Fiction logo

Bump in the Night

Mystery in the Attic

By Kristin D. WalcottPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 19 min read
1

I never thought I’d be starting over at the age of 56, but here I was. After nine years of marriage, my second husband decided he wanted out. To use his precise words, “I want to do what I want to do without having to consider anyone else.” Ouch! But after I got over the hurt and the anger, I realized I would miss the lifestyle more than the man. So, I got the dog; he got the house; and here I was settling into my new life in a new town.

I loved my new house. It was at the far side of the development and backed up to woods and a pond. The property sloped down in the back so I had a walkout basement with a patio and sliding glass doors. When I was on the top floor in my bedroom I looked right into the treetops. I felt like I was in a treehouse.

It was about 7:15 on a Thursday night. I had spent the last 6 days moving in, cleaning, and getting situated. I was exhausted and didn’t feel like cooking so I ordered Chinese food. I placed a spring roll and some roast pork lo mein on a plate and went to the living room to watch television while I ate. In all my 56 years, this was the first time I had ever lived on my own. A part of me was really excited while another part of me wondered if this was what my future looked like.

Around 8:30 I washed my plate, put the leftover Chinese food in the fridge, and took Luna for her last walk of the day. We didn’t go far–just to the patch of grass in the middle of the cul de sac. She did her business, and we headed back toward the house. When I got to the door, I had this overwhelming sensation of someone or something being near. Immediately, in my head I said, “No, you are not invited.” Then I opened the door, ushered Luna in and locked the door behind me.

I gave Luna her treat and made myself a cup of tea. I was contemplating what had happened outside. What exactly was that? It was definitely an energy I was not comfortable with. I got the sense that it was not just residual negative energy and not the soul of a deceased person. It was something different altogether. I wasn’t frightened, but I was glad I had saged the house right after my closing. I made a note to pick up some black tourmaline to bury around the property.

I took my tea into the living room to watch one more episode of Love Island. One of the benefits of living alone, I can watch whatever I want without having to consider anyone else. Yes, I just went there. About twenty minutes into the episode, I heard a loud noise right above my head. Luna heard it too. She popped her head up, her ears pricked. I looked at her, and she looked at me as if to say “Let’s check it out.” I put my mug down on the coffee table and climbed the stairs to the second floor, turning on lights as I went. Luna was right behind me.

I stepped into the guest room, turned on the light, and looked around. Luna ran around to the other side of the bed and looked at me as if to say, “Nope. Nothing.” I turned out the light and moved to my room. I switched on the lamp on my nightstand and looked around. All of the pictures were still on the walls and nothing had fallen off the dresser or nightstands. I turned toward the ensuite bathroom when I stopped in my tracks.

Luna was standing stock still, tail down, ears flat, and staring at the door to my walk-in closet. I felt a prickling at the back of my neck that slowly creeped up my scalp. I slowly crept toward the closet door. Luna edged closer to me. I silently counted to three and then yanked open the door. Nothing.

Luna stuck her nose into the closet and sniffed around. She stretched as far as she could without entering and then took a few hesitant steps inside. I reached around and turned on the light. Luna looked up toward the ceiling, and then I heard it. There was scrabbling just above my head. I looked up at the access panel to the attic. I could see a small piece of insulation trapped between the panel and the frame. Was that there before? I couldn’t remember. And what was I thinking? It’s obviously an animal. There’s no way it would have opened the access panel.

I heard the noise again. It sounded like claws trying to gain purchase. Luna cocked her head to the side.

“What do you think, girl?” I asked her. “A squirrel? I certainly hope it’s not a rat.” I looked at my watch. It was almost 10:00. I really wasn’t in the mood to go looking in the attic. And frankly, I didn’t think my step stool was tall enough to even pop my head up there and take a look. The question was would I be able to sleep knowing something was running around up there.

“Well,” I said out loud to Luna. “I guess I'm sleeping on the couch.”

Luna took one more look at the ceiling and backed out of the closet. I turned out the light and closed the door. I readied myself for bed, grabbed my pillow, and went downstairs. Luna followed me but laid down at the top of the stairs and refused to move.

When I woke the next morning, Luna was still laying at the top of the stairs. I grabbed her leash from the cabinet in the foyer and she ran down the first flight of stairs. She hesitated on the landing and looked back up to the second floor. I jingled the leash, and she finally came the rest of the way down. I clipped her collar and took her for our morning stroll.

