Fiction logo

Barriers

Challenging the stairways of hypocrisy.

By Lamar WigginsPublished about a year ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
8
Image by David Mark from Pixabay

"Martin to the office please!"

My boss summoned me via the phone-to-phone paging system. Danielle, the secretary waved me in. Her smile indicated good news.

My ego quickly shriveled, until I was this tiny man in a colossal chair who ingested the piles of dung coming out of his mouth.

"It's okay, Martin. You'll get that promotion one day. You're excused."

Perturbed, my tongue became unlatched. Words locked away in my arsenal were finally liberated.

After the cleansing tirade was over, my boss paged the entire office. "Everyone Congratulate your new project manager, Martin. Today, he grew a pair."

By Thomas William on Unsplash

AdventureShort Storyfamily
8

About the Creator

Lamar Wiggins

Creative writer in the Northeast US who loves the paranormal, mystery, true crime, horror, humor, fantasy and poetry. Take a chance, you'll be thoroughly entertained.

"Life is Love Experienced" -LW

LDubs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hubler12 months ago

    Oh wow! I did not see it ending like that. And damn, I felt that being called to the office anxiety. Great work on this one!!

  • belulielabout a year ago

    Called to the office like that? Sheesh, the anxiety would eat me alive. The ending and the implied, unwritten verbal lashing was funny!

  • Oh, I saw that going somewhere else. I'm not sure if I'm comfortable with the gamesmanship, but at least he got the promo!

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Can so relate to Martin-,lol! Though unfortunately in the non fiction he would probably need to get his cardboard box ready! Great job ❤️

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    LOL, if only it was that easy most of the time! You really paint a picture of management politics here Lamar. Well done!

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Genius! I hope you receive a TOP STORY honor for this because this was too good to not have more eyes on it! Well done Lamar!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    hahaha...good for Martin!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.