Fiction logo

Big Yellow Eyes

A monstrous threat plagues a couple and unearths many secrets

By Clyde E. DawkinsPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 13 min read
4

"Oh my God!"

The televised morning newscast drew shock and horror from Valerie Bascomb, though her reaction was quite understandable given what was being reported. As the report revealed, a murder took place on the previous night, and the nature was quite grisly. The victim appeared to be slashed and shredded, but the details were only part of why Valerie was so horrified.

"Babe?! Have you heard about this?!"

Valerie was calling out to her wife of six years, Alexa Russell, who entered the living room after just waking up. "What's going on?" asked Alexa, who was shown the newscast by Valerie.

"Oh my...is that Laura?!"

"Laura" was Laura Henton, who was Valerie's former flame from her high school. It was three months prior that they encountered each other for the first time in over a decade, with Valerie remembering how happy Laura was when she mentioned that she had become a married mother of two in the years that passed.

"I'm so sorry, Val," Alexa said as she hugged Valerie.

"Thanks, babe," replied Valerie. "And thank you again for your condolences. If I recall, you weren't too crazy about Laura."

"Hey, I liked Laura!" said Alexa.

"Oh, come on!" Valerie laughed. "You thought she was still after me."

"OK, maybe a little," said Alexa. "But I kept that to myself, and then, those feelings were gone." As both women listened to the report on Laura's death, the question on the minds of both halves of the couple finally came out of Alexa:

"Do the police know who did this?"

"Honestly," answered Valerie, "we should be asking what did this."

The following day saw Valerie on completing yet another day on the job as a junior high school teacher, when out of nowhere, she heard someone calling for her.

"Valerie Bascomb?"

Valerie started looking around shortly afterwards, with her search ending when she saw a man who looked quite familiar to her. She suddenly walked closer to the unknown man, and as she looked at him, it came back to her.

"I recognize you...you're Laura's husband!"

"Eric Henton," the man replied. "I take it you saw the news?"

"I did, I'm so sorry," said Valerie.

"Thank you," said Eric, "but there's more to this story. I know what killed my wife. At least I have an idea." Valerie was taken aback by Eric's statements, but before he could continue, he was suddenly approached by a pair of detectives.

"Eric Henton?"

"Big yellow eyes!" Eric said to Valerie, before quickly giving his phone number to her. "Remember that!" Eric later turned his attention to the pair of detectives, who informed Eric that he would be taken away for questioning in regarding Laura's death. Valerie was stunned over what she witnessed in what was her very first encounter with the husband of her former flame. She remembered that Laura had nothing but good things to say about Eric and their two children, and even though she hadn't met Eric until that point, she didn't think Eric appeared to be capable of even harming Laura, let alone killing her.

However, when Valerie returned home and informed Alexa about what happened:

"He definitely did it."

"What makes you so sure?" asked Valerie.

"Don't you know?" asked Alexa. "It's always the spouse. That's Murder 101."

"Murder 101?" asked Valerie.

"You know what I mean," said Alexa. "Anyway, what was it that Eric said to you before he was taken away?"

"Big yellow eyes," replied Valerie. "Whatever that means." Alexa merely laughed at the statement, but Valerie was deep in thought. Those three words stayed with her for hours, even into the evening, as Valerie watched updates of the Laura Henton story on TV and read them online, while Alexa was working the late hours. As Valerie sat in front of her laptop, she suddenly heard loud banging noises from relatively close by, and being the headfirst person that she is, she quickly went outside to investigate, but she did so with some protection--in the form of a baseball bat.

"Who's there?!" shouted Valerie. "Show yourself!" Valerie frantically looked around, and later walked further and further from the house, though she was prepared to use her weapon if needed. She wouldn't have to wait long to see and hear her threat; the sound came first, low growls, and it was followed by a sight that she was very shocked to see.

"Oh my God...big yellow eyes."

It was a split second glance, so Valerie couldn't really get a full picture of what had been in front of her, but that piercing yellow color definitely stayed with her. Whatever it was, whatever creature that appeared to Valerie, it was gone in a flash.

The image of those yellow eyes stayed with Valerie even on the following day, though she couldn't tell Alexa about what she had seen. Valerie instantly thought of Eric and his last words to her before he was taken away by the detectives, but she also recalled that Eric was only deemed as a person of interest. However, Valerie saw that as just a step below "suspect," so she contacted Eric and arranged a meeting outside the school, doing to to get more information.

"So about what you said to me yesterday..."

"You saw it, didn't you?" asked Eric.

"I don't know what I saw," said Valerie. "I recall those eyes, though. I couldn't forget it even if I tried."