Usually we walked about a mile, but this morning she quickly squatted and peed and turned back toward the house. I tugged the leash in the opposite direction, but she would not budge. She leaned hard toward the house. Whatever was in that attic certainly had her preoccupied. I sighed and gave in. We headed back to the house.

Once inside, I unclipped her leash and she headed to the kitchen. I scooped some kibble into her bowl, stirred in half a can of canned food, and placed her bowl down. I filled her water bowl and gave her a pat.

While she ate, I decided to check out the attic. I grabbed my step stool from the garage and headed upstairs. I placed the stool in the closet and climbed up the two steps. Just as I thought, it was not high enough. I could barely lift the panel up with my fingertips let alone peer over the edge into the attic. I’m going to Lowe’s, I thought.

I arrived home in the early afternoon with my new six foot step ladder. I hauled it upstairs and set it up in the closet. I got my flashlight and then decided to grabbed a hammer out of my toolbox. If there was a critter up there, I wanted to be prepared to fend it off. I climbed the ladder and tucked the hammer into the belt loop of my jeans. I pushed on the access panel, lifted it clear of the framing, and moved it to the side of the opening. I carefully stepped up another rung on the ladder, grabbed the hammer from my belt loop, took a deep breath and stuck my head up into the attic.

I could only see a couple of feet from the opening. There were pieces of plywood laid across the two by fours creating a makeshift floor. The recesses were pitch black. I flicked on my flashlight, hammer at the ready. I slowly rotated the beam of light around the dark space. I stepped up another rung on the ladder, set my flashlight and hammer down, and gingerly placed a knee on the floor of the attic. I pushed off the ladder and brought my other leg up. I was now on all fours in the attic space. I picked up my flashlight and directed it toward the far corner. Something was there.

I inched a little closer to get a better look. Sitting there covered in dust was a spirit board. It was surrounded by eight white candles. There also appeared to be some sort of pendant or something in the center of the board. I leaned closer to see what it was and something brushed the top of my head sending goosebumps down my spine. I pulled back and directed my flashlight toward the low ceiling. A pendulum was hanging directly over the center of the spirit board. I thought about the uneasy feeling I had gotten outside the house the night before. I thought about the noise Luna and I heard and the scrabbling in the attic. I had an overwhelming sense that something was not right, and I needed to leave the attic space immediately. I backed out and blindly stuck my right leg down the opening, feeling for the ladder. I found purchase and as quickly, but as carefully, as I could I clambered down the ladder. I stopped to pull the access panel back into place. I left the ladder in the closet and shut the door. I remembered I left my hammer up there, but decided not to go back for it. I walked on shaky legs over to my bed and sat down.

What the Hell was that? I asked myself. My experience as a practicing witch, energy healer, and lightworker had my senses in overdrive. I knew this was somehow attached to the energy I had felt outside my house. Thankfully, I did not feel it inside–most likely due to the ritual I had performed when I first moved in. Despite my decades of experience, I felt out of my depth. I was a Glinda–a good witch. An ye harm none, do what ye will. This did not feel good.

At a loss for what else to do, I packed up my laptop and drove to my favorite coffee house. I ordered a chai latte, logged onto their wi-fi, and began googling anything and everything about what I saw and what I felt. What I read frightened me, and I knew I was not equipped to handle this. I racked my brain trying to think of someone who could help me. Then Abigail popped into my head.

I grabbed my phone and clicked on her name in my contacts.

“Marla!” Abigail answered brightly. “So good to hear from you. It’s been a while. “

“Hi, Abby.” I said, trying to match her upbeat demeanor. “I know. I’ve just been so busy with the move and all.”

“No worries,” she interrupted. “What’s up? I’m sensing an uneasiness.” I was not surprised that Abigail had picked up on my distress.

“Well, funny you should ask,” I started. “I’m sensing some unusual energy at my new place, and I was hoping you could come by.”

“Hmmm. I’m intrigued,” she purred. “What’s going on?”

I filled Abigail in on the goings on during the last 24 hours, and she agreed to come by my place around 7:00. In the meantime, she instructed me to do another cleansing ritual, being sure to cast a circle around the perimeter of my house and burn a white candle until she arrived.

About ten minutes to seven, Abigail arrived. There was a man with her that I didn’t know. He looked to be about forty-ish and was carrying a large backpack. He seemed laid back but had a certain wisdom and alertness in his eyes.

“I’m Jack.” Jack said as we walked up the sidewalk. “I hear you have an uninvited guest.”

“Is that what we’re calling it?” I asked. Jack just smiled.

