Fiction logo

Band of the Raven

Chapter 7: Secrets

By Ryan HamannPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

Kiara closed her eyes once again and focused on the empty space. Within a few moments the sound of water flooded back into her ears and footsteps pounded above her. She opened her eyes quickly and gasped loudly for air. Her body fell over itself as she grabbed her chest. She panted frantically to regain her composure. You need to relax before our heart gives out. Valkyria’s voice echoed. "It would be a shame if we didn’t even make it out of this cellar."

Kiara slowly stood and straightened herself. “Stay quiet and just observe until I need you. That was the arrangement.” She said as she proceeded to the stairs. "Alright, I’ll stay quiet." Valkyria said in annoyance.

Kiara approached the doors to the tavern of the lodge as the crowds began to rush the bar behind it. She took a deep breath and gently pushed the heavy wooden door open to reveal Brendiel and Darin sitting with mugs in front of them while talking to the bartender.

“This bloke right here next to me spun and grabbed my arm and the next thing I knew I was in the darkest parts of the underworld! He cheated is what he did!” Brendiel called out in a drunken mess. He patted Darin on his back hard and pushed the warlock forward, spilling his drink on the bar. “Yet I still found a way to fight my way back to the land of the living. It was a challenge to be sure, but the mighty hand of the mountain folk reigned over the underworld once again!”

Darin turned in annoyance and shook his head. "I let you out. You were in that maze for the entire course of the two days." Kiara sat down at the bar next to them and raised her hand to order a drink.

“My lady!” Brendiel called out in a roaring, drunken boom. “How faired your training?” He asked as he guzzled more ale down his throat.

“It was to be expected.” She replied and gave a faint smirk as she watched the ale dripping off the man’s chin. Darin turned and looked intently into her eyes. A look of concern and panic flooded over him.

"What have you done?" He exclaimed inside her mind.

"Get out of here, demon! This mind is occupied with enough voices as it is!" Valkyria called back at Darin. He leaned back in shock. Rage filled his eyes. He twisted his body and flipped his cloak behind him.

“What has you all flustered now?” Brendiel called back as he put his drink down and watched as the warlock sped towards the stairs leading to the bedrooms.

“He is going to confront Killian.” Kiara spoke softly as she reached out for her drink that was placed in front of her. ‘You know how Darin can be. He is one of the oldest members of the party, remember?”

“Still,” The man turned back to the counter. “He should know through all those years of serving with both of you that Killian always has a plan in motion. Even before he brings the missions to us.” A loud crash came from above them along with an eruption of Killian’s voice.

“Get out of here Darin! I will decide what is needed! You are here only because of what I have done for you! Do not forget your place!” Quickened footsteps echoed closer as Darin escaped down the stairs and through the door, but not before he glanced back at Kiara who stared back intently. He scoffed and exited the tavern.

A few moments later, Killian slowly descended the steps as well and approached the bar. He placed his callused hand on Kiara’s shoulder and gave her a loving smile.

“How is she?” he asked.

“Angry, but willing to help us.” She replied.

He is much more than what I remember! Let me out just this once! I must have him! Valkyria called out to Kiara.

“She wants to see you. It seems your fight all those years ago aroused her in ways only a warrior can understand.” She turned back to her drink once more and glanced over at Brendiel. He was smiling behind his mug as ale continued to drip.

“Well that was to be expected. Make sure you get some rest. Once the morning breaks, Harly and Mira will go into training and only you will be able to hold them for the two days. Then we will set out to the north.” He glanced over at Brendiel as he was finishing his most recent drink. “How many have you had?” gesturing to the overwhelming scent fermenting off his body.

“Not enough!” He laughed heartily as he raised his hand for another to the bartender. Both Kiara and Killian shook their heads in amusement.

“At first light I will be leaving to make final arrangements for our journey. I am going to find Darin. It seems my methods are not suitable for the dark one. Make sure Brendiel makes it to his room tonight. Believe it or not he finds the company of animal pens quite comfortable if he is not drawn to his room after a night of drinking.” He chuckled and slid his hand off Kiara’s shoulder. He walked slowly and gracefully to the doorway and pushed open the door, vanishing into the night.

The air was brisk, and the streets were vacant. Very few houses still had candles lit in their windows. Killian walked to the square and looked around. “I know you are here.” He called out calmly. Darin slipped through a shadow of a nearby building and slowly approached his leader. He was fully cloaked and all that could be seen was the tip of his nose and his chin.

"I need an explanation. Darin started. What could we possibly gain from unleashing that monster back into this world?"

“Do you not have faith in Kiara? Has she not proven her ability to resist the temptations that arise from Valkyria?” Killian spoke in protest. “What truly is on your mind, my old friend?” Killian knelt and grasped at the cold ground beneath him, rubbing his hands together.

"This mission seems odd. You and I both know what awaits us to the north. That castle has never been breached since the high king took charge. Talks of dragons now gloom over the skies beyond the woods. There is a reason no one has taken this task."

“If you doubt the mission, I fear you doubt me as well.” Killian slowly raised his head up with a flicker of red glazing over his eyes. “Do not take my aggression as weakness. I know full well what is going to await us. The king is a descendant of my blood line. The blood of my father runs in his veins. Another bastard forged in greed and gluttony. As long as I am holding form, it is my duty to right the wrongs set into motion. I owe it to Idrial.” He slowly stood and cast a great shadow over the dark figure. “If you think I have faltered in this quest, cast your shadow and I will show you my resolve.”

Darin took a step back and bowed his head. "I do not wish that. Valkyria is a monster of war. My fear is not with Kiara. My fear is with her. Nothing more. Remember the lengths you had to go to subdue her last time. What are you not telling us?" Darin echoed, trying to bring the conversation back into his favor, calming the warrior in front of him.

“It is not this quest I am preparing her for.” Killian stepped forward. “Something is growing in the west. I can feel it. Something tingles my spine. A growing gloom disturbs the air. I felt it as soon as we reached the riverbed on our last mission.” He reached his hand out in peace. “Will you join me, brother?” Darin released the tension in his shoulders and grasped Killian’s forearm.

"Till the end, my king."

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Ryan Hamann

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.