"You're lucky," said Eric. "That was your first encounter. It's been following me for weeks. I had seen those eyes glaring at me, then all of a sudden, Laura's attacked and killed." Eric placed his head in his hands as he relived that moment that he received the call about Laura. "I didn't want her to go out that night," he continued. "But I never thought that something would happen to her as she was out getting cookies for the kids!"

"How could they suspect you?" asked Valerie.

"Well, I'm only a person of interest," replied Eric, "but even so, you know how that is. It's always the spouse..."

"That's what Alexa said to me yesterday," said Valerie.

"Alexa?"

"My wife," replied Valerie. "I haven't told her about what I saw; she wasn't even home. She was working late...or so I thought."

"What do you mean?" asked Eric.

"I called Alexa's workplace after I ran back into the house," said Valerie, "but when I asked for Alexa, you know what they told me? She hasn't worked there in over a month!" Valerie couldn't help but notice the expression of Eric's face. It was one of deep thought, as if he was solving a complicated puzzle.

"Question," said Eric, "was Alexa at home when Laura was killed?"

"No...," Valerie answered, while giving a quizzical look at Eric. "What are you thinking?"

"Aren't you curious to see what your wife's really up to?"

Later that evening, per usual, Alexa was dressed for another night on the job, unaware that Valerie knew the truth, or part of it at least. All Valerie could do was look at Alexa with a mixture of wonder and bewilderment, and was left asking herself a lot of questions. So much ran through Valerie's mind, but her train of thought was interrupted by Alexa.

"Valerie?" asked Alexa. "You OK?"

"Yeah," replied Valerie. "I'm just still thinking about Laura."

"Look," said Alexa, "I know what happened was tragic, but as I told you, that's all over. Her husband clearly did it."

"I'm not so sure about that," said Valerie. "After all, he's only a person of interest. Besides, he was at home that night when Laura was killed."

"How do you know that?!" asked Alexa.

"The news," answered Valerie. "The police confirmed Eric's alibi; he's actually no longer a person of interest. He's completely cleared."

"Oh, that's...great," Alexa said with a smile, which seemed to be half-hearted. "Anyway, I'm running late." After giving a kiss to Valerie, Alexa left the house, and it was followed by Valerie picking up dialing Eric and giving him the word.

"OK, let's move."

The night saw Eric and Valerie in the former's car, as they were covertly trailing Alexa. The pair made sure that they weren't too close to Alexa, as she could catch them, but at the same time, they weren't too far away, as they were determined to see where she was really going. Valerie quickly noticed that Alexa made a turn that was foreign to her usual work route. After 15 minutes, Alexa arrived at her stop: a house that was apparently inhabited, which drew even more bewilderment from Valerie.

"This is where she's been going all this time?" asked Valerie.

Two hours passed, and it was closing in on midnight. A beautiful full moon was at its highest peak, but the serenity, as well as Valerie's brief slumber, was interrupted by loud noises close by.

"What was that?!" exclaimed Valerie, who started to exit the vehicle before she was stopped by Eric. Afterwards, Eric decided to take out a video camera, as he had planned to get evidence of whatever was going on. What they both saw shocked them completely. Alexa began convulsing, and as she was doing so, her nails suddenly grew longer, and she started displaying sharp teeth as well. She later crouched back down, but when she rose up again, Alexa's appearance was much more animalistic, and she gave a loud howl afterwards, while her eyes gave an ominous yellow glow. Eric and Valerie were both stunned by what they just witnessed, but the shock was all over the latter's face as they drove off.

"I can't believe this," said Valerie. "My wife...Alexa...she's a werewolf?!"

"And she killed Laura," Eric added while speeding away, certain that neither he nor Valerie were spotted. Despite her discovery, Valerie managed to get a decent night's sleep, but from the moment she woke up, and all through her workday, her mind was clouded on what she had learned about the woman she had been married to for six years. Even stranger than that, Valerie hadn't seen Alexa all day, though in her mind, it may have been for the best. Once her day was done, Valerie was planning to meet with Eric to discuss their discovery and what to do with Alexa, but she suddenly heard her phone ringing. Seeing Eric's name, Valerie left the classroom to answer privately.

"Eric, I was just thinking..."

"Were you now?" A chill started to overcome Valerie, as she clearly recognized who that voice belonged to.

"Alexa?"

"Oh, Val," Alexa said in a coy manner, "you've been quite the busybody, haven't you? You seriously didn't think that I wouldn't know that you followed me last night?"

"Where are you, Alexa?" asked Valerie.

"You should know," replied Alexa. "I'm at my secret little hideout, though it's not really such a secret anymore. I'm not alone, either." Valerie would have very little time to digest Alexa's latest statement, as she suddenly heard someone calling her name.

"Valerie?"

"Eric?!" exclaimed Valerie.