When we entered the house, I grabbed three Fat Tires from the fridge and went to the living room. Jack was admiring my altar and crystal collection. I handed him a beer and we chatted briefly about a few of the stones and then joined Abigail. I sat on the sofa next to her, and Jack sat in one of the chairs across from us.

“The energy in here is great,” Jack commented. “You did a good job with cleansing the space and protecting it. I can’t sense any negative energy.”

“Thanks,” I said and took a sip of my beer. “I’m glad I had the foresight to perform a house cleansing and blessing when I first moved in. This...” I struggled, searching for the right word, “entity or whatever it is, it’s not good.”

“What did you feel?” Jack asked.

“I can’t quite explain it.” I said taking another pull from my beer bottle. “ I was outside my front door, and I sensed this energy sort of crowding me. It was kind of behind and to the right of me. And in my head, very firmly and without hesitation, without even thinking really, I said “No. You are not invited.” And I could sense that that was enough to keep him out. At least then. I’m not so sure he didn’t let himself in later that night.”

“What do you mean?” Jack asked.

“Luna and I were down here.” I began, but Jack interrupted me.

“Luna?”

“Yes, my dog.” Jack nodded.

“Is she here now?” He asked.

“Yes,” I said and looked around.

“Is it curious that she did not greet us at the door?” he asked.

“Now that you mention it,” I said, feeling wary. “It is very unusual that she did not come to the door.”

I rose from my seat and went to the foyer. I called up the stairs.

“Luna?” I paused and listened.

“Luna!” I called louder.

Abigail and Jack were now standing in the foyer with me. I shot them both a worried look and then started up the stairs. Abigail and Jack followed.

I went to my room. The door was open and the three of us peered in. Luna was sitting still in front of the closet door.

“Hey, girl,” I said in a soothing tone. I bent down next to her. As if woken from a trance, she turned toward me, stood, and licked my face. Then she greeted Abigail and sniffed Jack up and down before deciding he was okay too.

“So continue your story,” Jack prompted as he leaned against the door jamb.

I repeated the same story I had told Abigail, giving as much detail as I could.

“I knew I was out of my depth here. So I called Abigail and here we are.” I concluded.

“Do you mind if I take a look in the attic?” Jack asked. I shook my head and handed him the flashlight that was on my dresser.

Jack went to the closet and reached for the doorknob. Luna started whining. He glanced back at her and then at Abigail and me. He gave us a reassuring look and opened the door. He climbed the step ladder, removed the access panel, and hoisted himself up into the attic. We could hear him making his way across the ceiling toward the corner where the spirit board was. After a minute or two, he came back down and out into the bedroom.

“Well,” Jack began as he dusted his hands off on his jeans. “Good news, it’s not a demon entity. Bad news, it is a tormented spirit that someone has anchored to this property.”

“So unanchor him!” I said emphatically. “I’m not inviting him to stay, and I’m not leaving my home.” Abigail put her arm around me and squeezed my shoulder.

“Well, it’s not that simple.” Jack began.

“But I’m sure we can find a way.” Abigail said giving him a penetrating look that said don’t make this any worse.

Jack looked up toward the ceiling. “Let’s go downstairs and I’ll explain.”

Jack and Abigail went to the living room, and I grabbed three more beers from the fridge. I sat once again on the couch next to Abigail.

“Are you sure it’s a spirit?” I asked Jack. He took a swig from his bottle.

“Absolutely.”

Jack and Abigail went to the living room, and I grabbed three more beers from the fridge. I sat once again on the couch next to Abigail.

“Are you sure it’s a spirit?” I asked Jack. He took a swig from his bottle.

“Absolutely.”

“It’s just that...well, I’ve sensed spirits since I was a little girl. And it didn’t feel like any spirit I’ve ever encountered.”

“You’ve just never encountered a tormented soul before.” He said matter-of-factly. “You are so steeped in positive energy and lightwork that you naturally repel dark spirits.”

“So what’s different about this one?” I asked.

“His connection to this place. It has a strong hold on him. If I ventured a guess, I’d say someone who loved him channeled his energy into a talisman after he passed. That’s probably the item that is sitting in the middle of that board. The board, the pendulum, and the talisman allow him to manifest briefly in this world.”

“Well why can’t we just remove that talisman then?” asked Abigail.

“If it were that simple, I would have removed it already.” Jack said. He moved to the edge of his seat. “The spirit board is set up as some sort of grid. The talisman is acting as the generator and the pendulum is a conduit. I’m guessing it’s the portal that allows him to manifest via the talisman. We either have to find the person who activated the grid and have them dismantle it or…” Jack looked down at the floor.

