Fiction logo

Captain Rydian and the Human Galactic Unit

Chapter 4

By Lydia BookerPublished 3 years ago 16 min read
Like
Captain Rydian and the Human Galactic Unit
Photo by Brian McGowan on Unsplash

I spotted Mimi outside of the Education Hall and waved to her, "Hey."

She smiled to see me, dressed in more pop-styled pink clothes this time, "Hey, Rydian!"

I walked up to her on the steps, "I'm not late, am I?"

She giggled, something she clearly did often, "Of course not! You're right on time!" She took my hand and hurried me inside, "Come on! We want to get a good seat!" I let her lead as we headed to the same door we were at the day before and she walked us in.

Inside was huge. Like those meeting rooms in college on Earth with the seats set up almost like bleachers heading down to the platform on the floor below. It was pretty impressive. Though, there weren't very many students. No more than five actually.

I followed Mimi down the steps and into the seventh or so row, sitting next to her in the middle. She smiled as she looked down at the platform below. Down below was a large wood desk with a chalkboard behind it, a large bookshelf to one side, and a set up for a projector on the other side. Very neat and teacher-like.

I looked at the other klitons in the class. There was a trio sitting together in the row in front of us off to the left, a purple kliton in the top row, and, to my surprise, Orville in the bottom row. I spoke quietly to Mimi, "I thought classes were decided by your stage."

She nodded with that smile of hers, "They are!"

I pointed to Orville below, who was writing in a notebook, "Then how come he's in the Adolescent class? I thought he was Mature."

She gave a little sigh, "As you may have noticed, not too many klitons in Tintale take classes. Everyone in this class is all we've got. Orville's the only Mature kliton who still takes Adolescent classes, and that's because he really likes the Professor here and feels he deserves more students. Because Orville's so smart and dedicated, he takes both Adolescent classes and Mature classes. He's quite intelligent really."

I watched him as he continued writing, "You don't say. He's also pretty heroic, seeing as he saved me from being hit by a car the other day."

Mimi gasped, not remembering to keep her voice down, "Are you serious!?"

I shushed her as everyone looked at us, "Yes. Please don't shout."

She giggled once again, "Oops, sorry." Then she smiled, "That's so Orville though. He's one of the nicest guys in town. Which is really neat, since most black klitons are dark and quiet." She pointed to a black kliton in the trio below, "Take that one for example. That's Tin the black kliton. Very dark, moody kliton. That's what most black klitons are like."

I found that very interesting. So there were differences between different colored klitons after all. While on Earth it was racist to point out differences between people of different colors, it seemed like klitons naturally had qualities that separated those of different colors. And Mimi didn't seem the racist type, so I think I could safely assume they were common knowledge and both accepted and respected in society. Once more I was coming to admire the klitons of Klicta for being above the petty issues on Earth.

She leaned in close and spoke under her breath, "You know what I think? I think that's why Orville matured so early. It was because he proved to be more than just a black kliton. He was Orville, and it showed to anyone he met. It didn't surprise anyone that he matured on the same day he became an Adolescent."

I could tell that was a big deal, only proving my thoughts on the matter, so I smiled, "Cool. His family must be proud."

She shrugged, "I wouldn't know. I'd never met his parents. I've heard his folks are both Seniors. His mom is really weak, so she's in bed almost all the time, and his dad stays home with her."

Then she smiled, looking down at Orville, "But Orville's always happy and he does a lot, so I think his folks are very encouraging. They say his dad stays home with Orville's mom so Orville can focus on his studies, classes, and his new job. Because he's so smart, he managed to get a really great job in the mayor's office, which was a dream of his. So, I think his parents, who became Seniors while Orville was still an infant, try not to get in his way by looking out for each other and encouraging him to keep going."

I found that very interesting, "He sounds very lucky to have a family like that."

She nodded with a smile, "I think so too."

Then I thought about something, "What about you? What's your story?"

She looked surprised, then smiled as she thought about it, "Well, I live with my mom and grandmother, on dad's side, and we own a bakery! Well, I own a bakery. They help me run it. It used to belong to a Senior before and I worked for her. She was pretty slow, so I had a lot to do to help her out. Most girls wouldn't waste their time, especially not at such a low pay, but I stuck it out, and it paid off. She left the bakery to me in her will when she passed away. She appreciated my hard work so much that she trusted only me to run it after she was gone! So, I've been running it ever since! It's actually even more successful now!"

