Fiction logo

Cave Hunting

Mia's discovery

By Carrie PrincipePublished about a year ago Updated 3 months ago 15 min read
Like

“Mommy, wagon,” Mia whispers. She stops walking and turns around. "Wagon," Mia repeats to us with a stunned expression.

We round the curve and see a severely wounded dragon sitting on a tree stump with her eyes closed, taking calm, smokey breaths. Her wings are swollen, bruised, and covered in blood. One of her wings has a metal tourniquet clamped over the main artery. It's clear the dragon has been sitting for a while. Utterly exhausted, she briefly opens her eyes, just a crack to look at us. She doesn’t react to us, even though humans are perceived as threatening.

In our lives, an ordinary day often turns into an adventure, especially when we are together. This was obvious to both of us from the start. Falling in love only made our experiences more cherished.

"Thank you, Mia. I'm going to go take a look. Stay here with Mommy." Elliot leans over to kiss Mia on the forehead, then walks to the dragon to assess the damage. He kneels next to her and takes out his phone.

“Mommy, wagon?” asks Mia.

“I know, honey, it’s always sad to see dragons hurt,” I say as I lift Mia and put her on my hip.

"...with significant blood loss and a torn wing. We're going to need a gurney truck for her," I hear him say as he returns to us. "Great, see you soon." Elliot hangs up the phone and puts it back in his pocket.

“Wow, the tourniquet did a lot of damage. Where do you think it came from?” I asked Elliot.

“She must have escaped from the Glooner farm. There's not quite enough evidence to press charges. Unfortunately, circumstances are difficult, but the tourniquet gives us a path to follow. It's not a custom fit, and it looks like they tried to reuse an old one. I'm glad we found her; the chip in the tourniquet may not be active, but we can still trace it.”

Dragon breeding has remained lucrative for decades and poses severe penalties to those convicted. Dragons are held captive in caves for blood collection, and then the blood is sold on the underground market for a lot of different things. This is the first time Mia and I have ever been in the presence of a dragon.

“Stan is on his way. We are about a tenth of a mile from the trailhead, so we can get the truck back here if necessary." He has so much passion for life. We both do, and this is what ultimately drew me to him in such an authentic way I knew I would never let him go.

On the day we met years ago, upon returning to the trailhead parking, I was greeted with a flat tire. I was putting the spare on as he pulled into the lot and was too focused on getting the wheel on the hub to notice he came up behind me. When he asked if I needed help, I politely thanked him without looking at him and confirmed I had everything under control.

Little did I know he had already been watching me struggle with the spare. Our eyes met when he offered to put the flat in my trunk, and I accepted his help, if for nothing else than to create an opportunity to flirt. Our connection was instant and mutual.

"I haven't seen you around before. Are you visiting?" He asked me.

"I just moved into Cedar Hill," I responded.

"Welcome to Celewood. How do you like this trail?"

"I like it. It's a great distance for a loop and has great ground cover. How long have you been working as a Ranger?"

"I just started my tenth year," he said as he put the flat in my trunk.

"Thank you for getting that in the trunk. I have time to do one more loop. Do you want to take a walk and tell me about the area?" I asked.

"I would love to," he agreed, "I rarely get invites from such beautiful women."

"Thank you," I said, blushing and scanning his tattoos. "I'd love to hear about your tattoos, too."

Things moved quickly once we met. I learned his passion for dragon welfare; the connection was flawless. We both knew it was meant to be.

He’s been a ranger since his twenties and started working in this area after college. He discovered a few smaller caves and gained experience taking them down on rescue crews. It’s emotionally and physically exhausting work, and he appreciates it for what it is. Things we dedicate ourselves to are often driven by a pure passion that becomes a labor of love.

We were married about six months after he got promoted to Sergeant. When he took down three small caves in less than a year, the local newspaper ran an article on him, which went national. This resulted in recruitment calls, but Elliot wasn’t interested. When the head of the Fettesh River department called, he knew this position was a whole new level. He wasn’t even sure what to think of it, but we discussed it and knew it was something we couldn't pass up.

Fettesh River is well-known for its beautiful scenery and challenging mountain trails, so we jumped at the opportunity when he was offered the promotion, even if it required relocation. He hadn’t been looking for a job change. We were in the process of putting down more roots in his hometown.

I became pregnant after being married for a few years, and we knew it was time to start considering moving into a house. We were in the middle of looking for one locally and even made a few offers when Fettesh River called. Since the market was hot and cash offers were coming in well over the asking price, bidding wars became another challenge in the search for the perfect house. It became serendipitous when we realized Fettesh River's housing market was much more what we had in mind. We found exactly what we were looking for, and almost overnight. Everything was falling into place.

Fettesh River is also the host of one of the world’s largest collections of caves, the Glooner bloodline. The investigation has been open for years, and Elliot’s knowledge of the criminal process was extensive, having fought for the safety and protection of dragons for so long. This made him a desirable candidate for the position they were looking to fill.

