Fiction logo

Boxed In.

A sleepless journey through the imagination.

By Patrick KidwellPublished about a year ago 6 min read
Like

While living in the city was an adjustment, I was optimistic that my opportunities were growing with each passing day.

I awoke routinely with half a stretch before pressing myself against the wooden cubby my bed had been slotted into. Shimming down the half-staircase, a brilliant heat radiated across my face.

Communal awakening was taking place around the neighborhood; A soft glow began to emit from the neon sign hanging at the convenience store just across the street.

I filled a ceramic full of coffee and sat it on the table next to my ball chair. What better way to get ready for the day than to take a breather and enjoy the weather?

I relaxed into the chair long enough to be woken by a rough bit of sandpaper and the buzzing noise of Theadore, my cat.

I opened my eyes into the darkness that now permeated my vision. Carefully scooping Theadore up at the tummy, I lifted him off my face and blindly set him on my lap.

"Hey buddy, you must be hungry." I scratched his neck and rubbed his cheekbones to the continued purring.

While I wouldn't admit it, I gave a fake kiss against the air and set Theodore on the hardwood before heading toward the kitchen.

Scrouging through the fridge was unsuccessful, and searching the cupboards only produced a singular can of tuna.

At least there be fish on the menu today, Eh? After feeding Theodore and adding 'cat food' to the grocery list, I headed out to work.

I was permitted access to the zoo through a secondary entrance at the rear of the complex.

It was here that I found Marcie waiting to report an update on Tawny, a green thighed parrot we had recently brought in to expand the aviary.

Marcie winced and stifled a yawn as I approached. My specialty in owls meant that I had never needed to concern myself with the workings of crops.

That didn't stop me from helping with the supply run and eventual support during the operation. As we walked through the exhibits of reptiles and other cold-blooded creatures towards the aviary, Marcie was describing the process of stitching the thin film of skin back into place.

I held the beaded curtain aside to enter, displacing the picture of birds perched upon a tree. I wasn't sure how we would find Tawny across the several patches of trees interlaced with flowing waterways.

Smirking at the evident look of confusion on my face, she produced a pocket-sized flute and began to play a screeching noise across the gallery. These were sharper notes than that of the Screech Owls I had been accustomed to.

Nevertheless, the quiet room became a buzz of activity. We moved from parcel to parcel attentive for Tawny and found him towards the back of the room.

I moved closer for a look while rubbing the cotton sleeve against my forehead. The stitches were not obvious at a glance, due to the layers of feathers now poofing out from the small character.

Quite the handy work I would dare say. I gently pressed against the nape of the small bird as cheerful squeaks accompanied by neck rotations and squinted eyes followed.

Two long buzzes filled the aviary. It was a text message from Cassey, a nature photographer, and close friend.

It read 'I know it's short notice, but I have a package on the development site. Should be right on the bench.' I sighed. Running across town was not something I had planned for today.

My shift at the zoo had been rather mundane after the back and forth that preoccupied my previous night. As the sun began to descend beyond the hills, I headed out into the city.

The soft patter of rain against my plastic suit and the whistle of wind made the trek slightly less than amusing. There wasn't much on this end of town. The small entertainment front sticks out like a sore thumb against the darkened skyline.

I stepped out of the rain and into the hovel that once was a hub of activity. Laughter became mute and the once vibrant colors dulled against the empty hallways. A flickering light accented the linoleum flooring.

Twists and turns down the corridors became shifting shadows and breathes against the nape of my neck. I never dare ask myself what lurks beyond the periphery or that which lies waiting in the shadows. I hunched my shoulders and squinted slightly.

The wooden door was slightly ajar as a soft white light spilled into the hallway. A gentle hand against the door was enough to swivel it against the hinges. An echo permeated through my mind as beads of sweat popped out behind my brow.

I choked on a chuckle and proclaimed to my sanity, 'Why isn't that just a yellow-headed blackbird if I've ever heard one.' But at last, the room came into view and a part of myself held back behind the continually opening door as well.

The room held a make-up mirror against the far wall and had several broken lights around the edge. Sitting atop a single stool at center stage was a small brown package.

Scribbled against the mirror was a blood-red message. It read 'Open sesame'. I stood against the doorway for some time as I absorbed the static message scrawled against the flat surface.

'Ha ha Cassey, you got me good. You can come out now.' I became aware of the ever-deafening ticking coming from the hallway as seconds slipped through my hands. What kind of ploy had this been? What is within the package?

My nerve was unended and my death forstalled over the next several minutes. I slid the package into my satchel.

I crept out of the building and back into the night expecting howls of triumph as the moon puffed its full essence against the starry night. The sky unhinged its jaws as the drizzle of rain became a waterfall of activity.

Rivers formed beside the curb as nature rebelled for the natural order of things to be returned. I had seen my burrow from a mile away and could retrace the path taken by light. Everywhere I turned, darkness poured. The small convenience store is a shadow against the oppressive night.

I scaled the stairs to my abode and hung the soaking parka atop the coat rack and settled my shoes outside the foyer. I fumbled the key against the lock until it slid through the small slit. Home at last.

Opening the door, I could hear the soft mumbling of static from within. A tiny light cast shadows against the far end of the corridor. I softly pressed the door against its frame.

Tiptoeing down the hallway, my mind fluttered about the room as to whom could be awaiting me. I stretched my torso the final few inches to peer around the corner to see two figures perched behind a small disk of fire.

A cake. The pitched ringing falls from my ears as I round the corner to find Marcie and Cassey waiting in the living room. Surprise. A sigh of relief escapes my jaws like a ghost through an open window.

After blowing out the candles and chatting for a bit, Cassey asked about the package I had picked up from the development site. I rummaged through my satchel and procured the package.

Flipping it over, I noticed it read 'Happy Birthday. Inside a collection of owl feathers encased in glass. Welcome home.

AdventureMysteryShort Story
Like

About the Creator

Patrick Kidwell

Hobby writing. Want to create compelling stories with interesting narrative.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.