Fiction logo

Baker

(Short story by @nameless.naru)

By Nameless NaruPublished 10 months ago 5 min read
1

Prologue:

I bake, and bake and bake. But all I bake is cookies. I burnt, ruined, and trashed many batches. Tears flooding my eyes for every batch I ruined. Almost nothing made me sadder, nothing made me angrier. I hated the sight of ruined food, specially cookies. It makes me relive everything, as if I ruined a life all over again. But never had I given up on baking cookies. I always came back after crying and throwing my little recipe notebook. I always came back.

Baker (by Naru):

"Are they there yet?" I groaned as I slumped on the couch, staring at the clock.

"They're not even late," my mom called from the kitchen, "chill."

But I already had the entire house spotless, and got ready a whole hour prior. My phone made a notification, and my head perked up in recognition, I had set a special notification for her.

I opened the text message, "We're here."

My grandma was at my home as well, and she giggled as I ran and opened the door to greet my friend as if I haven't seen her just two days ago in school.

"Look what mum got us," she mumbled and held up a cookie jar. My face lit with delight, they were our favorite. I thanked her mother and we both went inside.

We immediately opened the jar and started munching on the kinder cookies. "woah, how do they even make these?" I said, amazed with the taste.

Meanwhile, she ate silently, shrugging. But I could tell she loved these cookies more than I did. I knew her love for cookies. She'd be sad sometimes, but she would cheer up whenever something involved cookies. And maybe when I was there for her. Maybe.

I remember her face lighting up as I made jokes and rambled. I had promised her I'll never leave her side, but she often needed me to reassure her every once in a while. I loved her, and I felt it was my job and responsibility to make her happy. Otherwise, I thought, I don't deserve happiness if I didn't share it.

"I wonder how cookies taste when they're right out of the oven," she once said.

"then they'd be the softest!" I marveled. She always liked softer cookies, and so did I.

That was when I promised her I'll learn baking cookies and make her the perfect fresh cookies she'll ever taste. That put a smile on her face, and on mine.

Had I known things would go downhill from there, I would have never made that promise.

I had to leave the country.

I bit back tears as I parted ways from her a couple months later, but I still baked, I still practiced. Batch after batch. The smell of cookies reminding me of her smiling face as she held up a cookie jar. The cookies I made burned, crumbled, and were as crunchy as rocks. The cookies I made were hard, not soft. The cookies I made would crumble in my hands as I took them out of the oven. And such did our friendship as days passed by. We fought, and fought. Too much happened that I lost track of what the problem was. And I thought that if only I could make these cookies, if only I could fix them. Then I'll soon be back and she'd taste what I made and tell me she never tasted anything better. Soon, someday...surely.

I stared at the disclaimer on my phone, "you have left this group."

I left. I disappeared. I stopped engaging on any internet platform we shared, I was just gone.

My baking practice started getting aggressive. And so was the way I handled every failed batch. I'd cry and relive every fight we had, everything she said, and everything I did.

But one day, my mother gasped with delight as she took a bite of a perfect, soft, kinder cookie.

I bake, and bake and bake. But all I bake is cookies. I burnt, ruined, and trashed many batches. My tears flooding my eyes for every batch I ruined. Almost nothing made me sadder, nothing made me angrier. Nothing made me forget why I started baking those cookies in the first place. Nothing made me forget the fact that the person I wished to be the first to taste those cookies will now never even know of them. It made me angry, it made me sad. I see her in every single cookie I pull of out of the oven. I see her beside me as we used to buy cookies from the school canteen, quickly scanning them, looking for the softest ones. I remember offering her a bite, only she stole the whole thing and laughed.

How much I wish things were different. How much I wish we were still friends, how much I wish everything could go back to normal. But as I looked at the faces of everyone else's reactions as they tasted my cookies, I found a reason to keep baking.

Nothing was more rewarding than seeing how I make people smile. I wouldn't care if I didn't get a portion, just seeing people smile in delight as they eat my cookies means everything to me.

And, even if we never see each other again, I hope that one day, somehow, I can draw the same smile on her face as well.

PsychologicalShort StoryLoveClassical
1

About the Creator

Nameless Naru

Hello!

I am Naru and I’m a storyteller and artist. Here is my Instagram art account: @nameless.naru

And my YouTube channel where I write short stories in the descriptions: ZenTone

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.