Mia pointed to the tourniquet on the dragon's wing and looked at me, hoping for an explanation. “That is called a tourniquet. The dragon is hurt badly,” I replied softly.

A wounded dragon in the wild typically means it either escaped a cave or has been discarded because it no longer produces usable blood. This puts them in such a vulnerable place even the rangers sometimes need a dragon health expert to assess the next steps.

“Do you want to stick around until we get her on the truck, or would you rather go home with Mia?"

I never want to leave him. His kindness and passion for dragon work are a huge turn-on for me. As a family, we prioritize hiking once weekly as a small break from our day. Having a toddler makes it challenging to meet the goal every week while also making it more critical. We always make sure to prioritize one another and our mental health.

“If you’re sure you’ve got this, we will go home. There is a little bit I need to catch up on.”

He takes me into his arms and slips the keys to the truck into my hand while grabbing my butt and kissing me. “I’ll be home soon. It should go smoothly.”

I run my hand down his tattoo sleeve to silently remind him how sexy he is. “Mmmmm, I want you to take me on the bathroom counter tonight.”

“You got it. I'm getting hard just thinking about it. You're wearing my favorite red thong today,” he agrees as he adjusts his pants. I feel his beard on my neck as he gives me a playful nibble.

I cup his dick with my hand and feel his partial erection. "I want to suck on it," I whisper in his ear.

"I will be home as soon as I can. Stan just pulled in," he said, looking over my shoulder.

We release our grip on each other and turn to face Stan approaching in the leading gurney truck. He is already off-site and, luckily, on the east side of the valley, so his drive to the Canary trailhead takes him only a few minutes.

"Hi, Stan! Nice to see you. How's your new grandson doing?" I ask.

"Hey, Hazel, he's doing great! The delivery went well. Iris is recovering wonderfully, and Ella loves having a little brother. I hear Mia is learning the alphabet." Stan kneels on the ground and offers his fist to Mia. "Nice work! Can I get a fist bump?" asks Stan. Mia reaches out her tiny fist, makes contact, and Stan mimics a miniature explosion by opening his hand.

I got Mia into the truck, and we started home. This afternoon will be busy, and I need to get started to stay on schedule. I saw them disappear into the canopy from the rearview as I pulled out of the parking lot.

“How far in is she?” asked Stan.

“About a tenth of a mile. She may have escaped the Glooner Farm because she still wears a tourniquet. Any further updates on the Glooner Farm?”

"There was a last rescue on Hummingbird about a month ago, and he is in recovery and will probably be there for a while. We are so close to shutting this thing down. The tourniquet may give us the evidence we need,” explains Stan.

Pushing into the forest with the truck is not ideal, and it is best if they can avoid it. Getting the dragon to the truck using the fabric gurney is best for everyone, and standards like this keep the trails as well-kept as they are.

Tourniquets can be traced with surprising accuracy. Some chips can be tracked for almost a decade if they stay active. Dragon tourniquets must be custom-fit, and some breeders have unregistered machines on site.

As they approach the curve in the trail, Elliot sees the puddle of blood from where she had been sitting, and a trail of blood follows her as she slowly attempts to get away. She is moaning loudly and seems to be unwilling to settle down.

“C’mon girl, we are here to help you.”

She turned to look Elliot in the eyes and let out a fiery groan, charring the tree she fell onto from exhaustion. She falls directly on the tourniquet, causing it to tare completely through her wing. She was down. Blood begins spurting out of her wing as she surrenders to the pain.

“We need the truck. Take the keys. I am going to stop the bleeding,” Stan told Elliot as he handed him the keys to the truck.

Elliot runs back to the trailhead lot and hops in the truck. He is relieved when he sees Stan has one unopened emergency kit remaining. Stan is the Captian of Fettesh River Rescue and has the best truck on the road. Elliot gets a little too excited about driving it because this is how he envisions his future.

He hears the moans from quite a distance. There is so much blood and a small fire on the branch above the dragon’s head. Next to the outstretched dragon’s tail sits two dragon eggs. Stan cradles another on its way out.

“Call Naomi This is going to be a big delivery. We need to get these into the lab ASAP,” says Stan.

Elliot brings the kit to Stan and sets it on the ground beside him. “Oh wow, I didn’t realize she was pregnant," Elliot says as he calls Nadia. "Hey there, are you available to come to Canary? We have a dragon in labor, currently delivering its third egg, and she’s severely wounded."

The eggs continue coming, and six eventually make it out. Stan can stop the bleeding on the wing just long enough for her to finish the delivery, then the bleeding starts up again. With the kit, it is easy for him to get the bleeding under control.

Just as Stan stops the bleeding from the puncture, Naomi arrives with a small crew carrying gurneys. She lifts the blanket to look at the eggs.

“What happened to our girl here?” asks Naomi.

“Our best guess is she escaped from the valley. This may be enough evidence to press charges. We'll see what the chief says,” Stan replies.

