Fiction logo

Chapter 1: At Eternity's Gates

The neighborhood of Elysian Falls gets a rude awakening after a girl with a mysterious locket moves in.

By Chrissy LeePublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like

"Don't be afraid, Charlotte. I am always with you..."

A high-pitched alarm pierces my ears. My grandmother's words echo as I grumble and tap the snooze button. Peering from under ivory sheets, I squint my eyes at the early morning sunlight stretching across the cozy room. Ugh, too early! I complain. Yawning, I turn over in bed and curl underneath the weight of the quilted comforter. I'll just rest a little longer...

"I found Pinky for you!" I place the stuffed pink rabbit in front of her and Ellie babbles in delight, her first tooth poking through smiles to greet me. I hear a rustling sound, and turn to find Sam gumming a grocery bag. "No Sammy!" The syringes clatter against each other as I rush to snatch the sack away. "Momma says that's not safe to play with!"

Startled, he looks up at me and begins to cry. I panic, "Uh, here! Look what I've got!" His cries wither down to soft coos, and I let out a relieved sigh as I roll the little red fire truck around the old carpet. The sound of heels on the living room tile and loud whispering draws my attention. Leaving the twins with their toys, I place my ears on the thin bedroom door and quietly listen.

"I can't do this! I'm not ready!" Aunt Lisa complains, pacing back and forth.

"And you think those kids are? Where else can they go, Lis? They need us!" Darren, her fiancé, bites back through a thick Italian accent.

Aunt Lisa huffs in frustration. There was a heavy silence before she finally spoke. "I knew this was going to happen," she said bitterly. "I told her to get help. How are we supposed to explain to a 10-year-old that her mother is dead? I'm always picking up her slack!" she stomps.

I rip the door open, staring at them in disbelief. Two sets of eyes dart back at me in shock. Aunt Lisa sputters, "Charlie, I-I I'm so-" Her designer purse falls to the floor as Darren's large frame pushes past her. I race down the hall before he can reach me, and into the kitchen.

The dying light exposes my mother's pale body sitting alone at the table, face down in a froth of vomit. Blood pours from her nose and mouth, and greasy strands of black hair fall in front of sunken eyes. Still open, her gaze fixed itself where I stood.

"M-Momma?" I whimper.

"Charlotte..."

Her corpse snaps in different directions as it rises from the chair. Globs of black fluid splatter onto the floor and walls beneath her. The smell of rotting flesh fills my nose and I gag, stumbling backward. I turn to escape, but I was met with a solid wall. On the other side, I could hear Aunt Lisa's screams and Darren's fists pounding to get through.

"Why didn't you help me, Charlotte?"

My mother's honey voice distorts into a low growl. A decaying hand snatches my neck and lifts me from the ground. Her claws pierce into my throat, and blood pours down my Easter dress. Scorched air fills the room, and my eyes dim as I gargle on my blood. Squeezing tighter, Mother shrieks,

"YOU DIDN'T HELP ME!"

My alarm jostles me awake. The smell of burning food reaches my lungs, making me cough. I rush to open my windows. "She's going to kill us one day," I mutter, shaking my head and fanning the smoke out. I search for my phone, finding it between the walnut bed frame and the hardwood floor. I attempt to turn the screen on, and I sigh realizing that I didn't charge it after the party last night. I put on my slippers and hurry downstairs.

Turning into the open kitchen, I gasp at the blanket of smoke climbing the ceiling. Grabbing a newspaper, I fan the alarm until it silences. While I open the windows, I hear the news reporter in the background.

"The HC-G19 vaccine is making its journey across the world. Thanks to the Huxley Corporation, statistics are now showing that almost 92% percent of all global citizens are vaccinated."

"That's right, John. Mandatory vaccinations are now globally enforced after 2025's devastating year of suffering and loss, when new strains of the COVID-19 super virus claimed over a third of the world's population, triggering the Great Collapse. But, through the combined efforts of the Elect and Dr. Gabriel Huxley and his private team of scientists and researchers, we are rebuilding and reshaping a united world from the ashes of this tragedy."

Black smoke bombards me as I open the oven and trash the remains of the charred biscuits. Sighing, I turn the oven off. On the granite counter, sits leftover strawberry cheesecake and a note from Catherine, our foster mother.

We're off to see the Huxley parade! Didn't want to wake you. Biscuits are in the oven. Enjoy being 17! P.S Don't forget the plants! -C, E+S

I snort and roll my eyes. She's a sweet lady, but at her age, she can be very forgetful. Filling a large glass, I step down into the living room.

Exotic plants align themselves in ornate pottery, and beautiful tapestries decorate the high walls. I tune back into the news as I water. Dr. Gabriel Huxley appears on-screen, calling in from his office in Washington. He is a very handsome man, somewhere in his 50's. He wore a simple suit, and his salt and pepper hair was slicked back neatly.

"What a pleasure being here today," he brightly starts. "As Rebecca stated, the Huxley Corporation has successfully administered lifesaving vaccinations across the world." He pauses, and his tone gets darker. 'However, there is increasing concern amongst your Elect regarding groups of individuals who refuse to cooperate. We must all remember to do our part in rebuilding and report anyone refusing to take the vaccine. Your peace and safety matter. Help us to ensure your family's future and create a peaceful and united global system." Gabriel ends with a smile.

