Fiction logo

August: 02

A folklore's story

By Qu3zia V3igaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
August: 02
Photo by Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

I remember our first Friday night.

That night was one of my favorite childhood memories

We decided that day that we would watch as many horror movies as possible before my parents found out and sent us to sleep.

We made a tent with sheets, stocked chocolate in our pockets, used flashlights to light the room, and watched the horror movie on an old television my family owned.

I remember that I almost could not control my animation to finally watch a real horror movie. And when the horror finally started, I almost gave up on that idea and went back to movies appropriate for my age group. But Jason did not let me give up — although I nearly died of fright more times than I remember.

At the end of the night, after more chocolate than I could count, we watched just a horror movie. And because we were scared even of our shadow, we watched an animated film before going to sleep.

And when I was almost asleep, I heard a whisper from the sleeping bag beside me, “Goodnight Summie.”

***

On Saturday morning, after breakfast, our doorbell rang.

We were watching a cartoon in the living room. And as soon as my mother opened the door and Jason listened, the voice of the person in the door, he got up from the sofa and ran to the door with a smile on his face.

“Let's go, Summie,” he said while running.

And when I arrived in the entrance hall, I saw him for the first time.

Aaron Hill. Jason’s brother.

“Hello, strange,” he said with a smile to Jason. “I hope you haven't given Mrs. Moore trouble.”

“Nope. I was a perfect guest, thank you very much,” Jason said confidently.

“Okay, Sir,” Aaron said, still smiling. And after a moment turned to my mother, “Thank you so much, Mrs Moore, for letting Jason spend the night at your house playing with Summer.”

“No problems Aaron. Summer loved spending more time with Jason. Wasn't it Summer?” My mother said, looking at me.

I waved at that unknown boy as I hid behind my mother.

“I think I forgot to introduce myself to you, didn't I?” he asked, making a face. “Okay, I’m Aaron Hill, at your service, my lady,” he said, bowing lightly. “And you miss? What is your name?”

I remember slowly stepping out from behind my mother, and I tried to look like a real lady.

“Summer,” I said, and after a moment I heard my mother clear her throat, “Moore. I’m Summer Moore,” I fixed, even though I knew he already knew my name. “It's nice to meet you, Mr, Hill,” I said, bowing just like Aaron.

At the end of our little theater, I went back to my mother with a smile on my face, totally satisfied with my courtesy.

Aaron smiled at me. A smile similar to the one he gave Jason.

“Okay, go get your stuff Jason, dad has finished putting his trampoline together,” Aaron said.

“Trampoline?” My mother asked.

“Yeah, my mom promised that the new house would have a trampoline. So Jason was looking forward to it, honestly he was a little crazy about it,” Aaron said trying to contain his laughter.

After only a few minutes after he had gone upstairs, Jason had resurfaced, ready to leave.

“Come on Summie, we have to see my trampoline,” Jason said impatiently.

“Can I go, mother?” I asked with wide eyes.

My mother turned to Aaron and raised an eyebrow.

“Well, I think it's okay. But we can ask my mom,” Aaron said slowly.

***

I will always remember that day with the Hills.

We stayed all morning on the trampoline.

Our families had lunch together — I think that day was when our parents started to be friends.

In the afternoon, Jason and I played video games with Aaron — I lost more than I gained, but the fun with them was worth the humiliation of defeat.

And when we started to get hungry, Aaron baked cookies for us.

Moreover, at the end of the day we watch the sunset lying on the trampoline.

Love
1

About the Creator

Qu3zia V3iga

I'm trying to write a book.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.