Fiction logo

Click....Click

"Beep"

By Pam ZeePublished 16 days ago 4 min read
2

Click, click. The sound echoed in the dimly lit room, sending shivers down my spine. Time was ticking away, and with it, my chance of escaping this nightmare. Beads of sweat formed on my forehead as I frantically searched for a way out.

I found myself in an abandoned warehouse, a place I never thought I'd end up. How did I get here? The memories were hazy, like fragments of a shattered mirror. But one thing was clear: I needed to get out before it was too late. My heart raced as I navigated through the maze of crates and debris. Every shadow seemed to conceal a threat, every sound a potential danger. But I couldn't afford to let fear paralyze me. I had to keep moving.

As I rounded a corner, I stumbled upon a group of shady figures huddled together, their faces obscured by the darkness. Panic surged through me as I realized I had stumbled upon something far more sinister than I had anticipated. These weren't just ordinary thugs; they were part of something much bigger, something dangerous. I ducked behind a stack of crates, my heart pounding in my chest. I strained to listen to their conversation, hoping to glean any information that could help me escape. But their voices were muffled, their words barely audible over the pounding of my own heart.

Suddenly, one of them spoke up, his voice cutting through the silence like a knife. "We need to move quickly. The shipment will be here any minute." My blood ran cold as I realized what they were talking about. This wasn't just a random meeting; it was a well-orchestrated operation, and I had stumbled right into the middle of it. I knew I had to find a way out, and fast. But every exit seemed to be blocked or guarded by one of the thugs. I was trapped, like a mouse in a maze with no way out.

Desperation gnawed at me as I racked my brain for a solution. And then, like a bolt of lightning, it hit me. There was a ventilation shaft overhead, just big enough for me to squeeze through. It was risky, but it was my only chance. I waited until the thugs were preoccupied with their planning before making my move. With a surge of adrenaline, I leaped onto a nearby crate and reached for the shaft. My fingers grazed the metal grate, and I prayed it would hold my weight. With a grunt of effort, I hoisted myself up and squeezed through the narrow opening. The sound of my own labored breathing filled my ears as I crawled through the cramped space, inching my way towards freedom.

But just as I thought I was in the clear, disaster struck. The metal grate beneath me gave way with a deafening clang, sending me crashing to the ground below. Pain shot through my body as I landed hard on the concrete floor, my breath knocked out of me. I scrambled to my feet, ignoring the protests of my aching muscles. I had to keep moving, no matter the cost. With renewed determination, I sprinted towards the nearest exit, my heart pounding in my chest. But as I reached for the door handle, I froze. The sound of footsteps echoed behind me, growing louder with each passing second. They had found me, and there was nowhere left to run.

With no other option, I turned to face my pursuers, steeling myself for the inevitable confrontation. And as the first thug lunged towards me, I knew that the next sixty seconds would determine my fate. He extended his hand as if he was about to throw in a punch or slap me. The reflex hit me so hard that i flinched by ducking and turning my head. Followed by click click sound, too scared to open my eyes. I raised my hand up, as a sign of surrender. My knees hit the ground and immediately the excruciating pain sent shock waves towards my entire body. I was awoken by the beeping sound of my alarm clock.....click click........BEEEEEP. With sweat covered all over my face, I jumped out of bed with the sad reality of a mere nightmare.

Young AdultthrillerPsychologicalHumorFan FictionfamilyAdventure
2

About the Creator

Pam Zee

I am Author/Writer living in TX. I strive to create narratives that resonate deeply with human experience. I hope my stories can bring people together, allowing us to find common ground, and understand the beauty in our diversity

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Christy Munson16 days ago

    love the intensity!

  • Andrea Corwin 16 days ago

    oooh, a horrid nightmare but so REAL! GREAT job!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.