She really was a lot like my friend from growing up, even in her work ethic, "That's pretty neat, Mimi. I'm glad to see I've made friends with someone so determined and dedicated. That's hard to find sometimes, especially in a pretty young kliton like you."

She giggled, blushing deeper, "Oh stop, you're making me blush, Rydian!" then she turned to me, "And what about you? What's your story?"

Figures it would turn around on me. Not that it should have surprised me, seeing as that's how those conversations usually go. Guess I let myself get a little too comfortable. Part of me forgot where I was and what I was doing. Klitons were so much like humans that I tended to forget they weren't.

I felt pretty worried as I tried to come up with a backstory on the spot, "Uh, well..."

"Good morning, class." I sighed with relief. Saved by the bell.

Everyone turned their attention to the white kliton man who walked in. He certainly looked like a professor with his neatly combed white hair, his stern grey eyes behind a pair of grey glasses, his pointed goatee and thin mustache, and his neat dark grey suit. He walked tall to the desk and turned to us, "Sorry I'm late. We teachers were having a meeting and forgot to charge the clock in the meeting room."

He crossed his arms behind his back, "I've also learned that we have a new student today. Please stand, Mister Rydian."

I couldn't help the little nervous gulp as I stood up, "Uh, hi." Everyone's eyes were on me, which made this feel very awkward. I'd never actually been to a school before, so this was entirely new to me.

I was glad the professor did the talking, "Welcome, Mister Rydian. I am Professor Nick. Everyone else, please introduce yourselves."

Mimi giggled, "You already know me, obviously!"

Orville smiled as he looked up at me, "We've met before, I recall."

I nodded, scratching behind my head as I tried not to think about how nervous I actually felt, "Yeah, you did save me from getting run over the other day. Thanks again for that." A few of the other students muttered over that.

The male purple kliton spoke from behind us, "I'm Vern." Vern had a deep voice, very light purple skin, amethyst eyes, and purple hair in a style where the ends were flipped outward.

One of the klitons in the trio was a brown kliton girl who reminded me of Vanessa. She spoke as she licked a long red, twisted stick in her hand, which seemed to look like a kind of candy, "Hey, I'm Eden." She was the first kliton I didn't see with spiked hair.

The kliton next to her was another girl, except she was a grey kliton. Her grey eyes were as dull as her expression. Definitely a goth. She sighed, sounding bored with these introductions, "Name's Cate. This is my boyfriend, Tin."

Tin was the black kliton Mimi pointed out earlier. His face was almost hidden by his hair actually, only showing part of the scar across his face and his one dull black eye. Another goth.

Professor Nick spoke up once everyone was introduced, "We all look out for each other here. If you ever have a problem, look to any of us. We consider ourselves a bit of a family in my class."

I finally sat down, "Well, I'll need all the help I can get."

Professor Nick looked over a paper, "Yes, it does seem that way. Handicap hearing, can't read or write, and... colorblind?"

I cleared my throat, "Can't see all colors sometimes. Like my neckerchief is red, but I can't tell by looking at it. Someone had to tell me."

I was a bit surprised when Tin spoke, his voice very monotone, "How come it didn't change color?"

I shrugged, using the same excuse I used with Rubi, "No clue. I found it, kept it, and then, years later, someone finally tells me it's actually red."

Professor Nick smiled, looking pretty friendly, "Well, we'll do what we can to help you learn. I'll assign someone to give you writing lessons outside of class."

Mimi quickly raised her hand, "Oh, oh, I'll do it! Please? We're study buddies now, so I could help him!"

Professor Nick could see her enthusiasm, "Sure, if you want to. Orville can help, if he can spare the time."

Orville chuckled, "I'm not that busy, Professor. I can help out if they need it. Though, I'm sure Mimi will do just fine on her own. She's pretty clever."

Mimi giggled as her cheeks went pink... -er, "Aw, stop."

Professor Nick cleared his throat, "Alright, onto today's lesson. We will be learning about the history of the Dixone language for Rydian's sake. Perhaps it will enlighten him in his learning to read and write." So the lesson began.

I listened to everything, but also kept my recorder pen on. I figured it could retain more than I would. After all, I was collecting data for the S.T.S.

The class went on for an hour, then I stayed for the next class, then the next. I was there until it went dark outside at the tenth dot. Three hours of learning about the history of Dixone, then the founding of Tintale Town, then the battle that took place in Tintale fifty-eight years ago, a few years before the town was founded. It gave me a pretty good understanding of how Klicta worked and even a bit about its government. I knew it was all very useful information.

