Fiction logo

Chapter 12 Worst Case Scenario

China`s top fantasy novels

By Alon LongPublished about a year ago 37 min read

We rode back to the Dragonscale camp. It was nearly dusk, the sun was setting, and there was peace everywhere. Most of the soldiers in the camp on the right were whispering to each other, and the news that the general had at last agreed to join forces with the Republicans must have reached every corner, and everyone was talking about it.

When we got off the horse, several soldiers of the right army rushed over and said, "General Chu, do you really agree to join forces with the Republican rebels?"

"Yeah," I said. When I got off the horse and had it led back to the stable, the soldiers continued to say something, and a messenger said, "General Chu, General Luan and General Chai, please go and discuss the matter."

After I came to the right army, Luan Peng and Chai Shengxiang never let me discuss the matter. Perhaps the Dragon Scale Army used to belong to Shen Xiping's elite, and they both regarded it as the private property of the right army. They were very dissatisfied with me as the leader of the Dragon Scale Army.

"I'll go right away," I said. Although I was a little dismissive of these things, I was now in the right army, with Luan Peng as the acting general and Chai Shengxiang as the Wanfu commander, both of whom were my superiors. I looked at the soldiers of the Dragon Scale Army who were whispering behind me and turned to Jin Qianshi. "General Jin," I said, "You must be careful about the Dragon Scale Army. Don't let your brothers make a noise."

Kim nodded. This kind of thing let Wu Wanling do more handy, but Wu Wanling, after all, just came one day, he took the hundred team not necessarily have much to take him.

When I came out of the Dragon Scale camp, the soldiers were scattered here and there. I don't know if Chai Sheng-sang is going to mess up if the Snake Man attacks. The discipline of the Left army was indeed poor in the whole army.

After Shen Xiping died in battle, his tent was empty, and some of Shen Xiping's armor and weapons were kept to encourage the left army. Luan Peng's tent was beside Shen Xiping's tent. When I passed Shen Xiping's tent, I bowed respectfully. Don't say Shen Xiping saved my life, even if he didn't save me, he is also a worthy general.

After I saluted, I heard someone in my ear say, "Is it General Chu?"

I turned to look and there was a man standing behind me. This man is not tall, black and thin, but his eyes are very bright, young, only in his early thirties, but the body is a little strange army uniform. I said, "You are."

He gave me a salute: "Humble left military Zheng Xue Wen also."

Is he Xue Gongzheng? I quickly returned a salute, said: "Lord Xue, the last dragon scale army commander Chu Xiuhong, please forgive the last general impolite."

The left guard, in terms of rank, was the seventh of the thirteen ranks; I had been a centurion in the Vanguard battalion, but I was now two ranks up, and ninth, two ranks below him. Although the position in the Dragon Scale Army was somewhat special, I was already a junior officer, and he had no right to sit in on the Lord's army, but he was nominally two ranks above me.

Xue Wen also said, "You are going to have a meeting. Lord Luan and Lord Chai are waiting for you. My camp is near." He pointed to a tent on one side and said, "General Chu, take your leave."

In twos and threes several officers came by the door, some of whom I knew. They greeted me, but still walked slowly. The discipline of the rightwing army was indeed a problem, and it was hard to know why, in the midst of a war, those who had normally ignored discipline would suddenly follow orders.

Approaching Luan Peng's tent, I saw many soldiers guarding the door, and the battle looked like a great enemy. I went to the door, and a soldier said, "Who is this?"

I picked up the waist card, way: "dragon scale army Chu Xiu red."

The soldier said, "It is General Chu. Please come in."

Luan Pengkai military aircraft meeting competition Marquis also grand? I was about to go into Luan Peng's tent, but Xue Wen also stood behind me and did not move. "After you, Sir Xue, please," he said.

He was a little embarrassed tunnel: "General Chu, I am a worker, have no right to negotiate military aircraft."

Can he not negotiate? His position gave him the right to sit in on the deliberations. Does Luan Peng open the army opportunity, only lead the generals to participate? Wondering, I went into the camp.

Some commanders were already seated in the tent, with Luan Peng and Chai Shengxiang at the top, surrounded by a ring of soldiers. I saluted forward and said, "General Luan, General Chai, and Chu Xiuhong of the Longyan Army have met the two generals."

Chai Shengxiang put a pot of wine in front of him, he drank red face, see I come in, looked up and said: "Chuchu general, you come?"

He seemed to want to say something, but Luan Peng stood up and interrupted him, saying, "Are you all there?"

One of the soldiers said, "General, the left general has not arrived yet."

The left general called Left Yuan again, is Chai Shengxiang's thousand commander, belongs to Chai Shengxiang's confidant. He had such bosses as Chai Sheng-sang and was himself known for his lack of military discipline. Most of the generals in Chai Sheng-sang's army looked like small trumpets. Chai Sheng-sang was able to carry them with him and did not scatter, which showed that he was a general.

Luan Peng said: "Shengxiang, what happened?"

