Fiction logo

Catching The Bus

The journey to school

By Joe PattersonPublished 14 days ago Updated 14 days ago 4 min read
6
Catching The Bus
Photo by Maximilian Simson on Unsplash

Evan was rushing to find his house key because the school bus would be arriving down the street in less than one minute. He quickly glanced out of his bedroom window and saw his friends down the street waiting for him and the arrival of the school bus. “I gotta hurry up and find those keys.” Evan thought.

“I’ve got my permission slip for the field trip today and my inhaler for my asthma, but I’m missing the most important ingredient for travel: THE HOUSE KEY. I’ve missed the bud twice already this month and mom dukes said if I missed it a third time then I was gonna get a whoopin so bad that I wouldn’t be able to sit down for month and I know she ain’t bluffin’ because she’s done it before. Another ten seconds had went by and Evan now had less than a minute before the school bus was due to arrive.

Evan ran to his closet door and open it to start digging through the pile of rubble that was his dirty clothes hoping to find his keys. Another ten seconds had went by and Evan’s heart started racing faster. He knew he was running out of time and was now more frantic. “I’m running out of time. I gotta hurry up and find those keys or I’m gonna be laying face down on a hospital bed for the rest of my life. My heart and my butt really can’t handle that kind of agony.”

“I wonder if this kind of pressure is what all the victims being tested in a Saw movie feel like when the clock starts running low on their fates. You know I always thought that was funny when I would binge watch those flicks with my homeboys, but now my whole perspective has changed.” Ten seconds had flown by once again and it seemed like Evan was never gonna find those keys. It was only thirty seconds until it was time for the bus to arrive and Evan suddenly had a thought. “Wait a minute. Yesterday when moms had me help her bring in the groceries I was so exhausted that when I brought in the last bag I didn’t even think to take my key back to the room. I was so mad that I just…threw them on the floor in the living room and stormed back to my room in an tired rage.

Evander quickly raced to the front door right by the living room and when he looked in the direction of the couch across from the TV he saw his keys under the leg of the couch. “THERE YOU GO!!!” He shouted with extreme relief. He quickly knelt down, picked up the keys and made a run for the front door. As Evan made his way outside he closed the front door behind him and made sure it was locked. When he set his sights on the bus stop down the street he saw his bus was now pulling up. He then took off running as fast as he could.

While running toward the bus the wind was hitting Evan so hard that he jokingly thought of himself as the road runner from Looney Toons. In the distance Evan saw his best friend Anthony boarding the bus last. “HURRY UP EVAN!” Anthony screamed in the distance. Evan was getting closer to the bus but realized as soon as Anthony was finished boarding the driver would shut the door and pull off. To buy Evan a few moments Anthony deliberately dropped his notebook on the steps of the bus. “Oops, my bad, let me get that” Anthony exclaimed sarcastically.

Anthony leaned down on the steps to grab his notebook. As he knelt down Evan was coming closer and closer. Seeing him a mere 20 feet from the bus, Anthony quickly picked up his notebook and started toward the back of the bus. Coming up right behind him, Evan finally made it on the bus. He was out of breath and thought he was going to vomit, but he was relieved to have made it on the bus. As the doors closed behind him Evan and Anthony took their seats at the back of the bus. “Thanks for lookin out brotha.” Evan said to Anthony. “No prob Bob.” Anthony concluded.

HumorYoung AdultShort Story
6

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Marie Wilson13 days ago

    Good job - had me on the edge of my seat!

  • Babs Iverson14 days ago

    Fantastic storytelling and loved the happy ending!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Very well written! Great bus picture too!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.