By the end of the third lesson, Orville, Eden, and I were the only ones left. Mimi had to leave after the first lesson to get to her bakery, Vern had stuff to go do, and the other two apparently had a date to get to. So, it was just the three of us and the Professor.

Professor Nick spoke as we started getting ready to leave, "Thank you all for coming today." He walked up the steps to me as I left my seat, "And thank you for joining us, Mister Rydian."

I stuffed my hands in my pockets as the others left the room, "Oh, it was nothing. I like to learn."

The professor crossed his arms behind his back, looking curious, "I'm assuming you suffer from a learning disability?"

I nodded as we climbed the steps, "So it seems. Pretty embarrassing really."

He smiled as we walked out of the classroom and he locked the door, "Nonsense. There's nothing to be embarrassed about. You are a special Adolescent. One day, you'll mature and won't have to worry about that disability anymore."

I shrugged as we walked outside, "I guess, but who knows when that will be. I saw there was an Education Hall here and decided to try learning myself. Like I said before, I like to learn."

He watched passing klitons finishing up their work for the day, "Well, I'm glad you did. There aren't enough Adolescents like you in Tintale. They don't think there's a point. That it's all just ancient history." He looked at me, "But you stayed for three whole lessons on your first day. Clearly you don't agree."

I thought about something inspiring a friend of mine once said years ago, "All information is important. It's there for a reason. If we don't carry on the tales of the past, who will?"

The professor laughed and patted my shoulder, "Wise words, brown kliton. Very wise indeed."

He sighed as he looked at the darkening sky, "I had better head home. My daughter will be wondering where I am. See you tomorrow I hope, Mister Rydian." He started off.

I smiled as I watched him go, "Sure. I'll be here." Once he was out of sight, I turned the corner and headed off my own way.

I found myself very impressed by Klicta. It was strange and new, yet so much like Earth. I was really starting to enjoy this mission.

Suddenly, someone ran into me from behind. I fell on my front and someone else fell on top of me. I groaned as I tried to see who was on top of me, "Ow, be careful."

"Sorry about that." Uh oh. I knew that voice.

I turned to see Rubi was the one who ran into me. Orville hurried over as Rubi climbed off of me, "You ok, Rubi?"

Rubi saw me and looked a bit annoyed, "Oh, it's you. I didn't..." Then he gasped. I knew something was wrong. That's when I noticed something on the ground. Something that made my heart stop.

It was one of my eye contacts.

I turned away, snatching it up quickly. I hoped he couldn't see my real eye color well enough in the dark, "Uh, I gotta go. See ya." I quickly got to my feet and hurried off.

But, of course, Rubi wasn't having it, "Hey, wait a minute! Come back here!" He hurried after me and I ran for it.

Orville saw this and ran after us, "Rubi, wait!"

I ran as fast as I could down the sidewalk and out of the square. I knew that if they got a good look, they would see my green eye and know something was up. My secret was done if that happened.

I ran down a new street as I looked at my watch, "Vanessa! Vanessa, can you hear me?"

The face of the watch lifted to reveal a small screen. Vanessa appeared, looking worried by my tone, "What's wrong, Captain?"

I groaned, annoyed with myself "I kind of messed up. That kid Rubi knocked my contact out and now he's after me. He knows something's up. I need to lose him, and fast. Any ideas?"

She smiled, "I've got you on GPS and I can see exactly where you are. If you make the next turn, there will be a manhole. You're about seven seconds ahead of them, meaning five seconds to get down there before they see you."

I nodded, "Got it." I made the turn and saw the manhole. Vanessa counted the seconds as I pulled up the cover and dropped in.

Though, the moment the cover went down and I was in darkness, my foot slipped on the slick ladder rung and I fell. I only fell a couple seconds before I hit water. It took a bit, but I managed to find the floor and stand so I could breathe. As I caught my breath, the water reaching under my chest, I heard running above and Orville calling after Rubi.

I sighed, greatly relieved, as they kept going, "Thanks, Vanessa. I lost them." I looked at the watch, which was luckily water-proof.

She smiled up at me, "Glad I could help. If you head out towards the park, you can take the long way back to base while they head back this way to find you. They're sure to realize you're not ahead of them and come back, so you'd better hurry, sir."