“Or what?” I nearly yelled.

“We have to wait until he returns to the talisman and destroy it while he is in it.” Jack ran his fingers through his hair.

“There’s something you’re holding back,” Abigail said. “What is it?”

Jack took a deep breath and blew it out explosively.

“It’s risky.” He said. “We have to be absolutely sure he is in the talisman when we destroy it. Otherwise, he could latch on to something or someone else. And then we’re fucked.”

We all simultaneously sat back in our seats. A heavy silence fell on the room. Finally, I broke the silence.

“So, ideally, we need to find the person who concocted this whole thing. That’s our safest bet.” Jack nodded his agreement.

“I have an idea,” I said. “All property sales are public record. Maybe there is an online database where we can look up all the prior owners of this house. Abigail and I will look for property records online. Jack, you research the best and safest way to destroy him in the talisman in case it comes to that.”

An hour later we had our answer. The second owner of the house was Dana Stravinsky. Jack nearly fell over when he read the name. Jack had researched the family during his post-graduate work. Hundreds of years ago, the Stravinsky family was very well-known and highly regarded all across Europe. It was said that the Stravinsky women possessed supernatural gifts. He believed the stories were more factual than mythical, and the women were indeed a powerful line of witches. Although Jack was skeptical that this woman was related to those Stravinskys, his experiences had taught him that there were no coincidences. Fate, God, the Universe seemed to have a way of bringing things together precisely as they should be.

Jack reached out to a few contacts and soon was speaking with Dana. He shared his research about her family and then dropped the bomb that he was in her old house. He indicated that there was an interesting development, and perhaps she could shed some light on the matter. Thirty minutes later, Dana showed up at the door.

When Dana arrived, there was a shift in the energy immediately. She told them that her mother was very powerful, and when Dana showed signs of having the gift, her mother went to great measures to hide it. One day, Dana found her mother dead. Her father blamed the townspeople and they fled to America. Her father encouraged her to use her magic but said she could not tell anyone. If anyone knew, she would die like her mother. He was all she had. So when he died, she bound him to the talisman so she would not be alone. Terrified to use her magic in the world, she became destitute and lost her house. She was evicted and could not fetch the talisman. She said she was grateful to be able to do so now.

Sensing that Dana was hiding something, Jack followed her into the attic.

“Your presence is not needed here.” she said.

“Oh, but it is,” Jack said quietly. “My research taught me that the men of the Stravinsky family did not always appreciate their women and their gifts. You’ve had many years to reconsider your relationship with your father. I need to make sure that you trap him in that talisman and take him with you. Do we understand each other?”

Dana nodded her head. Dana performed the ritual to call her father to the talisman. Jack could tell from the change in energy that she had succeeded. She quickly reversed the grid and snatched it up.

“It is done.” She said abruptly and turned to leave.

Once back downstairs, Jack assured us that the deed was done. I thanked Dana and saw her out. The door was barely closed when Jack grabbed his backpack, unzipped it, and handed Abigail and I each a black tourmaline.

“Please tell me you have a shovel or a trowel or something,” he said. I nodded and went to the garage. I returned a moment later with a gardening trowel. Jack turned it over in his hand inspecting it.

“I guess this will have to do,” he said. “Follow me.”

We went out the back door and followed Jack to the edge of the property. Jack dropped down and dug a hole near the far left corner. He instructed me to drop the black tourmaline in and cover it. He dug another hole for Abigail at the far right corner. Next, he went to the front of the house and dug two more holes and buried the two black tourmalines he had. We went back inside. Jack pulled an athame from his backpack. We stood in the middle of the living room, and he cast a circle declaring that it expanded to the edges of my property. He cast a spell of protection, and we held hands chanting “So mote it be.”

Finally, Jack looked up and drew a deep breath. Abigail and I looked at him, waiting for an explanation. He opened his mouth to respond, but we were startled by the sound of Luna’s barking. She was standing at the back door staring into the darkness–her hackles raised, ears flat.

And then we heard it–a blood-curdling shriek followed by splashing that out at the pond. Then it just stopped. All became deathly quiet. The clouds parted and the full moon shone down through the trees. And there was Dana, standing at the edge of the pond. Her eyes were closed and her hands outstretched. Everything was still, and a luminescent fog hovered above the pond. She lowered her hands, turned, and looked directly at us. She nodded at Jack and declared “So mote it be.” And Jack replied, “So mote it be.”

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Kristin D. Walcott

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.