Fiction logo

Barstable, the Night Warrior

A Story Every Day in 2024 8th Feb 39/366 For R M Stockton's February Write Club Prompt

By Rachel DeemingPublished 3 months ago 2 min read
10

This story has been written for RM Stockton's February Write Club Prompt and you can read about that below:

This month's prompt is to write about the monster under your bed.

I'm also aiming to write a microfiction story a day every day in 2024. No more than 366 words. A link to access the stories I have written so far is below:

***

She doesn't know I'm here. But she would know if I wasn't.

She's my Leanna.

I am Barstable and I am a Night Warrior, a protector of dreams. By day, I lurk in the spaces under Leanna's bed, manipulating my bulk into the space left by the Keeper of the Clothes, Stowa and the Ruler of the Toys, the Bear King, Ted. Other things join us in our daytime respite: the Cloak of Sugar, Crinkly Wrapper and the Catcher of Germs, Clean-X; perhaps one of the Sock People. Spider soldiers come and go, always redeployed and we had a one time visit from Mouse, role unknown.

I rest hard as my nights are demanding. I love Leanna. She is my charge. She dreams fantastically! My, oh my! The winds that rise from her night-time imaginings tweak me and prod me playfully, the impish delights! They know that I'm here for them, to keep them from the Stealers. I love them too.

Stealers want her dreams for themselves and Leanna's dreams are gold dust. Stealers will grab and grasp, sneak and seek, ambush and attack, whenever they can to blacken and tarnish.

And steal.

Every night, they come and every night, I am here.

The one she calls "Mum", sometimes the one she calls "Dad", come and read from the pages of other dreamers' journals. Leanna likes lions, dinosaurs and oceans best and I am like all.

I love stories.

Slowly, her eyes relax and my work begins. First, the quiet. Stealers are stealthy. I shield Leanna as her dreams begin to rise. And then the attacks come. They are crafty, Stealers. Sly. They like to hurt, scratch. I have scars. And sometimes, they manage to stain a dream and make it black. None stolen on my watch yet but I have seen her whimper and twitch as a Stealer's black claw tears at a dream's fabric, grabbing a thread for itself.

You'll have your own Stealers, intent on darkening the things to which you aspire; who, like the weight of an anvil, will tie themselves to you to bring you down to earth; who thwart and limit and deride.

I hope you have your own Barstable.

***

366 words

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read it please do leave a comment as I love to interact with my readers. And check out RM Stockton's writings as well as the other entries for the challenge as there are some good ones already out there.

39/366

Short StoryMysteryMicrofictionLoveFantasyFableAdventure
10

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Bonnie Bowerman3 months ago

    Loved it!

  • Holly Pheni3 months ago

    Really nice writing voice! I like the whimsy here, with a shadow lurking around its edges.

  • D. J. Reddall3 months ago

    "The Bear King, Ted" has got to be my favorite member of the little pantheon you conjured here. Nice work!

  • I don't know if I have a Barstable but if I do, then he must be terrified of the things that go on in my head 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Loved your story!

  • What a nice monster to have lurking around. And it's good she keeps plenty of things under there to keep it company.

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    I hope I do too, he's quite cute!

  • This is a beautiful, soul-nourishing story, Rachel. We all need a Barstable to watch over us! I love how you describe Leanna's dreams as "gold dust" and the relationship you show between her dreams and Barstable: "The winds that rise from her night-time imaginings tweak me and prod me playfully, the impish delights! They know that I'm here for them, to keep them from the Stealers. I love them too." That is magical! I love this story so much!

  • John Cox3 months ago

    I need to sack my Barstaple. Useless oaf! Seriously, this is a delight, Rachel! ‘The pages of other dreamers’ journals’ is a delicious line.

  • Grz Colm3 months ago

    Fun work! Reminds me of the BFG. Hope you are going well. 😊

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    I love this. Though my Barstaple is a bit lazy.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.