Fiction logo

Backcountry skiing

by Kendra Nelson

By Kendra MaryaPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
Like
Backcountry skiing
Photo by Robson Hatsukami Morgan on Unsplash

I’m conscious for all of it. The initial fall, the snow heaving down in a torrent of violence - smashing my body around without a care. It isn’t pitch black as I'd always imagined it would be. My eyes adjust to see a blue tinged light, while I hear my own panting in the cochlea of my ear.

Screaming, the noise remains planted around my face. The air is already beginning to feel hot, despite the snow that encapsulates me.

“I’m here, I’m here!” the words sputter from my burning lips.

Heavy breathing remains the only sound. My arms and legs are restrained as though I’m a person who can’t be trusted to not hurt themselves or others. As helpless as a turtle on its back in the frying sun.

The pulse of my body aches for fresh air, while my desperate breaths suck the satisfaction out of what’s left. I choose to scream with the remnants of oxygen, as silence would only ensure death.

“Here! Here! Here! Here!”

Particles of light beyond my snowy grave began to twinkle. This must be it; this is how it ends. An image of my frozen body being discovered enters my mind.

“I’m sorry god, please forgive me,” I whisper, just in case it turns out to be true.

Claws of fingers pull the snow from my eyes. The sky never looked so blue.

“Don’t worry buddy, we’re here. We’re here now,” neon red sleeves come and go as he digs me out.

Microfiction
Like

About the Creator

Kendra Marya

Campervan living Canadian with a penchant for psychological thrills and cats.

B.A. Communication & Philosophy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.