Chai Shengxiang did not know why. He shook his hand and said, "I asked him to stay outside the camp in case of trouble. There is no need to wait for him."

Luan Peng nodded and said, "Well. Generals, what do you know about this urgent meeting?"

A commander said, "It is because of the news that your majesty is going to join forces with the Republican Army."

The news spread really fast, and the Marquis's decision may not have taken long, but it had already spread throughout the army. Luan Pengdao: "Exactly. This matter is urgent and cannot be idled."

My seat is further back. Perhaps I, the leader of the Dragonscale, was a stranger to the right, and last in the seat. I looked at Luan Peng and thought, if Chai Shengxiang said this, I think he is nonsense. However, Luan Peng's remarks should not be underestimated. I don't know how Luan Peng thought it was so urgent to hold such an emergency meeting to discuss.

About a dozen commanders were already sitting around me. They were looking at Luan Peng's mouth as if they were listening to a decree. Presumably in the left army, Luan Peng and Chai Shengxiang had absolute authority.

Luan Peng road: "The rank of general, Jun Hou bearing the king's order, with the army to the south, now by those monsters trapped in the city, but up to now, still have not fallen spirit. With your ability to wipe out those monsters, the victory class is just around the corner. At this time, Lu Jingyu even forced you to issue an order to join forces with the rebels. The crime should be fatal."

I had no idea that he would speak so violently. I looked around, and the commander was a little alarmed. Although the left army and the right army can not be together, but according to the rank, Lu Jingyu is higher than Luan Peng after all, Luan Peng as the acting commander of the right army, called a meeting to attack the left army general, if someone reported to the ear of the Marquis, it is difficult to say the crime of reckless. Does Luan Peng even want to make trouble? I looked at Chai Shengxiang, a fierce general known for his ruthlessness and ferocity, sitting beside him, sweat streaming down his head. Perhaps, though he was not afraid of anything, even Chai Shengxiang was afraid of such an equivalent rebellion.

When Luan Peng said the last four words, his voice was already fierce. He clapped his hand on the record and the wine pot in front of Chai Shengxiang jumped. Chai Shengxiang did not move, but all the generals in the tent began to whisper to each other. This would have been unthinkable in any other army, and it was probably nothing in the right.

Luan Pengxu way: "The army to the south, originally is to wipe out the republican rebels, there is no rebel coerce reason. If the rebels are still there and we can sit on the throne, the results of the southern expedition will be absent, and we will have no face to meet our dead brothers and console the spirit of Lord Shen."

A commander of the right army said, "Master Luan, this order has already been issued by your majesty. What else can we say?"

Luan Peng said, "The King of Heaven also said in his seven orders of march, 'Do not follow orders in disorder.' All the generals must have read it. Now you are awarded, it is a disorderly order, we should obey? Lord Shen died for his country, but behind him became the world of these clowns. How can it not make the world's heroes feel cold?"

The commander hesitated a little: "Well, what shall we do?"

Luan Peng looked at the following one eye, mouth like jumping out, way: "military remonsterance!"

As soon as these words came out, I saw him heave a sigh of relief. Even Luan Peng, say these two words is to have a lot of courage. He said, "While there is still something to be done, let us go to the king and ask him to revoke this order and destroy the rebels in the city."

There was murder in his voice. This came as a bolt from the blue, and I almost didn't know what to do. When he said "rebels," he probably included land fishing. At this time, I only feel that Luan Peng's eyes a little strange glancing at me, and then turned to others. I couldn't help but feel a chill.

Perhaps it was me that he was most worried about. I was appointed by Lord Wu alone, and I was a direct member of the forward battalion of Lord Wu to command the Dragon Scale Army of the right army. However, Luan Peng and his men did not regard me as a member of the right army, and they did not invite me to discuss anything before. He swung to the side of withdrawal.

This man really knows how to bend the wind. That was all I thought at the time, but now it seems that he is more ambitious than just a quick buck. What he was saying now amounted to a mutiny. If he succeeded, the position would probably be his. I couldn't help looking around. This was Luan Peng's tent. Luan Peng had summoned all his generals and had made arrangements in advance. There were more than thirty of his soldiers standing around the tent. And with so many rightist generals, I'd die if I tried to get out.

The commander mumbled, "If you don't accept our proposal, we will be in rebellion."

This is what we say in our hearts. Luan Peng did this, if the Marquis accepted it, if not accepted, Luan Peng and Chai Shengxiang is to be regarded as a rebel, and the right army generals are also to blame, I am afraid all to be downgraded.

Luan Peng sighed and said, "The general is not clear. If you really want to go ahead and make mistakes, we will."

His words did not continue, but the meaning was clear. We all gasped. The commander said, "Even if we can control the emperor, General Lu and the Republican Army stationed at the East Gate are superior to us. If they meet us, how shall we cope?"

Luan Peng said, "The emperor is in our hands, and the Chinese army is also in our hands. But in the name of the marquis ordered the queen army, Luo Jingwei dare not refuse."

