Fiction logo

Blue horn

Writing in my office on my desk after hours, while a white owl on the telephone pole across the street hoots in the snowy night.

By Jericho J weissPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Blue horn
Photo by Zdeněk Macháček on Unsplash

I am chilling in my office after hours, ready for a long night ahead of me. It's snowing hard outside when I see through my office window a white owl across the street on the telephone line. It twists its neck and hoot, making it hard to stay focused. Distracting me from my duty, I wait patiently for the owl to leave the telephone pole across the street. Instead, for the next five minutes, it continues in the snowy night of my after-hours.

Luckily I stayed, I think to myself; just after everyone left, it started to snow hard. “No, my co-workers!” I drop from my desk to a bow and start praying viciously. My coworkers, including my Two best friends Tom and Ben’s safety, are all that runs through my mind for the moment. Dialing on my cellphone quickly as possible, my two best friends, but they both have no Service. I have no way to make sure they made it, but I'm sure they did.

I get up off the floor and notice the owl stopped hooting “thank God,” I say to myself. So I return to my desk, finish some paperwork and log in on my computer. Fifteen minutes in, horrible images start flashing through my mind that I can't seem to shake. One was Ben stuck more the thirty-minute drive from home on the side of the road with no heater. My second was Tom hit black ice on his way up the mountains to his house and crashed off the hills. Nobody knows except me, and I have to do something now, so I stop what I was doing to distracted.

Immediately I stop my work and try to get service walking around the building with my phone in the air. I went to every phone in the building's offices, but the blizzard had cut all connections. I'm in doubt, but not going to let it distract me anymore. I can't keep doing this to myself, so I head back to my desk, brush my head with my hands hard, lean back, and then into my desk to finish more work before the blizzard goes down. While heading back, I realize how tired I am before tripping myself running upstairs and falling. I made a small cut on my elbow, but I will be fine and help myself back up.

It's been precisely forty-five minutes since everyone left; I shouldn't be focusing on that throwing a pen on the floor. The blizzard will last another hour before I can go home, so I should get done with tomorrow's work quickly. Luckily, I prepared a snowstorm kit years ago. The memory fades. It is in my small office closet just as I think about how I will get into my snow-covered car. The emergency snow kit consists of a shovel, mag light, an oversized sweater, and gloves for the extreme weather. I peek out the window to see a white owl peacefully on the telephone pole across the street, frozen and silent. Almost like it’s invisible in the storm, just sitting there in all its white snow-covered fur.

I finally got back to my desk and clicked the mouse. “Where was I” I Mumbled to myself. There I find my computer logged in to the same page I've been trying to finish earlier and paper all over my desk. Using my hands, the sound the building makes when I pull open the file drawer breaks my small moment of focus. There's no way I'm going to get anything done right now. So I slam the file drawer and spin around on my office chair toward the window to find the Owl hooting again. I decide to recline back in my office and hope the best for my friends and co-workers till I knock out.

The end.


Mystery
2

About the Creator

Jericho J weiss

Hi I’m Jericho Weiss and I'm 28 I grew up in a small town in riverside county inCalifornia my whole life, I’ve always had a creative mindset. I used to write fiction and other stories all the time and love it and vocal.

feel free to ❤️ n tip

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Glad you stayed safe.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.