Fiction logo

Call Me The Unholy One

Soul Exchange - The Devil May Care

By CyCyPublished 10 months ago 11 min read
2
Cover/Logo is designed by me by using Canva Pro

Synopsis:

All humans received a Guardian Angel and a Guardian Demon. After awakening in Hell, we could choose between rehabilitation or becoming a Guardian Demon.

I chose the latter, gambling on a better life in Hell.

Read the first chapter here

Psst...you are currently reading Chapter Five. Start from the first chapter here.

Previously on I Got A Blank Space For You - The Devil May Care Chapter Four...

Read the Fourth Issue of Devil May Care: I Got A Blank Space For You here

---

Disclosure: Please note that if you choose to click on a link and make a purchase, I may receive cash compensation. Rest assured that I only recommend products that I personally find helpful or enjoyable, and that I believe may also be of interest to you. Click here to find out who I am currently partnered with and affiliated with.

Discover high-performance productivity and security tools with Microsoft 365. Follow the link to learn more.

Disclaimer: Contains mature content. This is a paranormal romance.

Trigger warning: This chapter includes and/or implies sex, death, and violence. Please note that every thing here is FICTIONAL and in no way does it glorify or promote these themes.

READER DISCRESTION IS HIGHLY ADVISED.

Chapter Five: Call Me The Unholy One

“Don’t leave, please.” He sobbed as he gripped my hand. “Please don’t leave me. Please.”

My eyes fluttered open. Before I could recognize him, my alarm blared loudly in my left ear.

I shot up and threw the alarm clock across the room which earned me silence after a loud thud. Cold sweat beaded down my back which meant that my freshly laundered sheets were due for another wash yet again.

F*ck, I cursed under my breath. I always hated those dreams. They always made me feel too human. Too out of control. And if there was something I hated the most, it was that. I took a deep breath and screamed into a pillow before I decided that it was time to get ready for the day. It didn’t take long before I got into the human routine and although many humans hated it, I found it somewhat refreshing.

Yet then again, I came from Hell. Everything was paradise compared to that place.

I was also looking forward to seeing Hunter, the human. The human who smiled warmly every time I gave him a cup of coffee or whenever I correctly guessed the song of the day. The human who spoke passionately about his project no matter how exhausted it made him. That same human I was supposed to drag to hell.

I still have not had the chance to investigate the journal files, and no matter how many excuses I made, I knew it was because I was too much of a coward to see what was inside. I would much rather let my imagination run wild and sprinkle more chaos into Hunter’s life instead.

When I got out of the shower, Sorath was sitting at the edge of my bed, already dressed for the day. He eyed me appreciatively before he brought back his professional mask.

“We need to talk,” he began, and I rolled my eyes. Deciding to ignore him, I went to my walk-in closet and got dressed. This had become the new normal for us since Sorath never really cared about privacy and using him as my source of nourishment prevented me from sinking my teeth into Hunter or anyone else.

I ground my teeth and scolded myself for even thinking about it. Ever since I came here to the Mundane World, I have been receiving modules from the Underworld. All thanks to Eliza. So many rules.

Rules that never mattered when I was in Hell.

“Does it involve you looking at me while I am naked?” I casually pointed out and he smirked. That God damn smirk. I hated to admit it. Even though our friendly relationship was mostly physical, a human part of me―no matter how small it was, longed for a better connection.

“It doesn’t hurt,” he continued. “Anyhow, I want to talk to you about Hunter.”

“Uh-huh,” I prompted as I put on the undergarments, opting for the red lace. My heart skipped a beat, and I hoped that his incredibly sharp ears did not pick it up. Hunter interested me, nothing more. I was a demon and last time I checked, I was allowed to lust. Or so, I kept telling myself. “What about him?”

“You do understand what his research is about right?”

I took a deep breath, relieved that I was not going to be scolded today. The last thing I wanted was to get sent back to the Underworld with nothing in my name.

“Cancer research,” I responded. “Everyone knows that.”

Sorath zipped my dress up and his fingers lingered around my neck. “No, it’s immortality.”

My brows furrowed as we stared at each other in my mirror. “Why would Lux et Obscurum waste their resources on something that we already have?”

“It’s research to make humans immortal on their own. Without turning into a Warlock, a Vampyre, a Werewolf, or Fae,” Sorath continued.

“But why?” I turned to face him, and his eyes darkened.

“Because it is an impossible task.” He laughed. “It’s politics, my dear. The Human Council wants immortality and what better way to keep them compliant other than dangling what they want the most? Imagine Immortality without having the allergies that Vampyres, Werewolves, or the Fae have? Imagine invincibility like we, Celestials, have?”

Before I could say anything else, his hand went up the skirt of my dress as his mouth met mine. His fingers dug into my thighs, summoning self-control, but I enjoyed how he tasted so I tugged on his tie to draw him in closer. I was sure there was a human rule about not sleeping with your colleague―especially if it was your boss, but I was a Demon, and it was highly encouraged for us to sway the Angels.

Not like I was doing much swaying when it came to him.

Plus, this way, I didn’t have to eat more humans. Or Hunter.

He carried me back to my bed and pinned both of my wrists above my head while his other hand brushed closer toward a more intimate area. He pulled away as his grey stormy eyes held mine.

“This is a terrible idea,” he said in a low voice. “I don’t even know why I agreed to this.”

“When are you ever worried about doing terrible things?” I crooned. “From how you were explaining your plans, it seems to me that you, Angels, were just as terrible as Demons. Or much worse.”