Naomi cleans and inspects the eggs, and the crew carefully places each in a rigid box. She walks over to the dragon and starts taking vitals. “This tear is rough; this is going to be permanent damage. We have a room open in the south building. I can’t get the tourniquet open. She is ready to be put on the truck gurney. You boys got this?”

“Yes, ma’am, we sure do,” assures Stan. When the crew gets the eggs boxed up, they are placed on the gurneys and returned to the van.

“Thanks, Noami!” They turn to each other, nod, and start sliding the rails of the mobile gurney out of the pickup bed. They carefully get the dragon on the truck.

“I can’t remember which call it was, but a rescue on Dove was pregnant too. What’s happening to these dragons is awful. We think most of the caves are below Owl in the valley. There are a couple of new ones this month alone. They are enslaving the dragons to dig their own caves,” says Stan.

“How long have they been operating? Any way to know?” Elliot asks.

“I would say at least three generations, if not more. We will take it day by day, you know?” replies Stan.

“That’s the best we can do,” Elliot empathizes.

They get in the truck, and Stan begins the trek to the south building, planning to drop Elliot off at home on the way there. “Have I ever told you about my first delivery?” asks Stan.

“I don't think so,” replies Elliot.

“Back in Taylor Valley, we used four-wheelers in the plains around the mountains, and they could handle the terrain on a few of the smaller mountains. One night, a call came in for a rescue on the smallest mountain on a stormy night. I had just gassed up the four-wheelers and closed the overhead because it was raining so hard that it started coming in. It was my first week on the job, just out of college, and I had never been on a nightcall. The Captian asked if I was comfortable taking the call, and naively, I said yes, hoping to impress him. I hopped on a four-wheeler and screamed out of the building at Mach 4. I was staring at my GPS when I realized I was headed right for the electric fence. I tried to stop, but my brakes locked, and I took out the fence while rounding 180 in a skid."

"Whaaaaaa?" Elliot said, barely able to breathe from laughing.

"As I crashed through the fence, it caught my shoulders and pulled me off the four-wheeler. I climbed back on and continued to the rescue. She couldn’t walk, so I got her on the gurney in the trailer and started back to the station. I didn't know she was pregnant until she went into labor. I turned around to look at her and went into another skid. She tumbled off the gurney just as she delivered the first egg. I wound up delivering one more egg using my phone light to see, and I had to ride with them in my lap back to the main building. That was my first delivery.”

Taking a breath from laughing, Elliot said smiling, “You have the stories of someone who has lived 100 lives. I really love this job.”

“We’re glad. The whole gang thinks you are an amazing addition to the crew,” compliments Stan. Stan pulls up to the house, and Elliot gets out of the truck.

“Hey man, thanks for the ride. I’ll catch you later.” Elliot says, still chuckling a little.

I am halfway done with a meeting when he gets home, so he decides to shower and clean up. The dough is perfect when my meeting ends and the evening meal prep begins.

Since relocating to this area, we recognize and appreciate all the positive shifts and changes in our marriage, especially once Mia was born. He is a fantastic father and man; I cannot imagine my life without him.

“Look at this dough! You took it out at the perfect time. How is it that you always know?” He nuzzled his face in my hair, cupping my breasts from behind. He started searching for my nipples as he laid his head sideways, inhaling deeply to take me in. I feel him get swollen through his pants again.

I spin around inside his embrace to discover he is shirtless, and I begin finger-combing the hair on his chest, gracing his nipples. I reach down slowly and unbutton his pants as we start kissing. He pulls my tank top off my shoulder, teasing my nipple with his tongue. He lifts me onto the kitchen counter and sucks on them, going back and forth a few times. He grabs both of my breasts and buries his face between them. I am wet with anticipation and let out a moan of pleasure.

Our whole relationship has been like this. There has never been a desire for anyone else. “More tonight, on the bathroom counter, per request,” he whispers to me as he plays with my now wet and hard nipples with his fingers. He licks between my breasts up to my collarbone.

“Mmmmm,” I respond. I pull him close between my legs and bury my nose in his chest to inhale him.

He helps me with my tank top and assists me off the counter. I begin admiring his broad shoulders, and he embraces my face in his hands to give me one final passionate kiss.

As we go upstairs to get Mia up from her nap, His phone suddenly lights up. "Oh, It's Stan. Maybe he has an update."

"Hey Stan, how is she doing?" Elliot answers.

"We got the tourniquet off, and it is in good enough condition to track. I sent the serial number to the state, and they said they would have an answer in the morning. I think this is putting us in a great position. We may be able to move forward with it."

"Awesome, glad to hear it! See you tomorrow," responds Elliot enthusiastically. He hangs up, turns to me, and smiles. "Let's tell Mia the good news."

AdventurefamilyFantasyHumorLove
Like

About the Creator

Carrie Principe

I'm not a writer, I'm a thinker, and my life experiences, healing, and journey have given me a lot to think about.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.