The commander said, "But isn't this really a civil disorder?"

Luan Peng said: "Rong Zhaoxi, your family by the grace of the state, now want you to make a decision, where there are so many words?"

Rong Zhaoxi was drunk by Luan Peng. He looked up and said, "Luan, General Luan, we are now trapped in a lonely city. We should join forces to fight the enemy. If General Luan wants to go his own way, I hope that General Luan will not make too many mistakes."

I did not know this aspect, and what I said made so much sense that several commanders could not help but bow their heads slightly. Luan Peng face a cold smile, said: "General Rong is not from the next life?"

As he spoke, his face suddenly turned pale, a pool of blood appeared on his chest, and a short arrow was thrust into his chest. The arrow came and went without trace, and it came from nowhere. Rong Zhaoxi could not even make a sound, and was killed.

Suddenly a cry went up from the tent. I wondered what soldiers outside would think if they heard the voices inside, but I felt cold all over. Luan Peng had already made up his mind. It seemed that if anyone did not comply, he would silence them. This time he was more threatening than holding a meeting under duress.

Luan Peng said, "General Rong is ignorant of the general situation. What does the general have to say?"

At this time, Chai Shengxiang chuckled at Luan Peng's side. I can't believe that the killing king's smile actually has a bit of obscene meaning. He suddenly said to me, "General Chu, do you agree with General Luan?"

The eyes of the people nearby focused on me. All of them were directly affiliated to the Right Army, and were all raised by Shen Xiping. But I was a stranger on the way, and I had not been here long, and most of them did not regard me as one of their own. But what can I say in the light of Rong Zhaoxi's experience?

I smiled sadly to myself, knowing that it would not be easy to get away. Thinking, I stood up. However, as soon as I stood up, the guards around me suddenly became very hostile, and the ones nearest me laid their hands on the hilts of their swords, as if they were expecting me to attack them at once.

I stood up, my mind already racing. Luan Peng called me here to discuss military aircraft, but I'm afraid he really wanted to take me down. The Dragon Scale army was not large in number, but it had great prestige among the right army. If the Dragon Scale Army did not approve Luan Peng's proposal, perhaps half of the right army would not fight against them.

I stood up straight and pressed my injured left shoulder. The wound on his left shoulder was mostly healed, and he could hold the knife now, but he had no strength. Luan Peng really need not so guard me, my heart can not help but smile bitterly. I was only half a man at most, and he needed only two or three guards to carry me. It was very respectful of him to guard me so.

Luan Peng said: "General Chu, what do you think?"

He said this in a murderous way, and I thought he might order my head off at once if I didn't say what he wanted. At this point, I was at my wits' end. I said, "General Luan's words are absolutely right."

I said so, but in my heart I disapproved of ten thousand things, but I could only say so, but my mouth could only slyly, thinking: "What is right is right; whether I approve or disapprove is another matter." At this time, the Republican Army is calling for a united army, which, in any case, is strengthening our war power. If our fellow soldiers fight, do we have the strength to fight the Snake People? But I dare not say no again, as Rong did. It pains me to say it against my will.

Luan Peng listened to my words, actually smiled, said: "The wise man for the hero. Is there any objection?" He must have meant it for me, too, in that careless way. Who else would object at this point? He asked twice, but got nothing but assent. "Bring the wine!" he cried.

Two soldiers came in with a jar of wine. Well, with the right on the west side of town, we'll need a lot of wine. The two soldiers put big bowls in front of us. Luan Peng drew his waist sword and said, "The winner will be a great success and the loser will be defeated. If I can persuade you, more generals will give titles and be sworn brothers."

And he cut off the seal of the altar with a sword, and cut again upon his finger, and the blood dripped into the altar. At this time, Chai Shengxiang also drew a knife in the hand cut a knife, his action is not as calm as Luan Peng, the knife a little shaky. Luan Peng said: "Rank of general, come up."

We looked at each other, and Luan Peng made us swear in blood so that we wouldn't turn back. The greatest blood oath of the empire, and it would be shameful for the world to back out after that. A commander sitting in the front, seeing that there was no hiding, went up and drew his sword on his waist. He was about to cut off his finger when he said, "General Luan, how sure are we if we want military reproof? The king's camp is located in the central army. Besides the central soldiers, there are forward battalions on the periphery. Even if we lean to the right, we cannot defeat them."

Luan Pengdao: "How to use war depends on how many. Our purpose is to remongize with your majesty, but not to wage war with the Chinese army. What is the use of taking the element of surprise by surprise?

The thousand husband long said: "Such a military remonstrance, has become a rebellion, if the king regardless of everything, hit the army and the vanguard battalion attack us, then what is good?"

Luan Peng said: "Now there is only a bet. As for the forward camp, don't worry. I've got it all set."

I almost jumped up as if I had been pricked by a needle. Did Luan Peng mean by this that he had bought into the vanguard battalion? Forward camp only Lu Gong Xing can move, Luan Peng this means that Lu Gong Xing has a secret plan with him?

