Fiction logo

Bundle of Wonder

When will you go next?

By Christina HolmesPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Bundle of Wonder
Photo by Kelli McClintock on Unsplash

I remember the day this strange box showed up on my porch. I had received several other packages from multiple websites that same day. It had been a sad rainy week and I decided to check out a few of my local businesses which my credit card will be feeling the pinch over the next few months. This box was odd looking because there was no return address and when I picked it up it felt light as air. I remembered shaking the box and thinking maybe it was a tiny ring, that I did not recall buying but again I was in a fugue state while purchasing.

I had left it for a day along with the other boxes on my dining room table. My curiosity got the best on me and I really started looking. It looked like a run of the mill, average, cardboard box used by most major companies for packing items. It wasn’t until I looked at the side of the box that I noticed several numbers grouped together by fours. There were etched lightly all over the box, none could be seen, only felt. I felt smaller numbers, 79 AD, 1940, and one grouping etched slightly deeper than others, 1776. I understood the significance of 1776 and that WWII had been going on in 1940, but 79 AD? I had to look that up. I found that was the year Pompeii was covered in ash. “Hmm,” I thought to myself, “a random empty box shows up with important years inscribed on its body. This is an interesting box.” I finally decided to open it using a sharp pair of scissors as to not disturb that package. When I opened it, it was in fact empty, expect for a small note written on the inside flap. “Its your turn now/Its your time now/What will you do?/When will you go?/What will you be a witness to?/Keep this vessel with you at all times/Do Not allow yourself to be separated” I read and re-read that note about 60 times that night and found myself unable to go to sleep with the possibilities flowing through me. I wanted to travel but hate airplanes so what better way to see the world that this? I wanted to wait until Friday night as I had to go to work the next day but I found myself making lists and preparing for this unknown adventure. When could I go?

Throughout the week I made lists of times that I wanted to travel back to. I found a pen that had an eraser so that I could write the years and remove them from the box later. I packed up a gym bag worth of clothing and a second bag for items I thought I may need and the box itself. As soon as I returned home, I pulled out the box and wrote 2500 BC, the year the pyramids were built. I was so curious to see them take shape. I strapped both of my bags on my back with the box safely in one. I wasn’t sure how things were going to work but I was ready? I opened my front door, turned to close it and it was gone. Just like that I found myself bathed in unimaginable heat and sunlight. I was thirsty immediately but as soon as I had the thought about needing water a bubble appeared around me, shielding me from the harsh heat, blistering winds, and merciless sands. I was able to walk toward the nearest city quickly and without much resistance. I stepped into town, most stopping in their tracks to stare at my odd clothing. My blue jeans, tie dye shirt and black converses were not the rage and I had not anticipated everyone being able to see me. I heard a few whispers in a language unknown to me and tapped my foot in frustration. This bubble made a strange squeak and suddenly I could understand everyone. “Her garments are odd. Do you think she came from the north?” “Her hair is terrible? Who did this to her?” “Was she kidnapped by traders? Where did she come from?” “Her backside looks firm and ripe. I wonder if she is married?” I turned quickly to see who made this last comment but no one was behind me.

I saw a young woman sitting in the sun looking slightly amused by my presence so I walked towards her first. She smiled kindly and I said, “Hello I am looking for the pyramids. Where are they?” I made a triangle shape with my hands to show her what I meant. She looked puzzled but then stood quickly and began walking back out of town. I followed her, for some reason I trusted her judgement. We walked in silence for a few minutes until we were out of site from the other townsfolk. She turned to me sharply and said, “I know who you are. I know how you got here.” “You do?” I asked confused. “Yes,” and she pulled out a similar non descript cardboard box like mine, “I have one too!” My jaw dropped but I immediately recovered. “When are you from?” I asked excitedly. “Oh I’m from 1963! I have been obsessed with the pyramids from years and then this showed up at my door and I couldn’t turn down the opportunity to see them first hand!” I held out my hand for her to shake, “Sunny. Its nice to meet you. I am from 2021 and no there are no flying cars. Yet.” She giggled, “Yes I know, I have been there. Like wise,” she said hand gently holding mine, “Delia, this is going to be fun!”

We sat and watched the architects painfully pour over thousands of pages of papyrus, workers making huge vats of crushed limestone and rocks, and little by little we watched the first few stones of the soon to be Giza pyramids take shape. Night fell and the stars began to litter the sky but we both knew we had no way of surviving the below freezing temperatures so we would have to come back another time. We stood shook hands again and hoped we would meet soon. We pulled out our respective boxes and I wrote the full date on mine and she did the same. I turned around and found that I was back at my front door again. I looked down at this strange artifact and wondered when I could do next.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.