Fiction logo

Bottled - to explore

level 2

By Lini FernandezPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
illustration by LAF & Satya Prakash

Level2 exploration

An animal charging towards an assembled group of people is when I saw them sense peril. Huge and ferocious it was, but what was it? I could think of no name for that beast!

Although, the beastly act that followed seemed to question my wisdom in identifying those people as ‘people’. For, amidst the screaming sound of pain I wondered- ‘Were they even worthy of that representation?’

The charging animal slowed down to sniff a frightened human curled up in fright, thrown on its way by no less than a fellow human. Fellow human! Disgust it was that rose up within me to see that group calming down in relief.

Relief!

What glee could it be to see harm stopping by, further down the road, only to return as time went by?

A lone human ran away from that crowd, perhaps in disgust, and I decided to follow her path. A path less trodden, so it seemed, for a sight so new greeted me soon. A bird flopped down to have a closer look at a vegetable that looked exactly a caterpillar. So green and live it looked, that movement was the least the bird expected of it. To test it perhaps, a peck the bird gave and that was the last move it made. Perchance it swallowed that green for rolled down its neck, on to that green. Ignorance that was and the price was death.

Feeling my presence the girl slowed down, to let me keep up with her stride. I smiled at her, and she looked my way and then looked away. She decided to let me be and so I walked with her to another group of people. They sensed I was different, though looking down at myself I realized I was dressed like she. She communicated with signs and they relented, for the group welcomed me into their lot.

Fresh water was refreshing. Bed made of grass was welcoming. I hit the bed and then woke up to chirping birds and activity for the day. I strolled over to my newfound people who were inspecting fresh collection for the day, brought in by their mates, in anticipation of a hearty meal I must say. The shared joy was a moment treasured before the contents inside the leaf basket shook me to the core. I frantically tried to communicate my dread for the wretched vegetable that looked so green, so live, so caterpillar!

Now that was a challenge: to disseminate knowledge. I would have picked the basket and thrown it far but it was no easy feat with people behaving as though they picked star. I showed with action that the picks were good enough only to throw, but they understood no such intentions for they were so ready to toss down some greens with brown. The brown was staple diet so held no charm; the green was what they were after!

The dodge and duck went too far but throw I did those wretched vegetables afar. The girl I followed calmed them down for they didn’t like the stupid actions of this stranger. As the day proceeded few heads rolled down and that’s when they decided I was no stranger, for I had fought not in vain to protect them the fates of some animals passing by.

Days passed by and the girl I had followed trained us to fight. Bows and arrows sharpened to hit hard, kept any beast at bay as time passed. Still, threat looming even to one was no fun. So, in search of caterpillar green again went some. Now the bows and arrows were pasted with green and hit hard we did the beast till its head rolled over.

Lo behold and my role got over for I jumped a level higher on to another circle, back into the bottle!

Again, I pushed and again few circles stretched… and into another land I fell!

That fall wasn’t what rattled me though. Sound waves hitting me was what disturbed me till calming words reached me, as though to warn.

My eyes followed that sound source. Strange that it came from a bird afar. Big eyes looked wise; the words wiser!

To be Continued.

For next the level click here

For the first level click this picture

Series
Like

About the Creator

Lini Fernandez

Lini Fernandez is a Physics (Hons) graduate with a master’s degree in Journalism. You are welcome to this website -

https://sites.google.com/view/lini-fernandez/home

Imagination Corner is dedicated to Vocal submissions. Cheers to life!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.