The more I think about it, the more suspicious it seems. Land by fishing with cang moon back, Yu said, Jun Hou had called forward camp Gongwei, but later is still accepted the Cang month method. With your character, is rather die than surrender, we this batch of soldiers in your eyes is just equivalent to some mole ants, you are not sorry for the soldiers' lives to be forced to contract. So, what is Kyoyuki's role?

What else did the commander want to say? Luan Peng shouted loudly: "Make a firm decision. If you speak more, you will be killed without pardon!" His voice was so loud that the soldiers outside could hear him. But even if heard also unknown to know what it means, and now to report to Marquis Wu, Marquis Wu unprepared, and how to do? The commander started, the knife moved, and there was a cut on his hand. He had sworn to cut his finger off, but his face was white with pain.

I thought and thought and didn't know what to do. Even if such a practice succeeds, what good does it do to the overall situation? But to weaken myself. But I couldn't think of a good way, so I had to stand up and say, "General Xuenluan, I'd like to go and pull out the Dragon Scale Army and take it with me."

Luan Peng shook his hand and said: "No need, we are not going to war, only with my troops. General Chu has such a heart, and you will sign in blood first."

I am not a Zheng, knowing that he is a fool, Wu Hou this suspected I was the mole, although Wu Keqing has eluded me, but Wu Hou may not trust me on this. If he had sworn in blood, even if he had not taken part in the remonstrate, in the eyes of the warrior, he was capricious. I stood wondering what to do, and was trying to make up another excuse to get away with it, when a scream came from outside the tent.

It was the cry of the soldiers. Luan Peng was surprised, also ignore me, way: "What happened?"

As he spoke, a soldier came tumbling in, a man so full of arrows that he seemed almost to have been fished out of a pool of blood. As soon as he entered the door, the soldier fell to the ground, as if he wanted to say something, but opened his mouth and could not speak.

We were all on our feet when a voice, like thunder, came from outside: "All the soldiers in the tent listen. Come out quickly. If anyone is armed, kill them on sight." It was the sound of thunder drums.

I glanced out of the corner of my eye at Luan Peng. His face went white and he shouted, "Don't panic. Men, guard the door."

However, there was no doorway to speak of in a tent, as if to answer his words, "hiss" two times. The tent was cut by long knives around the tent, and the tent was completely exposed. At this time, we saw that the densely packed soldiers had surrounded Luan Peng's tent, and the soldiers lying on the ground outside the tent were mostly Luan Peng's personal troops. All these troops had been killed before they knew it. There must have been no idle people around the camp. I looked up, and sure enough, the infantry around the tent were the Reebok battalion, and behind them a ring of cavalry, the Vanguard battalion. I could already see Lu Gong Xing looking at us from the front of the group, as if he had seen me too, but a few dozen paces away, and I wondered what he was thinking. These were the best units of the Imperial army, and there were always two or three thousand of them, about half of what was left. The Lord seemed to regard it as a matter of utmost importance to besiege us with such an army.

Luan Peng's face changed. Even the fool knew it was a leak. An officer of the Reebok Battalion, with a long knife in his hand, shouted, "The mutineers in the battalion will lay down their weapons immediately."

Before he finished speaking, a short arrow plunged into his right shoulder. The arrow was so close that it pierced the soft armor of his body and pierced his shoulder. The officer gave a gasp and took a step back. His long sword fell to the ground. All the soldiers around him took a step back and raised their shields. The officer reached up with his left hand, drew out a short arrow, and exclaimed: "Is it really necessary?"

We are surrounded. If they shoot, no one inside can escape. Luan Peng turned his head and said, "Xiao Nine, don't put arrows!" Turning to the outside, he said, "Luan Peng is here. Where are your brothers outside?"

Suddenly the voice of the Marquis rang up from the team: "Luan Peng, hello."

The vanguard and the Reebok camps, which surrounded the tent, separated like the tide. The Lord Wu rode slowly toward the camp, twenty paces away from the tent. He stopped, his face heavy. At the side of Marquis Wu stood another general, Zuo Yuanzai, commander of the right army.

Luan Peng's face changed. If Marquis Wu had not come personally, Luan Peng might have had another way to go, but he did not expect Marquis Wu to come personally. He was already cornered. When I saw one of his arms, I could not help shaking.

He's gonna fight to the death! My heart sank, and my hand lay on the Babie knife.

Luan Peng has no weapons against us. If we attack back, Luan Peng's troops, though twice as many as ours, may not be able to defend Luan Peng in an internal diplomatic attack. If he captured Luan Peng, he would have done good instead of wrong. I glanced at some of the other commanders, but they had been brave men in battle, and now they were a little uneasy, and not in the least inclined to draw their swords.

I grasped the handle of the knife and put the power in my arm. If Luan Peng wants to resist, I only have one arm to force, that can only be preemptive, even if he has to unload one arm also at all costs.

I had barely drawn half of my Babie knife when Chai Shengxiang shouted, "Suffer death!"