"That's right," boasted Alexa. "I have your little partner in snooping. Or is it more than that? Wouldn't be the first time you looked elsewhere..."

"What do you want?" asked Valerie.

"You, of course!" laughed Alexa. "Come here and join us, and we'll a nice time watching the moon rise...together." As if Valerie didn't have enough on her mind after the previous night, now she has to face her diabolical werewolf spouse, who clearly had evil intentions for both her and Eric. Despite the danger she faced, Valerie didn't think twice. She was going to face Alexa, get the answers she desperately needs, and then, if possible, save herself and Eric.

Once night fell, Valerie drove to Alexa's hideout, and entered for the very first time. What she saw totally spooked her. The walls were plastered with photos of Laura, some of them with what appeared to be claw marks; a clear shrine to her wife's madness and obsessive nature.

"Beautiful, isn't it?" Alexa asked as she appeared to Valerie.

"What is this?" asked Valerie. "How long had you been stalking Laura? And how long have you been a...a...?"

"Werewolf?" Alexa said with a twisted smile. "First off, one question at a time. I didn't think I'd even hear about something we see in movies, let alone be attacked by one, but two months ago, it happened. You would think that it would be a curse, but no. I needed this. Ever since then, my eyes have been open." As Alexa made her last statement, her eyes displayed her animalistic yellow color, which spooked Valerie.

"From that moment," Alexa continued, "I realized that you're nothing more than a two-faced, two-timing bitch!"

"What are you talking about?" asked Valerie.

"I know you were seeing Laura behind my back!" shouted Alexa.

"No, I wasn't, Lex," said Valerie.

"Don't lie to me!" snarled Alexa. "I tracked you two! I saw the way you were looking at her. You've been seeing her all this time!" Alexa continued to seethe after her rant, while Valerie stood completely amazed that Alexa would actually believe her version of events. "The worst part of all of this?" Alexa said. "You saw my bandaged arm, and you didn't even ask what was wrong. You were too busy being obsessed about your mistress!"

"I told you," said Valerie, "I never cheated on you, at all. We only talked and hung out, that's it."

"Even if that were true," said Alexa, "I made sure you could never act on your little impulse. Remember when I said that my feelings about Laura were suddenly gone? That's because I tore that bitch to shreds, and I enjoyed every second that I spent ripping her throat apart." Alexa laughed maniacally following her murderous admission, which included showing off her claws and her sharp teeth. All the while, Alexa noticed Valerie's silence, as well as her look of sheer contentment.

"Val, honey," Alexa said coyly. "What are you smiling about? Didn't you hear me? I killed your little sweetheart. I tore her to shreds!"

"I heard you," Valerie said, right before she took out her cellphone. "And now, the police heard every word. I couldn't just tell them that a werewolf actually killed Laura, so I had to make sure that they got a confession. It's over, Alexa." An enraged Alexa's attempt to lunge at Valerie was met with right hook, and afterwards, Valerie searched the house for Eric, finding him tied up to a chair inside an empty bedroom. Once Valerie untied Eric, both of them rushed out of the bedroom and made a beeline to the living room, where they were startled by Alexa, who appeared in her full werewolf hybrid look.

"What do you think, babe?" snarled Alexa. "I want you to take in this image...before I devour you and your new boy toy." Alexa made her move towards the pair, but all three suddenly heard the sound of police sirens close by. The momental pause allowed Valerie and Eric to run out through the front door, where a pair of police cars were parked. The officers had their guns ready, but at that moment, a loud howl broke out, and it was followed by Alexa emerging and lunging after Valerie. She ended up on the receiving end of several gunshots by the officers, and as Valerie walked towards Alexa, she expressed a mix of sadness and relief, as Alexa allowed her insane jealousy turn her into a monster.

Valerie and Eric became forever bonded by their losses. They continued to keep touch from time to time, with Valerie serving as a caretaker of sorts for Eric's two children. Outside of the officers who were at the scene, Valerie and Eric are the only two people who knew the entire truth about what really happened to each of their significant others, and they plan on keeping it that way.

* * *

Thank you so much for reading this story all the way through! If you liked this story, click the heart and the "subscribe" button; and feel free to comment below! Tips and pledges would be immensely appreciated, as they help support my writing, but no pressure!

Horror
4

About the Creator

Clyde E. Dawkins

I am an avid fan of sports and wrestling, and I've been a fan of female villains since the age of eight. Also into film and TV, especially Simpsons and Family Guy.

Feel free to follow my social media:

Twitter - Facebook - Tiktok - Instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Great story, well done.

  • Great storytelling

  • Mariann Carroll11 months ago

    Excellent story telling, wonderful job 👍👌👏👏👏

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.