Fiction logo

Chicken Bake Date

Love can be found everywhere

By Lana V LynxPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
4
Chicken Bake Date
Photo by Eduardo Soares on Unsplash

At Costco, a woman is moving her cart along with that of a very handsome lean man. She is pretty good-looking too, reminds me a little of Cameron Diaz. They are about the same age, probably in their late 40s. The woman is side-eyeing the man but he doesn’t seem to note. He is on a mission to fill up his cart as soon as possible and get out of here.

The woman finally takes a deep breath and says, “Sir, has anyone ever told you you look like a famous actor?”

He looks a little surprised, then smiles at her and says, “No, not really. Which one?”

“Jeffrey Dean Morgan. Do you know him?”

“No, I’m afraid, but I don’t watch a lot of movies.”

“He is more in TV shows than in movies.”

“Oh, even worse! I only watch a few shows, Walking Dead’s my favorite!”

“Oh wow, then you know him. He plays Negan. He is so handsome!”

“Really?” The man blushed a little.

I browse through the books I don’t need, eavesdropping on them and wondering what they would think if they caught me. But I want the ending, so I linger and listen.

“Oh, I’m so sorry,” the woman said, putting her hand to her heart. “I don’t want you to think I’m hitting on you.”

“Don’t mind if you do. Recently divorced.”

“No way, me too!” she almost screams in excitement. She then tucks her hair lock behind her ear, clearly embarrassed.

He smiles and says, “Are you done shopping? I’m almost done, can I treat you for a chicken bake or a hotdog?”

“I would love a chicken bake!” She says, “meet you there like in 20?”

“I’ll be waiting,” he says and they and their carts part ways.

Who would have ever thought you can find a chicken bake date at Costco?

LoveMicrofiction
4

About the Creator

Lana V Lynx

Avid reader and occasional writer of satire and short fiction. For my own sanity and security, I write under a pen name. My books: Moscow Calling - 2017 and President & Psychiatrist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Raymond G. Taylor4 months ago

    Beautifully observed and written with empathy. Well done

  • Mariann Carroll7 months ago

    Could not resist a romance story 🙂

  • Now this is my kinda date. Something simple, nothing fancy. This was such a cute story!

  • Rob Angeli7 months ago

    Very original and cleverly drawn. Nice work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.