Chai Shengxiang suddenly drew a knife, a knife to Luan Peng.

Chai Shengxiang site in Luan Peng, Luan Peng certainly did not think he this kiss more than brother colleagues will suddenly strike, in his face a stunned. His reaction was quick, too. As soon as Chai moved, his hand was already on the handle of the knife at his waist. But Chai Shengxiang's knife must have been brewing for a long time, and it was swift as lightning. When it struck Luan Peng's shoulder, it was not slow at all, and Luan Peng reacted quickly.

By this time, my sword was out of its sheath, and my men had pounced on Luan Peng. My movement was only a little slower than Chai Shengxiang's, Chai Shengxiang's cut was Luan Peng's left shoulder. If I cut Luan Peng's right shoulder, Luan Peng would not be able to dodge my knife, even if it was possible to avoid Chai Shengxiang's cut.

With the sound of breaking the sky, the light of the knife rolled away to Luan Peng. Chai Shengxiang on the horse is not worse than me, but my step knife skills from the military academy is one of the best, after the first, two knives almost at the same time to Luan Peng's side.

With both knives together, Luan Peng had great skill and could not escape. In the light of the knife, I suddenly saw a look in his eyes, a look of surprise and unyielding, which seemed to have passed him by, even when he knew that his life was at hand.

My mind moved, two knives have been away from Luan Peng in front of the very close. At this time, I do not know how to come, magically, my Babie knife move, a turn in the direction of the knife light back back "bang", Chai Shengxiang's knife was Babie knife, a burst out a string of sparks.

Although I checked Chai Shengxiang's knife for a moment, I was trying to move forward, but suddenly I changed direction. The Biib knife could not stop Chai Shengxiang's power, and was immediately swung away by Chai Shengxiang's knife. However, just at this time, Luan Peng had taken a step back, his sword was out of its scabbards, and two soldiers had arrived at his side. The two knives were interlocking to block us. If Chai Shengxiang tried to break in again, he would have to face Luan Peng and the three of them.

Perhaps, in Chai Sheng-sang's mind, he had to deal with four people, including me. So he rolled his eyes and cried, "Brothers of the right army, do not make any more mistakes. Come and catch the rebel Luan Peng!"

I was a little stunned and did not know why I wanted to save Luan Peng. My intention was to subdue him, but when I was in charge, I saved him instead. Just now, all of a sudden, I did it as if it were natural. Now I think, when the Lord saw me save Luan Peng, I was also included in the rebellion.

Even though it wasn't too cold, I was sweating. I took a random shot, and that would have been my own death. If I don't explain myself, I'll never know.

I held the knife in my hand and said, "Luan, General Luan, one man should do the work and one man should do the work. You should remonde with your majesty and not let your brothers of the right army be buried with you."

Luan Peng looked at us and slowly said, "In fact, you are all against my military remonstration?"

I looked at the commanders. They looked at each other as if they wanted to say something. Even if there is a consent to the military remonstrate, until now who will openly support?

Luan Peng looked at us and suddenly smiled and said, "Yes, one should do what one should do. Boys, you should fight well and don't lose the face of our right army."

With that, he strode out and reached the Lord Wu. Immediately after the Lord Wu's big eagle and little eagle jumped off his horse and "choked", two knives came out of their sheaths, blocking Luan Peng's way.

Luan Peng calm, kneeling down: "At the end of the right army acting general, Wanfu long Luan Peng kowtowing to the marquis."

Marquis Wu looked like water and whispered, "Luan Peng, you are a general, how can you be so ignorant?"

Luan Peng raised his head, the way: "Report to the emperor Hou, Luan Peng was the emperor's grace, dare not make peace with the enemy before the war, so out of the worst policy, Hou to kill to cut, Luan Peng without half a sentence of complaint."

At that moment, Chai Sheng-sang's face brightened and he came out, and we followed him out. To Wuhou horse, all knelt down, Chai Shengxiang road: "Jun Hou Wan 'an, the end will Chai Shengxiang saw Jun Hou."

Luan Peng snorted. Luan Peng kept this very secret. When I was called to a meeting, I didn't know the details at all. To say that it would get out at that time, Luan Peng looked like a fool. I am afraid that the Lord has known this matter so soon because someone told him. And the right army up and down, can be hidden informer, I am afraid only this and Luan Peng said the sword brother Chai Shengxiang. Left Yuan appeared in front of the marquis, that is almost a live sign. Chai Shengxiang's attack on Luan Peng just now showed his loyalty. If Luan Peng had been captured by him, he would have made great achievements.

Luan Peng did not see the match, but the way: "Your majesty, Luan Peng knows that the crime is not pardonable, death deserved, but the account of the generals, are coerced by me, although there is a general shaxie, that is understandable, I hope you let go."

Marquis Wu snorted, ignored him, just shouted: "Zuo Yuan again!"

Left Yuan again busy kneel to Wu Hou horse road: "Left Yuan again." He knelt far away from Luan Peng, perhaps he was afraid of Luan Peng angry, will burst into injury.