I was hoping that I have hit a nerve, but it did the opposite. He looked far too smug about it, and it made me question my purpose. What was the need for having the Demons when the Angels were already doing a phenomenal job of causing chaos?

As if he had heard my thoughts out loud, he leaned in and whispered, “Worried that I have taken your job? Don’t worry, I won’t. In fact, I’ll even give you a beautiful recommendation letter to the Underworld.”

“You a**hole―” but before I could continue, his fangs sank into my neck, and I gasped in shock. A hiss came out of my gritted teeth as I felt him sort through my thoughts and silence the voices of those I have devoured in the past. It was frowned upon for Angels to devour souls, but it didn’t stop them from tasting. After all, bloodletting was the easiest way to get energy.

And it was often pleasurable to both parties.

My toes curled as I felt his other hand move. I wanted to curse him, but I was too focused on keeping myself silent and keeping my breaths even.

“Enough, you’ll make me―” I said out as my eyes squeezed shut. I panted as I felt more urgency that pooled below. I struggled against him as my hips synchronized with his rhythm. It wasn’t long before I cried out his name, and him gripping my wrists tighter.

When he pulled away, he guided me to his neck. My teeth sank into his neck as his angelic ichor burned its way down my throat.

I have heard that angelic ichor was addictive and provided more power than any blood could. But even as I felt my majick grow, so did a secret wish of mine.

***

Eve, these are the rules that you must know and adhere to. They are all non-negotiable and if you violate any of them, please know that I cannot save you.

No one, absolutely no one, is above the laws.- Eliza

Rule number 1:

Do not fall in love with your human.

You may seduce them. You may befriend them. And anyone who violates this law is sentenced to destruction.

This law is applied to all Immortals.

---

Rule number 2:

You do not directly kill your human.

You can influence them but killing them without approval or a solid ground for doing so, will have you locked up in Tartarus for an indefinite time.

---

Rule number 3:

The Mundane World shall not know about the existence of the Immortals. There are select humans who are on a need-to-know basis.

However, it is our collective duty to keep our existence a secret for the sake of peace and maintaining balance.

Anyone who violates this rule is subjected to disciplinary action. The severity of the punishment is decided by the Celestial Council.

---

Rule number 4:

Only select Immortals are granted access to interdimensional travel.

Anyone who tries to violate this law shall be subjected to immediate destruction.

---

Rule number 5:  

Do not interfere with free will. You may influence it, but you cannot directly interfere with it.

A canon event must not be interfered with. Any interference would result in chaos.

Anyone who violates this law is sentenced to destruction.

---

Rule number 6:

Do not change the timelines.

Any change―no matter how small it is, will cause the threads of Fates to unravel. The Multiverse will fall apart.

Anyone who violates this law is sentenced to destruction.

---

Rule number 7:

Do not bring any human back to life.

Their death is inevitable and has been written by the Fates.

Anyone who violates this law is sentenced to destruction.

---

Rule number 8:

You do not fully devour another soul. Whether it was an Immortal soul or not.

Anyone who violates this law is subjected to disciplinary action. The severity of the punishment is decided by the Director(s) or the Celestial Council.

Note: You are pardoned on your first offence since no one has debriefed you yet. I took full responsibility for it. Just don't do it again.

---

Rule number 9:

You do not interfere with the Director(s)’ work.

Their duty is to maintain the balance of this universe. Anyone who tries to violate this law is subjected to disciplinary action. The severity of the punishment is decided by the Celestial Council.

---

Rule number 10:

Do not, no matter what your reasoning is, awaken the Creator.

Waking Them will cause a great reset.

If you do, then make your peace. We are all doomed.

The Creator does not compromise.

You have been warned.

***To be continued***

---

Hi, I'm CyCy!

Thank you for reading. I truly appreciate it!

Note: the chapter name is inspired by Unholy by Sam Smith (feat Kim Petras).

Fun Facts:

  • Eliza is from House of Trials! There are four chapters out that you can read.
Read House of Trials here
Always Listen to the Children
Lux et Obscurum Grimoire

Anyway, other than me fangirling about anime, books, comics, and shows/movies that I watch, I usually create darker content, whether art, video shorts, or stories. If this is something that you also enjoy, let's be friends :)

Speaking of anime, have you seen Chainsaw Man yet?

Chainsaw Man

If not, you're missing out! Click here to see my quick review of it.

Chainsaw Man Pochita Smile 8-Inch Plush

If you are also looking to build a website for your blogs, hobbies, store, or for anything at all, I recommend Bluehost.

Click here to check out Bluehost

If you would like to learn more, read my article: Why Bluehost is Perfect for Novice Website Builders.

Why Bluehost is Perfect for Novice Website Builders

You can connect with me on Instagram, Twitter & TikTok @cyrls_corner and read my Lux et Obscurum issues at https://cyrlscorner.com/short-stories/lux-et-obscurum-grimoire/

P.S. I would truly appreciate your support whether it would be subscribing, sharing this page with your friends, and/or leaving me a tip. If you also want updates on my latest releases, sign up for my newsletter here.

P.P.S. I also offer Beta-Reader services if you are a writer/author and need a Beta-Reader. Check out my Fiverr link here.

LoveSeriesHorrorFantasy
2

About the Creator

CyCy

The Chaotic Creator | Writer, Poet, & Blogger | Multi-Genre | Beta-Reader

Fiverr: @cyrls_corner

Twitter: @cyrls_corner

Website: cyrlscorner.com

Sign up for my Newsletter & get updates on my latest posts by clicking here

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.