Fiction logo

Civilization Is Not Your Friend

Fictional Victory in Civilization Over a Foe

By BPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

A bare sky is the sight I yearn for! I look beyond the faux hill and up to a small civilization. Oh, how far they believe themselves to have come. At first, I was here, we were here. I am told not to worry. They have the graciousness to inform us, as if we are small children, of their "big" plans. In a position like that of a child, I wait. While I fear there is nothing I can do to stop the massacre, I wait. Boom! Boom! Boom! Do the tallest ones fall the hardest? I see the desecration from my window. Mother nature is violated.

I am frozen while they are setting fires to the grounds. I call out for help, but I am told this land is theirs, not mine. They've been sure to draw the lines. Why do they look at me like I am the crazy one? I'm in hysterics as I am the only one who truly sees what they are doing. I have been one with my land. I was well aware that it was not actually mine to begin with. I came with the intention to mend, not to bend the grounds to my will. Don't they see that it can only give so much?

I possess an overwhelming amount of guilt that adds to my inner turmoil. It is a turmoil leading to a spiral of thoughts. Could I have bought the land? Unfortunately, not in my position. Could I, or any of us, have applied for it to be preserved? As many have been told before me, money runs the world. Is just reasoning not enough? I wonder if they feel eyes drawn to them. Their bright lights in their home burn through me over and over. I am watching them from the physical darkness surrounding me, contemplating the emotional darkness that their depressive actions have caused me.

They are older and supposedly wiser. They've come and seen the beauty that was once their land. Swearing to adhere to it, but they've taken more than they need. As each day draws to a close, they make no apology for their "progress". For how long they will be on the land, I cannot say. I am far younger than them. Every tree, bush, flower, they've destroyed, I've tried to plant another in its' place. It's on my land that the life I've replaced will flourish. I will become stronger in place of the weakness I've faced. They look to my land and think it's a disgrace. I've no proper buildings, far too minimal for their taste. Who needs their riches? This land was rich to begin with.

Closer they encroach, only asking for an inch more. I could call to fight, but we've seen how that has turned out before. The death of me and the death of you means less than you think. It is the plants and the land that need to survive and outlive us, please think! Your actions are detrimental to the land and my health. I want to grow with the land and be unkept and well. There is an over-pouring of wildflowers now on your land. I picked some and brought them to your doorstep as well. There's a note attached reading, "Take the seeds and plant these for yourselves!" Please take this offer and heed my advice. Your world is less beautiful and bleaker than mine now.

"I've watched your demise by your own hands. I used to envy you and yours for your richness as you bought this land. Sadly, it is now destroyed, but an abundance I have. My forest has grown to cover your ash. So, heed my advice, if it's the last thing you do. Your land is bare, and your health appears to be fading too. I used to think, "death to you," for your destruction but again you've brought that onto yourself. Please look to my land as you pass from this earth. You should not look to how you've left yours, as it will bring you sadness, but instead look to what I've accomplished instead."

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

B

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.