Marquis Wu said: "You tell Luan Peng conspiracy, but true?"

That is actually said to Luan Peng listen to it. Left Yuan was about to open his mouth to speak, but suddenly, his body shuddered and his hands went mad to grab his head, but he only grabbed two times. Then he fell to the ground and convulsed all over.

He was killed by a short arrow in the back of his head.

The arrow was very powerful. I am afraid it was the one who killed Rong Zhaoxi. I could not help looking back, but heard Luan Peng crying: "Little nine! Come down, it's no use."

On top of the tent stood a little soldier. That is Luan Peng called "Little nine" soldier. The little nine-pan was standing on the pole of the tent, holding a short bow of strange shape in his hand. I do not know how he could shoot so powerful arrows with such a short bow. He saluted Luan Peng on the top of the tent and said, "A scholar who knows himself will die. General Luan, if anyone does anything against you, I will shoot him to death!"

As he said this, he shouted, "My comrades in the army, the little man is General Luan Peng's own soldier. As a result of Luan Luan's giving him, he has no choice but to die. Let General Luan leave the city at once. If you violate this rule, this arrow will be directed at your majesty."

The man was an excellent archer, and could run no farther than twenty or thirty paces. At this distance, even I would hit every shot, let alone this man.

Before he finished speaking, Lord Wu shouted, "Shoot arrows!"

This little nine also do not know the character of the marquis. If he threatened a general, the Lord might listen. But if he threatened the Lord, it would be like seeking death.

As soon as the Lord had finished speaking, an arrow shot from a distance hit the man in the throat. The little Nine shook at the top of the tent, and the short bow in his hand dropped, and before he could fall, the men of the Vanguard battalion bent their bows and sent arrows raining down, and the body of the little Nine was shot like a hedgehog.

Luan Peng exclaimed: "Little nine!"

Wu Hou ignored him, way: "Mo Zhenwu."

Mo Zhenwu, who was following the Marquis, jumped off his horse and knelt before him, saying, "The end is here."

"Bring all the men in the tent to the central army, and send generals of the central army of your choice to clean up the mess."

"He said, clapping his horse and walking away. As soon as he had taken a step, he turned back and said, "This man will be rewarded with the first arrow that killed the traitor."

Mo Zhenwu promised, but Chai Shengxiang stood up to follow, eagle eagle knife but staggered to stop him. He could not help being startled, said: "Two generals, what's the matter?" The eagle and the eaglet did not answer, but two men from the Reebok Battalion came and pinned him on his back, Shouting, "On your knees!"

One by one, people came up and tied us up. When they did, I was kind of relieved, for some reason. Whatever the Lord does with me in the end, at least a fight has been avoided. I have no intention of looking down on Chai now, and I would have done the same in his place. But Reebok camp people do not care about him this meritorious, tied Luan Peng, and tied Chai Shengxiang. When they tied him up, he looked stunned and cried out, "Your Majesty! Your majesty!" But the Lord paid no attention to him. The big eagle and the little eagle jumped on their horse and followed him. One by one, we're all tied up.

All the officers above the middle rank of the right Army are here. Somehow, I kind of wanted to laugh. If the Lord of Warlord does this, the officers of the right army will be replaced, and more than half of them will be beheaded.

We were pushed into the tumbrils, but it was the Forward battalion that took us. I just entered the van, Qi Lie has come over, way: "General!"

His voice a little choked, I said: "Little Fierce, cry what."

I was going to say, "You don't do wrong." But there were a lot of rightwing generals around, and I was afraid that if I said this, they would be too anxious to say anything. After all, both Luan Peng and Chai Shengxiang had won the hearts of the army.

To make him think of something else, I said, "Who shot that arrow? Are they brothers of the Vanguard Battalion?"

That arrow was a bit of a risk. It was the first arrow. If he could not kill Xiao Jiu and let Xiao Jiu shoot from a commanding position, the marquis would have been injured. The archer was so bold and so careful, and so good at archery, I can't think of anyone else who could have done that with Tan Qing dead.

"It was not from us," Qi said. "It came from behind us."

What if it's a Rightist, then? My heart was shaken. Maybe it was Jiang Jae-xuan.

If it is Jiang Jae-xuan, then I also have a little contribution, at least the Marquis will know that I will not rebel. The thought of this comforted me a little.

It was getting dark when we were marched into the barracks. Qi Lie has been with me outside the van, to the Chinese army tent, he said: "General, I have to go."

I nodded and said, "Be good to your brothers."

Qi Lie also nodded, and said: "Today, Lao Guoji died of his injuries, just passed away."

Lloyd is dead? I sighed a little. The military school in that year ranked "fire, water and wind" in the first four strange characters, life is not what great achievements, the final credit also have to use their own life in exchange for. He did not want to be mediocre, then he offered the fire plan to the Lord. When the surprise attack failed, the Lord did not blame him, but he must have blamed himself, so he fought almost deathly in the morning battle. Perhaps, in his mind, it was blood to wash away the shame of a defeated general. But if he had his way, he would have been responsible for the situation we are in today.

