Fiction logo

Can You Imagine?

An Adventure of a Child's Mind

By Becky ArthursPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Here I go, I tighten my laces, pull my coat closer to my body and tug my hat down tight. I look up at the mountain above me, it is so cold! I am ready for this adventure! Spot barks at my ankles also excited for the adventure, I never go anywhere without Spot! He is my companion, my sidekick, my best friend!

"Let's go spot!" I call out, my voice sounds funny in my ears, like its far away. Must be the wind!

I start climbing and climbing, the cold nipping at my skin. I keep running faster and faster the cold wind whipping my cheeks as I go further and further.

Then, I see smoke in the distance! As I climb closer to it I see a small cabin, warm fire burns in it's windows and fills my heart with warmth. I run towards it, but the more I run the further it seems to get! I am so cold now I can feel myself slowing down. Spot is barking at my feet, he must be cold too! I scoop him up and place him in my jacket and when I look back up the warm house is gone! Oh well, back to climbing I can see the peak now!

I start climbing again and that is when I hear noises around me. I look and see little gnomes! Little gnomes everywhere, climbing and calling out.

"Pull, Pull, Pull" Like a little chant as they all climb up the rough side of the mountain on rope, working together to pull themselves up!

I laugh and wave as Spot and I pass them. They wave back while continuing their chant. Then we hear giggling and look up to see fairies in little hats and mittens flying around out heads. I jump and try to catch one but they stay out of reach. They taunt me as I try to catch them.

"Come on, come on!" I laugh and run past them.

Then I see the best thing yet, at the top of the mountain, a fire breathing dragon! Can you imagine? A dragon on a mountain. I run and run as hard as I can, but I am getting very tired. Finally, I reach the peak and fall down in the snow next to the dragons head. It leans down and places its cheek next to mine, warm like a big palm caressing my cold cheek. Just then it straightens going up and up and up until it is towering over me. The last thing I remember is fire, warming me all over before everything goes dark.

--

"No, No, NO!" A dad crouched over a child's small figure.

It is dark, the cold murky water soaks through him as he kneels on the frozen over pond. He thrusts his hands again and again into the little chest below him, moving it up and down, using every ounce of energy to try and hurtle his own warmth into a small, still heart. He then throws himself down, locking his mouth to his child's and trying to fill the little lungs with air.

The sounds in the background are of a mother sobbing, holding a brother who is wet and shivering, an ambulance somewhere in the distance. A small dog barking and trying to wriggle out of the older boys arms, he holds on tight.

A brother who tried to run out and reach his smaller sibling. Who slipped and slid on the ice before turning and running back to his mother's safe arms. Grabbing his dog before Spot followed the other brother further onto the pond.

Two little boys ran out ahead of their parents onto a frozen pond, ready for an adventure. Across the lake and up the mountain peak ahead, they ran before their parents could stop them. Running with childish glee. A thawing pond, their giggles drowning out their parents cries. One boy stopped, turned and listened the other ran on, cracking ice beneath his feet until he fell and slipped down into the cold. Into an adventure of his own mind. One with gnomes, and fairies and fire breathing dragons. While his mother yelled at his father to pull him out and his father screamed at him to come on and breathe.

A boy whos head was full of adventure, laying blue in a father's arms.

family
Like

About the Creator

Becky Arthurs

Fiction, Fantasy, Magic and Myth

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.