Fiction logo

Burning Season

Flash Fiction recently accepted into the Mosaic Literary Magazine of NSU

By Lena FolkertPublished about a year ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
5
"Burning Season" © Lena Folkert 2023. Created using Wombo Dream Ai

I rubbed my belly and fought the urge to vomit. Roy was late, like usual. It was one of the many reasons my father hated him. I covered my face with my scarf and coughed. The air was thick with smoke and smelled like rotting oysters.

I hate the burning season, when the farmers set fire to the sugarcane, blackening the sky with soot and smoke and coating my lungs like burnt honey.

My heart skipped when the headlights broke through the blackness.

"Where to?" Roy asked as I sunk into the passenger seat of his Mustang.

"Anywhere but here," I mumbled.

"What's wrong?" he asked, his smile quickly fading.

"Nothing. I just don't feel good."

"Oh, right. Oyster smoke?"

I nodded.

"How 'bout the harbor?"

"Perfect." I leaned my seat back and closed my eyes, trying to come up with the right words.

But there were none.

"Better?"

"Yeah," I managed, dangling my legs over the edge of the pier and breathing in the salty air.

He leaned into me, his lips brushing my neck, and his fingers digging into my thigh through my jeans. I shrugged, shaking him away.

"Roy... we have to talk."

His eyes filled with a mixture of hurt, fear, and anger, unsure what was coming.

I sighed, trying once more to find the right words.

"Just say it, Sara," he spat at me after a long silence, assuming I was breaking up with him.

If only it were that simple...

"Roy... I'm late."

Short Story
5

About the Creator

Lena Folkert

Alaskan Grown Freelance Writer 🤍 Lover of Prose

Former Deckhand & Barista 🤍 Always a Pleaser & Eggshell-Walker

Lifelong Animal Lover & Whisperer 🤍 Ever the Student & Seeker

Traveler 🤍 Dreamer 🤍 Wanderer

Happily Lost 🤍 Luckily in Love

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I love all the sensory images and smells and tastes...felt like I was there. Wonderfully written, Lena :)

  • C. Rommial Butlerabout a year ago

    A poignant piece of flash fiction!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Outstanding!!! Loved it!!!💖💖💕

  • I've been there, but it sort of turned out ok. Intense story and great writing, sorry for being first in but was in my notifications before I write my next one

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.