I sighed and said, "Give me a glass of water on his grave."

Lloyd was a commoner himself, but not one of our commoner class of centurions. But he kept his peace and got along well with all sides.

Qi Lie nodded and said, "General, I want to bail the general with the brothers in the forward camp."

I said: "No need, you will not listen to."

At this time, the soldier of the Chinese army has come to receive the prison wagon. In this prison wagon, almost all the middle and senior officers of the whole army of the right Army were shut up. They were also afraid to lack the courtesy. We were helped out one by one, disarmed first, untied and taken to one side.

The Marquis Wu's camp was the largest, because military meetings were often held, and his camp could accommodate hundreds of people. A dozen of us were thrown aside and held at knifepoint by the Marquis's own soldiers. It was really like being taken prisoner. Chai Shengxiang's face was as grey as death, and his lips trembled. I could not believe that he was so afraid. I had always thought he was not afraid to die in battle, and now he was like this.

We waited for a short time, and the Marquis opened the back curtain and came in. He looked at us and said, "Bring them here."

Two soldiers dragged Luan Peng to go, Luan Peng said: "I will come myself." He strode to the marquis, kneel down and said: "Criminal minister Luan Peng, kneel to see your excellency." Supported by two of our own soldiers, we were led to the Lord and knelt down.

Lord Wu snorted and said, "Do you also know sin?"

"Failure is sin, success is merit, Luan Peng had been prepared."

Marquis Wu stood up, walked around him, and said, "I see General Luan is not convinced?"

Luan Peng way: "Jun Hou, Luan Peng suffering the grace of the country, what fear death."

Marquis Wu looked up to heaven and smiled: "You are serving the country by example? So I'm betraying my country?"

Luan Peng said, "I dare not, but you have already done so. The republican rebels are the great enemy of the Empire, and should not join forces with them for a moment's disadvantage. If the mutineer sits big in the future, the crime of Marquis Wu is far above Luan Peng."

He knelt on the ground and talked without fear, as if unaware that the Lord would kill him at any moment. We listened in the back of a little jump, I know the character of the Marquis, he can kill, if angry Marquis, we will also be killed clean, that is not wrong?

Marquis Wu patted his hand gently on the sheath of the sword in his waist for two times. At this time, he saw Chai Shengxiang walk a few steps on his knee and said, "Marquis Wu, Luan Peng was confused for a moment. I hope Marquis Wu can forgive him for this time."

Marquis Wu looked at him and said, "General Chai, you betrayed him, and now you come to plead for him?"

Chai Shengxiang gritted his teeth and said, "It is public to betray him, but private to intercede. Victory phase for the right army general, for business had to inform, but had to save him for private."

I was taken aback when he said this. With a character like Chai-Sheng-sang, it was remarkable that he could say such a thing. Public is public, private is private, it is not disappointed. He attacked Luan Peng behind the encirclement of the Marquis of war, that is not wrong, but I am a little ashamed of his informant. Although I also oppose Luan Peng, but Luan Peng after all has a bit of heroic spirit, worthy of being one of Shen Xiping's brave generals at the beginning, and Chai Shengxiang informant will inevitably appear small. But when he said these two words, he seemed so magnanimous that we could not help admiring him a little.

The fact that Lord Wu was pacing back and forth was too important for him to make up his mind. So many generals already affect the whole army of the right army. If one of them is mishandled, the right army will mutiny, which will be out of control.

He walked in five or six circles, came to the desk, and stretched out his hand for the token. Looking at the actions of the Marquis, my heart did not sink, if the Marquis of the token pulled out, that most Luan Peng will escape life.

The hand of the Marquis just met the token, a messenger hurried in, way: "Report to the Marquis, the left army land by General Yu with people to see."

Marquis Wu said, "Tell him something is happening here.

The messenger soldier handed a silk manuscript: "General Lu said, if you do not see, please look at this."

Wu Hou took the silk, looked at, way: "Call him in."

I am very curious in the heart, what did Lu Jingyu write? To make the Lord change his mind.

At this moment, a sound of footsteps sounded behind him, must be the land fishing. He had a man with him, but we were all lying on the ground, not daring to look around. Lu Jing Yu walked through us, suddenly kneeling on the side of Luan Peng, way: "To report to you Hou, humble left army Lu Jing Yu Wan dead."

Lord Wu sighed and said, "Do you really want to take this on yourself?"

Lu Jing Yu said, "This matter was caused by me and I should solve it. General Luan was guilty, but he was far more guilty of fishing than General Luan. Why can't you do the same to General Luan?"

Marquis Wu took a few steps and said, "This is not the time for the whole army to prepare for battalion preparation. When there were no intruders outside and no spies inside, we had to be lenient."

