Fiction logo

Buffett's humorous theory of life and death

1

By Marya SchPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1

In April 2012, Warren Buffett, 82, said in a letter to shareholders of his Duke Berkshire Hathaway that he had been diagnosed with prostate cancer. Shares of companies such as Berkshire and IBM plunged on the news, raising concerns about the old man's health and his eventual demise because many people can't imagine a world without him -- except for him. But Buffett already look pale life and death, from his every humor inclining life and death joke, we can understand the great "god" of the humor, open-minded and calm.

First, the truck problem

It wasn't just when Buffett was suffering from cancer that people were concerned about whether he would live or die. There have long been concerns about what would happen if he died suddenly. At the 1995 Berkshire shareholders meeting, a shareholder said, "I am thinking of buying Berkshire stock, but I am very worried about what will happen to you, and I cannot stand the risk of you having a major accident." "Neither can I," Buffett quipped.

Two, death also want to manage

Buffett is still running the company at the age of 82 because his stature and ability are unmatched. He was asked if he had a retirement plan, to which he replied: "Retirement plan? Wait until I've been dead five or ten years."

On May 5, 2012, at a shareholder meeting, Buffett, who has been confirmed to have cancer, said with humor that he felt great. "I have four doctors and at least one or two of them own stock in the company," he jokes. They offered various [treatment] options and none of them suggested I be admitted to hospital or asked me to rest."

Three, death share price

Buffett knows that shareholders are deeply concerned about how his death will affect the company's stock price, and he often confronts the question head-on, even speculating with interest on how the stock price will move after he's gone: "The day I die, Berkshire's stock price will rise by a quarter to a half a percentage point. If the stock goes up the day I die, I'll be very sad."

Four, funerary Coke

Buffett owns a business jet called the Indefensible. He once considered naming the plane the "Charlie Munger" in honor of Mr. Munger, who insisted on flying economy whenever he flew. "I've fallen so in love with this airplane that when I die, I'm going to die with this airplane," Buffett said. Buffett, who loves Coke and owns shares in the company, is optimistic that his death will do many good: "Coke sales will increase in the short term because I'm going to fill my business jet with Coke and die with it."

Five, the next goal

Buffett attaches great importance to health and longevity. At the Berkshire shareholders' meeting in 1995, a shareholder asked Buffett: "Now that you are the richest man in America, what is your next goal?" Buffett replied, "My next goal is to be the oldest man in America." Buffett often tells a funny story when he talks to college students: "When I was 16, I only cared about two things: girls and cars. Dating girls wasn't my strong suit, so I focused on the car. One night when I was 16, a god appeared to me and said, 'Whatever car you want, I will give it to you. The car will be delivered to your house in the morning with red ribbons. 'After hearing the immortal's work, I asked cautiously:' Is there any condition for such a good thing? 'The fairy replied,' On one condition. This is the only car you're ever going to get, and you're going to use it forever. 'If that happens, I'm going to take care of this car like a baby, because it's the only car I've ever had, and I'm going to use it forever. Treat your body and mind the same way you treat this car. You have only one heart, only one body, you have to spend a lifetime. If you treat your body and mind well, it can easily last for years. But if you don't take good care of your body and mind, after 40 years of age, your body and mind will be broken, like a 40 year old car that hasn't been properly maintained."

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.