Fiction logo

Botwon

- GT Jasper

By GT JasperPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
1

I open my eyes to pure darkness. I close and reopen them to only find the same thing. Am I blind? Maybe I’m dreaming. As I move to rub my eyes, I feel a restraint around my right wrist, keeping me from moving very much.

I move again, a bit harder this time. Click. One bare light bulb flickers on above me and I immediately discover that what is around my wrist is attached to the light switch on the wall next to me. I’m on a thin mattress, fairly high above the floor within a white, padded room with no windows. To my right there’s a small booklet and it’s on top of a feeble, dusty table.

I sit up to reach for the booklet and feel a tug against my left forearm. Attached to me is an IV and it’s linked to an enormous tank of what I assume is filled with water. Perplexed, I stare at the tank expecting for something to jolt my brain as to what is going on. Instead of locating an explanation, I’m met with a tenseness that rushes to my forehead causing me to wince. I grit my teeth and shake my head and for whatever reason, the tenseness goes away, and so does my curiosity.

Leaving the IV in, I grab the booklet and rotate it. The only graphic on either side is a heart shaped locket on the back. I turn to the first page.

Step 1.) Remove the IV, take the gauze and medical tape – place on the wound.

I follow the instructions.

Step 2.) In the table drawer, there’s a new set of clothes, pair of sunglasses, a belt, a taser, 3 cartridges labeled with their specific use, and a key fob. Take them.

I sit up completely and spin to dangle my legs over the side of the bed. The stiffness in my neck and back feels like I’ve been through something grueling, something very painful. I try to crack my neck, but that doesn’t work – the stiffness stays.

I do as I’m told, beginning by changing my clothes. I’m now wearing a long-sleeved shirt with a wide neck, baggy jeans, and shoes with what feel like rubber spikes in them. Instinctively, I place the sunglasses on my head and carefully strap the belt around my waist. The belt has several buttons as well as a place to holster the taser and fanny pack for the booklet and key fob. The cartridges fit nicely in their own section, too.

Step 3.) Take a drop from the nutrition cartridge – this is your energy.

I take the drop.

Step 4.) Put the sunglasses on and open the door.

I robotically walk over to the door and unlock each of the 7 deadbolts. Giving the padded room one last glance, I push the door open and immediately I’m thankful for the sunglasses.

_ _ _ _ _

The air is warm, far too warm for sleeves, but I keep them on, trusting the booklet. By the looks of it, I’m on the 7th story of a hotel. It’s quiet out here. Past the balcony is a field of ruin, large curving pipes are jutting from the ground, weaving through sunken buildings with broken windows. What looks like a giant sand cloud curtains all of it causing the atmosphere to be a grayish green hue.

Step. 5) Go left to the elevator and take it to the first floor. Before the elevator opens, have the taser ready.

Quivering, I inhale deeply, then exhale a pulsating breath. Why do I need the taser? I look from side to side. There’s no one else here.

Suddenly, something from my belt beeps. I look down to find a button next to my holster, blinking red. I press it without thinking to search for instructions. A recording of a young girl sounds, “Botwon, you have to relax. Please. If this red button goes off, it is not good. Your body temperature is too high – you cannot overheat.” Although the voice is familiar, there’s no memory to place it.

Whoever wrote each of these steps thought this through and must know me very well. Hesitantly, I force myself to the left, walking past room after room – all with numbered doors counting down from mine, 276, wide open and from what I can see, the exact same setup as my room. As I near the elevator sign, I lower my hand to the holster.

Arriving to the elevator, I aim my fingers at the down button, but stay in that position for a moment. I do my best to settle myself, having no idea what could be behind these doors. Closing my eyes, I stretch a finger to the button, clench the taser in my other hand, and hold my ground. What’s going to be in there? The elevator bell goes off right away followed by the heavy metal doors dragging open. I squeeze the taser and tighten my jaw.

Nothing. An empty elevator. I jump in, light up the 1st floor, and start pressing the down button repeatedly, hands trembling. Finally, the door begins to close.

