Fiction logo

Beautiful Treasure

A short story

By Paula-Maree CavenettPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

Within an old cardboard box, hidden away in some dark and dusty corner of life, I happed upon a most curious and precious thing! Wrapped in a brown paper bag of sorrow, sitting lonely and defeated, was a mysterious, faded and enigmatic jewel. This once loved treasure had been cast aside like a raggedy toy because the beholder tired of amusing themselves with it. It lay abandoned, broken, and shabby, left to some lonely remembrance.

Reaching out to it, my hands clasped this precious thing like an orphan child. I gazed deep within its fragile walls. I could not see an end to the beauty and complexity within it...its splendour was wispish and frail, yet it was like a puzzle of fractal layering of experience upon emotion, an array of gloriousness. This wonderous treasure, the perpetrator of life, the vessel for loves overflowing streams, lay abandoned. How could someone toss aside something so beautiful and so unique? What manner of person is sufficient enough that they did not require the offerings of this wonderous and magical thing?

I looked upon the thing in wonder, I felt a faint rhythmic whisper throbbing within its walls as though it was coming to life within the hands that held it. The hope within it spoke to me, it beckoned me closer to it. I wanted to own its beauty for myself so covetously I hid it away and kept it safe. I nurtured it with my tears and explored it with my soul, drowning in its faceted complexity and bathing in the beauty of what it is, was and could be. What was it? It was a heart...the heart of someone so precious and wonderful...it was truly the most beautiful heart I have ever beheld.

Why is it that no one sees these seemingly invisible gems or even judges on their merits? Like small-minded creatures attracted to shiny, generic, and conformist trinkets, they scurry to gather up brightly coloured, hollow objects to build their habitats, neglecting the true jewel of eternal satisfaction contained therein.

I could not believe my fortune when I happed upon this treasure. Full of dark mystery, its radiance lights my way and its warmth, like nectar, sustains my soul, even in my darkest hour. By this I am held a glorious captive, lost in its enigma and beauty. We became transformed into a single entity, a oneness, like two coloured shafts of energy, swirling and dancing, solidifying into a beautiful beam of light that slips across naked skin of two hidden lovers in the moonlight, turning eyes of fire into passion and molding souls into a chorus of angelic rapture. This is my soulmate, may he rest in peace, the heart to which I belong, the treasure of my soul. He is all that is pure and good, loving and kind...his is the most beautiful heart I have ever beheld.

Writers Note: This little story is dedicated to my late husband Richard Scott Cavenett, may he be remembered in death like he was in life, my beautiful Prince of Shadows, who passed away on the 23rd of August 2020. I loved him more than my own life. He will forever be with me as my beautiful treasure. His ashes were used to make a 14-carat diamond in Switzerland, to remember him forever and always keep him with me. If you are lucky enough to find such a love, hang onto them for as long as you can and do not forget to tell them you love them often as you never know when your time with them is up.

Love

About the Creator

Paula-Maree Cavenett

I have been writing published poetry and non-fiction books for the past ten years and now I thought I would dip my toes into the mystical realm of fiction! Wheeee!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Paula-Maree CavenettWritten by Paula-Maree Cavenett

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.