Fiction logo

Buzzy Little Bee

The art of deception

By Monika SMITHPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Buzzy Little Bee
Photo by Oktay Yildiz on Unsplash

I happened to be standing under a tree when all of a sudden a bee landed on me. My eyes widened as did my mouth. I wanted to scream but no sound came out. You see. I have always been told that I am highly allergic. I have been hospitalised due to a bee. It hurts many but can almost instantly kill me. I looked down at the bee as he walked up my jacket. Up to my shoulder he walked. Pausing momentarily to give out a little buzz. There he sat on my shoulder. For an hour he did not budge. I felt as though my lungs would explode and I held my breath for moments at a time. Wishing the bee gone but alas he just walked to and fro from my neck to my shoulder. Looking about as if he did not know where to go. I took a breath and said aloud. "Please leave me be. Your presence is not wanted. You happened upon my jacket and I would like you to depart. I don't like your kind." In that instant the bees buzz grew louder. As if he had been offended by the words that tumbled out of my mouth. He began to flap his tiny wings and left my shoulder. I thanked the heavens as my ordeal was now over. But relief soon turned to a prettifying peak. As he landed in my ear and he began to speak. "How dare you speak so cruelly to me. I am lost as can be. I could have perched upon a tree but with the wind at such a gust my legs couldn't grip the leaves. I would have been even more lost if this happened. I saw you standing still and found you to be. A perfect place for me to perch to find out where I was and if I could find my way home for as I said I am lost". I did in fact understand the bees dilemma as it was winter and the gutsiest of weathers had hit our small town blowing trees down. There was no electricity in town. The bee was buzzing loudly in my ear, nothing I could understand but he sounded mad. He crawled from my ear to the tip of my nose. I completely froze. He began to buzz and he began to dance. He wiggled his bum in an almost mesmerising trance. He smiled a smile. For across the mile. I could hear a faint buzzing. The sound of many bees making their way to me. I could not move. I felt as though the earth had swallowed my legs. Off in the horizon I saw them come. So many that they blackened out the sun. As they drew closer a tear I did shed. Why had I not helped the little bee instead. They came at me fast and thick. Covering me from the tip of my head to the tip of my feet. Days passed and still I did not move. The town folk came remarking how brave I was, what a spectacle to see. To see the bees that covered me. They took photos and reported on the news. Of the bravery I had to be covered in the bees. By day four I couldn't take it anymore. I began to cry. The bees scattered from my tears. The sunlight hit my eyes in a blinding surprise. My eyes adjusted and I took the chance. Of opening my mouth slowly. So I could talk. To the bees that had taken over my world. The bees also moved away from my mouth in fear that they would get eaten. I began to speak to the bees that surrounded me. "I am sorry I passed judgement on you. For a mistake someone of your kind made in the past. You're not all responsible for the others' actions. You have not stung me while you have been here. You have done nothing to hurt me while you have. You have been kind and kept me warm. My judgemental ways are all long over. I am sorry. I am sorry. I have learnt from my mistakes. Never again will I be this way." With that the bees fell silent. All of them stopped moving all at once. Then all at once they began to buzz. One by one they lifted off my body. A weight had lifted. Not only by their bodies but in my life a burden had been undone. The last bee to fly from me was my first little friend. He landed upon my nose and this time he bowed to me instead. I watched him fly off into the distance till he disappeared into the sun. I hurried off home with a smile upon my face. The experience was traumatic but I am richer for it.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.