Lu Jing Yu raised his head and said, "When you speak like this, you cannot help but worry about the reality of the population. Remember when you often admonish servile, will the way, when ordered forbidden, a consistent. Now General Luan is guilty, but no consequences have been brought about. According to the military law, Luan can be held responsible for his crimes and meritorious service, which is also a useful material for the country."

The marquis stood still and did not answer. Lu Jingyu was the only one who could contradict Marquis Wu in this way. I am a little nervous, for both private and public, I also hope that Wu Hou can let go of Luan Peng. Even Luan Peng also let go, so I this echo the crime is nothing.

After a long time, Marquis Wu took out a token from the case and shouted: "Lu Jing Yu listen to the order!"

Land by fishing one Zheng, immediately bowed: "servile in."

Wu Hou will throw the card, said: "Luan Peng is ignorant of the general, disturbing the heart of the army, gathered the crowd mutiny, his crime should be punished, by you."

Lu Jingyu could not help being tongue-tied and unable to speak. Luan Peng said, "Xie Junhou." Stand up, said: "Lu Jing Yu, less mother-in-law mother, go."

What did Lu Jingyu have to say? Luan Peng had gone out with great strides. When he reached the entrance of the tent, he turned and hugged us and said, "My dear fellow, don't blame me for what Luan Peng has done to you."

He went out singing aloud, but rather out of breath. Land channel: "Obey the order." He got up and followed him out.

After a while, Lu Jingyu came in again, knelt down and said, "Please inform your majesty that General Luan's head is here. Please have a look."

A soldier behind him handed Luan Peng's head. Luan Peng's face, with a kind of confusion, I saw in that has lost the angry eyes with two lines of tears. Perhaps to death, Luan Peng also did not think he was wrong.

Marquis Wu said, "Give him the order of his head and bury him properly."

After Luan Peng, he glanced at us. Chai Shengxiang shivered and bowed his head.

What will the Lord do with us?

I did not dare to look up at the eyes of the Marquis, low head crouched on the ground. After a while, I heard the Marquis say, "After fishing, are the men you have brought useful?"

Lu Jing Yu road: "humble personally tried, no false."

What are they talking about? I secretly raised my eyes to see, but there was nothing strange. After a while, heard the Lord said: "You get up."

Kill Luan Peng, the rest can not be pursued? I think the other commanders, including Chai, must feel the same way. As soon as we stood up, Lord Wu said, "Big eagle little eagle, you take them one by one."

Where to?

I was a little surprised, but I saw the two bodyguards come and help Chai Shengxiang to the edge. In front of a picture of the army saint, the eagle or the eagle said, "Stand still and look at the picture."

It was a half-length portrait of the court, which was originally hung behind the marquis, but now the Marquis's seat had changed direction and was beside the Marquis's seat. In the imperial army, there were only two portraits, one of the emperor and one of the other, not even of the current emperor.

The Emperor and the heaven. These two men have become a myth in the army. At the beginning, the emperor led the twelve generals headed by the King of Heaven, and they were invincible. The claim that "wherever the sun shines, it is the territory of the Empire" had unsurpassed prestige in the army. After a few hundred years, especially the emergence of the emperor such as the descendants of the emperor, people will miss those two extraordinary heroes.

Chai Shengxiang stood in front of the picture, looking at the picture in the front, and suddenly, as if he was under an evil spirit, his body kept trembling. There was a shudder, a terrible cry, and the man fell.

We could not help shaking our heads, even Chai Shengxiang's trusted commander was a little dismissive. Chai Shengxiang has always killed people without blinking an eye, on the battlefield is also fearless of death, how can now be afraid of such? Perhaps, in his heart, it was an honor to die in battle, and to be slain as a traitor, that was an incalculable shame. But his reaction was a little excessive. Was it because he felt more humiliated by the picture of heaven? If so, then the name of the King of Life is a joke.

I was even more puzzled. Marquis Wu said, "Chai Shengxiang, get up. You have the merit of tip-off, and you can recover from the crime of disobedience."

Chai Shengxiang was already as soft as a worm. Hearing this, he was beaming with joy. Kneeling down, he bowed his head several times and said, "Your Majesty Shengming! You are the king!"

The two words, only Emperor use. But Marquis Wu did not blame him for his slip of the tongue. He said, "Chai Shengxiang, you were coerced by Luan Peng in this matter, and you are not to blame. In the days to come, you will be assisting the new left army commander. You will not fail again."

One by one, the commanders were called over and led, like Chai Sheng-sang, to the portrait of the heaven. None of them had fainted, and I could see no difference between them and before the portrait, except that they were more or less out of their minds. After a few words of good advice and no punishment, the marquis was restored to his post and released the camp.

Marquis Wu has been at his wits' end, to beg in the court days of residual power? But it was only a picture, and a coward is a coward, even in the presence of a sarge.

As I was thinking, I heard the Lord of the Dragon Scale shout, "Chu Xiuhong, commander of the Dragon Scale Army."

Sci Fi

About the Creator

Alon Long

We are the world, we are the children

We are the ones who make a brighter day

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Alon LongWritten by Alon Long

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.