I sighed as I climbed the ladder, careful not to slip, "Understood. I'll see you at base." I climbed out as the watch returned to normal. Luckily, no one was around once I was outside. I hurried off towards the park at the edge of town and made my way to the house. I was grateful not to run into any klitons on the way, seeing as I was now soaked from head to toe.

I couldn't help but feel a little concerned. That was awfully close. Something as small as getting bumped nearly got me caught. I had to be more careful than I thought. Especially with someone as troublesome as Rubi. I was going to have to watch my back with that kid. Maybe this wasn't going to be so easy after all.

When I got back, I called into the house, "Hey, I'm back."

Vanessa appeared on the TV, looking concerned, "Sir, there is something you need to see."

I could see right away it was serious, "What's wrong, Vanessa?"

She looked pretty worried as she answered, "You received a transmission from the Commander. It came with a rescue pod."

I can't really put how I felt at that moment into words. A transmission from the Commander was one thing, but with a rescue pod? I was surprised and worried at the same time. Rescue pods only ever meant one thing, "Play it."

She disappeared and the Commander appeared in a recorded message, "Greetings, Captain Rydian. I really hope you get this message." I noted how she looked a little distressed, "Let me get straight to the point. You see, there was a mistake in your mission objective. You were sent to the wrong planet. You were sent to one of the most dangerous planets in that galaxy! Planet Klicta is a forbidden planet. If they discover you, which is highly likely because of their evolutionary stage, they will kill you. No questions about it." Yeah, that's the kind of message expected to arrive with a rescue pod, yet I was still speechless.

She continued, "I am sending you a rescue pod to bring you safely back to Earth before they can discover you. I will not have a new Captain killed over a mistake. I want you to return immediately. The pod will launch your ship and return it directly to Earth. Please do not waste a single moment."

She looked serious, "You are being pulled out, Captain Rydian. Over and out." Then she was gone.

Vanessa appeared in her place, "What do you think, Captain?"

I managed to overcome my surprise and focus, "Honestly, I'm not sure how to think or feel about this." I turned to her, "But, we were ordered to pull out, so that's what we will do. Find Alphonse while I get the ship launch ready." I turned and headed up to the roof.

Once I was there, I saw the pod, which was a floating machine with long arms that made it look more like a mechanical flying squid. I went into the ship and started it up, which made the pod attach its arms to the ship. Then the pod started programming the ship and even started a countdown to launch. Three minutes and counting.

Vanessa appeared on one of the screens, worried, "Sir, I've found Alphonse, but he's unconscious in the bedroom downstairs. He won't answer me."

I understood, "I'll get him. You make sure the ship doesn't leave."

She gave a salute as I hurried off, "Yes, sir!"

I ran down the stairs, almost tripping down them, and ran into the first bedroom to find Alphonse on the floor. I went down next to him, trying to shake him awake, "Alphonse! Wake up, Alphonse!"

He finally stirred and opened his eyes, "Sir?" He sat up, looking dazed and confused, "What happened? What's going on?"

I helped him to his feet, "No time. We need to get to the ship before..."

Suddenly, we heard a sound that made us gasp, "Oh no." We ran out and up the stairs.

We came out on the roof to see the ship shooting into the sky. I was shocked, "No way. We still had a minute left! What the heck happened!?"

Then Vanessa appeared on my watch. She looked distressed, "I did everything I could to stop it, sir, but my attempts to stop the launch were overridden. For some reason, the countdown was skipped and it took off. I just managed to get back before I was completely out of range of the technology of Klicta." She sighed sadly, "I'm so sorry, Captain."

Alphonse looked worried, "So then... we're..."

I watched the sky, "Yes, Alphonse." I sighed, knowing only too well what this meant, "We've been stranded."

On Earth in the Galactic Armada, General Terron was watching the screen in her office. She watched me run out of my ship from a camera inside as the countdown started. She looked torn as she looked down at the red button.

She looked at the gold ring on her finger and sighed sadly. Finally, she pushed the button and immediately, the ship countdown stopped and the take off began. She could hear Vanessa trying to stop the launch, but General Terron hit another couple buttons, causing an override, keeping the launch from being stopped. Soon, the ship took off.

She sighed, speaking softly, "I'm sorry." She looked at her ring, "But I can't let them find out what he did."

She turned and walked out, letting everything shut down, "As his wife, I have to protect him. No matter the cost."

Series
Like

About the Creator

Lydia Booker

Just someone here to tell a story. A story of another world, of new people and places, of adventures beyond imagination.

Are you ready to hear them?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.