Step 6.) When you arrive to ground level, have the taser ready. From here, you must run as fast as you can to the red van across the parking lot, straight ahead of you. Await further instructions.

Why run? Before I can ponder further, the bell goes off, I have arrived at ground level. I grip the taser and press myself to the side of the elevator, hoping to hide from whatever is out there. The doors slide open.

I take off.

Just as the instructions said, the red van is straight ahead. But, I sense something. Movement. I keep my pace, but quickly do a perimeter check. There is something out there and it’s coming right for me.

As if I put myself in another gear, I begin to run faster, longer strides.

Not realizing it, I am suddenly at the van. I quickly climb inside, close the door, and swing my seatbelt around. Something smashes against the back of the van, shaking me so hard my head smacks against the steering wheel. The radio blasts, “Botwon, the key fob! Start the car! You must go, now!”

I slam on the gas pedal, spinning up a dust storm. Accidentally looking in the rear-view mirror, I make out a blurry figure that must be two times the van’s size.

The radio turns itself back on, “Step 7!” a male voice yells. I keep my foot down and hurriedly open the booklet.

Step 7.) Take a drop from the Lead Cartridge

I listen. I place the booklet down, search for the correct label, and – “Hurry up, Botwon!” I nearly drop the cartridge. Once I pour this particular droplet into my mouth, I feel it sink down my throat and through the rest of my body, like it fell to my feet.

Step 8.) There will be a storm. Once you get to it, start counting to yourself to 30. You will not be able to see out there. The car will be controlled. When the car stops, you must take a drop from the last cartridge, the Vision. You must bring the key fob. Our lives depend on it.

Our lives? Hail pelts the windshield. I start to count, 1, 2… Lightning flashes, cracking like it just opened the ground. The wind is violently throwing itself at the van. How am I staying on the ground? 14, 15…something else bashes into the van, knocking me slightly off course, but the car readjusts itself.

29, 30... The car slams to a halt.

I shove the car door open, doing what I can to resist this impossibly heavy wind. As I push on the door, my foot hits the dirt, and dust swarms my legs. I do not move. I bring my other foot down and let the storm close the door for me. My sunglasses are ripped from my head.

I try to open my eyes, wincing from the heavy wind and dirt that is impairing my vision. I can’t see. I can’t see. The cannister. I forcefully remove it from my waist, press it to my mouth, and pour in a drop. I widen my eyes and this time the wind does not affect them, neither does the dirt, like I am seeing through a windshield. Ahead of me is a building in the shape of a dome. I drag my foot in front of the other to walk forward, like each of my feet weighs a thousand pounds, keeping me to the ground like magnets.

I am within a few paces from the door. I recognize the symbol on it – it’s the heart shaped locket from the back of the booklet. Beep, it comes from my belt again. I push the blinking green button. “Botwon, you must open the door just enough to get yourself through and immediately close it.”

I do as the button demands.

I look down at my hand as I grip the door handle. One of my fingers is gone and in its place is a thick, woven wire. I bring my other hand down to the door and along with part of my sleeve, some of my skin is gone, revealing a white, metal fiber.

I pull the door towards me, opening it by inches, wind sprinting inside. Just enough to get yourself through. With a last effort, I swing myself through the door, gripping the handle with everything I have left, and yank it closed. I roll to the floor – exhausted.

_ _ _ _ _

“Botwon?” A male voice enters in a high-pitched tone from the other side of the room.

“Yes?” I ask, rolling over to see a few heads pop up over desks, couches, and chairs. Closer to me is a spherical screen like a hologram, floating in the middle of the room, titled Bot 1: Trial 276.

A few men, women, and children slowly come out of hiding.

One man in a white overcoat comes over timidly, squatting down, and looks me in the eyes as if he is looking through me, into me. He takes my wired finger and smiles as if he is pleased with himself.

Another woman with similar attire walks over and leans down beside him, “Do you think he will hold up in worse conditions?"

The doctor looks at her and the rest of the people. “He is ready.”

They both pull me to my feet. “May I have the key fob, Bot One?”

I hand it to him.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.