Fiction logo

Chosen

3

By D J SmithsonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

As the sun drew low over the distant horizon, the foothills of the Black Mountains painted an amazing picture, passed the church steeple and baron’s castle to the northwest of this neighborhood. Kavayen eyed the lazily drifting clouds painted in brilliant orange, red and shadowed in purple and dark grey. From behind, Elizabeth hugged him, laying her head against his broad shoulder. Placing his right hand upon her own, he caressed it lovingly as they stood in the kitchen.

“She’s asleep,” his wife whispered.

Nodding, his mind raced. “What was the name of that boy that Bianka met again?”

“She told me it was Arthur,” Elizabeth whispered, the pain of their loss still weighing heavily.

“Okay.” He knew what he had to do now. Raising her hand to his lips, he kissed it. “She can’t stay,” he relayed, pain in his own voice as well now.

“What?” She moved around to his left. “Why?”

Taking both of her hands in his own, “Elizabeth, did you see the wounds on…,” tears welled at the memory. Steeling himself after a moment, he sighed. “It wasn’t a dog. The priest knows as much.”

“I saw it,” she nodded, tears cascading down her cheek as well. “Did he say something before he left?”

“No, but I know what I have to do.” Drawing in close, he kissed her, then wrapped both arms around her tightly. “I made our daughter a promise and I’m going to keep it.”

“Kavayen,” she pushed him back, eyeing him. “What are you talking about?”

“Kailee has a father and he’s part of the Order of the Golden Scepter. He can protect her.”

“Protect her from what,” desperation in her voice now, as well as defensiveness born out of a need to keep that part of their daughter with them. “What aren’t you telling me?”

“I know you want to raise her, but we can’t. Once word gets out, they’re going to take her from us and I can’t allow that.” Taking her head in his hands, he kissed her and then moved away, heading upstairs.

“What do you think it was,” Elizabeth asked, now on his heels.

“Something dark,” he relayed, keeping the word from flowing from his lips. “Something that’s not going to determine my granddaughter’s future as long as I hold breath.”

“Kavayan,” she sobbed, hand on his back as he moved into the room and grabbed his backpack. “Don’t take her from me.”

Closing his eyes, he bowed his head. “You think I want this?” Spinning around, he eyed her and felt everything she was feeling. “I wished none of this happened, but would you feel better if they took her away? This way, she’ll have a life. A future.”

Wiping her cheeks, she shook her head.

Sighing audibly, he resumed packing. “I’ll only be gone a few days, their keep isn’t far.” Grabbing only what he needed, Kavayen then slipped on his leather coat and shouldered his pack. Weapon belt already around his waist, he smiled at her weakly and moved to Kailee’s crib. Looking down at the angelic being laying there, sleeping soundly, he remembered Bianka in this same crib, over nineteen years ago. Gently, he dipped his arms underneath her and raised her and the blanket up together, into his arms.

“I’m coming with you,” Elizabeth stated and moved to the chest at the foot of the bed.

“No, you can’t,” he stated. “When they come, you have to tell them that I dealt with the problem myself. They can’t know where I’m headed.”

The emotion on her face, in her eyes, was palpable. “You want me to lie to a priest,” she bit angrily.

“If you want her to live, yes,” he nodded, knowing what he was asking of her. “I’m sorry, my love. But, this is how it has to be.”

Sighing as he moved to her, she leaned in and kissed Kailee on the forehead. Closing her eyes, she prayed, “Great One, protect her. Mother, guide and show her the beauty you’ve created in the world.

Yaeby, teach her compassion. Archantael, show her her gifts and let her use them to bring joy and life to others,” she sniffed. “Grant her peace and a long life.”

Kavayen nodded, his sentiments exactly as they both eyed one another. “I love you.”

“And I you,” she replied, kissing him. “Now, get her to safety,” she backed, seemingly determined as well. Reluctance crept up in her eyes, she glanced at Kailee as Kavayen moved to leave. “I hope to see you again, my little angel.”

Adventure
Like

About the Creator

D J Smithson

I started writing in high school. Having an avenue for a perpetual daydreamer to explore worlds and adventure, and have them saved to enjoy later has always been an pleasurable hobby.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.