Fiction logo

Beyond

And adventure beyond our world

By Matias CostaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2

Notes for the readers: This is a prologue for an idea of a story I have had in my head for a long time. There's still a lot of things I need to work on since it's my first time putting it on paper and this is a story I've honestly had with me for many years so there's definitely a lot of polishing to be done! Characters and writing that needs maturing. The title is still a work in progress, though, and might change as the story progresses. I'm hoping that I will be able to continue this as an actual story, chapters and all, and post them here for anyone to read, comment, and hopefully help me build this up. I do appreciate input as this is my first time doing something like this. Thank you for taking time to read this!

Prologue

The sky was illuminated by the flash of lightning, blinding, silencing even the roars of the torrential rain that was pouring down on the cloaked lady carrying an unconscious teenaged girl.

"You cannot hide in the dark" said a voice so smooth and calm, it was hard to believe that it belonged to such a vile and malicious person. "You cannot run away from me." He galloped on his mount towards the fleeing woman with an unnervingly tranquil pace, as if he truly knew they could not escape him and nothing they did could change that.

"He cannot take you," the woman said to the unconscious girl. "You and the others are the only ones with the power to stop his takeover. He cannot take you!" The woman tried to explain to the girl, knowing full well she was truly talking to herself. "I have to help you escape and hide! Without you, this world's fate is sealed!" She desperately ran in the direction of the thick forest to the south, having heard the rumors that there was a hidden village said to be protected by a Deity. If the legends were true, she could find refuge for the girl there.

She willed her damaged and tired legs to keep running, moving closer and closer to this supposed holy forest, but they were already way past their limits and, with the wind and rain howling on her ears, she did not notice the arrow until it was too late.

Her left leg gave up as she screamed in pain when she saw the arrow pierce her calf. The girl fell on the mud sliding a little too far away from her, splashing them. The cloaked woman tried to lift herself back up but it was too late. The rider had reached them. With a victorious grin, he dismounted and raised his massive onyx blade. With the sword raised, he told the lady: "I expected more from a creature with great a power as yourself, but I'm glad you have already found your place, kneeling before me in the dirt."

"You cannot kill me, you know that well. I will be back and I will come for you."

"Good! And I will kill you again and again and again until the end of times. But do not pretend I am here for you for there is no foolish attempt you can make to distract me, as you have done in the past. Today, you do not interest me. It is that precious treasure you carried all the way out here for nothing that has my full attention. So goodnight, my dear. See you when you wake up from your death."

And with a sinister laugh, he swung his sword, like a predator pouncing at his prey.

Fantasy
2

About the Creator

Matias Costa

Always loved making up stories and adventures in my mind. Thought I'd start putting some of them on paper! (or website haha). Lived all over the world!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.