seems to have stood still. I miss my mother.

January 8, 2121

Saturday. We woke up and ate at someone's house today. Of course, that someone was not home. I suspect it once belonged to an elderly woman named "Carmen". We found a few belongings and decided to stay for about a day. A book called Clockwork Angel was a fabulous read that I found in the guest room. We noticed a small dog in the backyard, starved and dirty. Carmen never came home after letting it out. I took it to the bathroom and cleaned it up. We gave it some food and water. Spaghetti is for dinner tonight but there are no meatballs. Xavier and Izadora found three bikes for keeps. They want to take me riding tonight to scout past some nearby bridges. I found Carmen's iPod to listen to if I ever get bored.

January 9, 2121

Sunday. I cleaned Carmen's place up a little. I felt it a bit rude if I didn't. Could there be a possibility that she would ever return? Unlikely, but it was only the right thing to do. Everyone was staying here and taking essential (and not so essential) belongings. I scrolled through Carmen's laptop and read from Clockwork Angel. Melissa and Maria were making planning preparations for all of us to start heading out again.

January 10, 2121

We left for "greener pastures". Nothing is bright and beautiful in this world anymore. I'm tired. I sometimes feel as if I cannot think straight. I feel like crying, but I must press on. I found a few lollipops in the pantry and stuffed them in my bag. I'll give one to Jeff later, but right now I just need to get out of Carmen's house. I gave one to Emily. Melissa and Maria put us in traveling groups. I was paired with Maria and Javiery. As I was waiting for everyone to finish packing, I read for more pages of the book I found.

Like what you read? Please send a gift below to help contribute to Gloria's diary.

Sci Fi
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.