"Well said, Gabriel," Rebecca blushes, placing her manicured hands on the desk. "Are there any new developments at Huxley Corp. regarding the Elect?"

Gabriel grins, "Oh yes, Becky. We have something special planned for you all today."

"What a creep," I cringe, turning the news off. I make my way upstairs, and after a bit of dresser rummaging, I decide on a simple shirt and jean shorts. The front door security sensor chimes and I hear my best friend Liz yelling from the bottom of the staircase. "Charmander! You here?"

I cringe at the nickname. "Don't you know how to call first?" Remembering my phone was dead, I curse under my breath and plug it into the charger. She ignores my annoyance, "Listen, you're not going to believe this!"

I fasten my grandma's golden locket around my neck. In the middle of its heart, a red crystal gemstone dazzles brilliantly. I touch it softly in remembrance. She had given it to me after Mom died. She told me to keep it safe and promised to tell me its secrets when I was old enough. But, she never got the chance. Soon after she died, social services took us to live here with Catherine.

"Char!" Liz's voice slams into my thoughts.

"Yes Liz, I'm listening!"

I shouldn't snap at her, I sigh. It's not her fault. I'm just having a crap day. Heading back downstairs, I meet her at the door.

"Something weird is going on!" She gestures. Confused, I follow her outside. Black mechanical spheres cover almost every inch of the lush neighborhood. Our normally bustling community was now disturbingly quiet. Even the birds seemed to have abandoned their havens.

"Be careful not to touch those things," Liz warns, seeing my astonishment. Her ocean eyes meet my earth. "You don't wanna know what happens if you do. Come on, I've gotta show you something!" She grabs my hand and we dodge towards her house across the street. Miraculously, we make our way safely inside and into the upstairs office. Startled by shouting downstairs, Liz mouths "Hide!" and races behind a nearby wall. I run to the spare closet and peek through its shutters. I'm shocked as Dr. Gabriel's son, Gideon, kicks open the door with two armed soldiers following closely behind.

"Clear the area!" he roars, "I know it's in here somewhere."

Gideon makes himself comfortable at the large desk, and I watch in horror as Liz is dragged out to him by her silky midnight hair.

"Well, well," he mocks. "I don't suppose you have what I'm looking for?"

"Piss off!" Liz snarls. She fights valiantly to free herself, but the soldiers use their bulk to handcuff and blindfold her.

Gideon leans back and props his feet on the desk. He runs his fingers through his thick, dark mane and deeply inhales the air. "I know you're in here. "I'm going to start counting. If you don't come out before I get to three, your friend here gets to eat a bullet for lunch."

"One," He starts.

I panic. No way! This isn't real!

"Two," he continues. His dark eyes fixate on my hiding place.

I move for the closet door, but my hand freezes on the knob.

I'm so sorry, Elizabeth! I can't do it!

"...Three. So be it!" Gideon rolls up the sleeves of his black leather jacket, and a soldier aims his gun at the back of Liz's head. I cover my mouth as he opens fire. My insides twist as Liz's porcelain body is removed from the room, blood trailing behind her. Gideon stands and wipes his splattered boots on the carpet.

"Now's your chance. Fly away, little bird," he leaves and closes the door behind him. Disgusted, I collapse and cry bitterly.

I've got to get out of here!

Adrenaline kicks in, and I bust through the closet door, making a run for the open window. I try to scale down the second-story balcony, but I fall to the bushes below. Groaning in pain, I hobble towards the neighborhood entrance.

As I come closer, I realize the gate's jammed. Cursing, I try to climb over the stone wall. I'm not very athletic, and to no surprise, I fail several times.

Crap, think! I instinctively reach up to touch the locket. It's gone! Where is it?! Frantically, I search my pockets and along the ground.

"Looking for something?"

I turn to see Gideon's amused expression and the glimmering locket dangling in his hands. Before I could respond, a searing blast sends me flying backward. Gideon crushes his boot into my chest, and I gasp for air underneath the pressure. "Too bad," He mutters, leaning in closely. "You're quite pretty. Between you and I though, black girls aren't my thing."

My vision blurs and focuses behind him. A little way off, I see Liz ripping Ellie and Sam by their chocolate curls. They scream and cry as the transporter doors slam and are stolen away. Liz's eyes storm as I'm spotted, and she spits in my direction. "You didn't help me," she hisses. Stepping aside, she reveals Catherine's battered head staked on a Legion flag, her silver wisps flowing gently in the breeze.

I cry out and try to move, but I'm paralyzed. Gideon presses in, and blood starts to pool onto the pavement around me. "Don't die yet, little bird," he sneers. "Granny didn't mention what this was, did she?" He smashes the locket on the ground, and ethereal beams of flashing light burst into the blackening sky. Before I can realize it, he delivers a swift kick to my skull.

"Take her back to my father's lab," I command a nearby soldier, "And be careful! We need her."

"Yes, Gideon." They carry her body away, and I look up towards the portal entrance, my now crimson eyes gleaming with anticipation.

Eternity is ours!

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Chrissy Lee

Just a single mother of 3 looking for different ways to support her family. God bless.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.