Fiction logo

Asylum of the Green Lights

Escape from the Asylum of the Green Lights

By Gayland ColesPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

So the initial start was questionable especially when every green light flashing and blinking seemed to take control of something on my body. Those green lights were controlling my every move including the blinking of my eyes. It seemed to be the bright green light that held my eye blinks to a measured rhythm, but it was the dark green light that managed my brain n body, thought n movement, forcing me to think that I am a robot or some kind of artificial human form being tested for specifically designed functioning purposes. No! I exclaimed loudly in my mind I can't be anything else, I am human, but I still had no authority over myself I was under control.

I was like putty when the dark green light began to flicker on and off. I was and am under some kind of manipulation study, but wait! How am I doing this wrangling of my arms and legs? I hear myself hollering in my mind to stop this I know I hear myself screaming at the top of my lungs. This is awkward; I lost control of my upper and lower body extremities before I slumped over uncontrollably. Then, I saw the dark green light flicker three times and stayed on the fourth light up, then, I was involuntarily slumped over into this uncomfortable position I am now screaming in agony and pain about, but no one can hear me not even myself.

Why won't the bright green light let me blink my own eyes? The strain is hurting so badly now tears are welling up and streaming profusely fr0m my eyes. Suddenly while I was slumped over I did a rollover or maybe it was some kind of flip like a child would do; however, I know it is something I would never do on my own ever because I am not athletic at all. I feel taking my dog for a walk or run is too much wear n tear on me so I just let her out in the backyard so she can be on her own that's good enough for me.

Now, I find myself rolling back n forth on the floor what is this dark green light? How did I get here, and where is here? My eyes are blurry and cloudy with so many tears from not blinking. My mind is so confused and full of chaos from all the jibber-jabber going through my mind I don't know what these irritating echoes are, is the dark green light-emitting frequencies or some kind of sound waves as I saw five flashes of the dark green lights are those five flashes the subject of the sound agony raging throughout my mindset ending my thoughts completely. I got so many questions, but, who am I going to ask because I can't hear myself think let alone talk? There isn't any explanation or no one in this room except for those other people reacting to the same influencing effects of the dark green lights. I tried screaming again for help my mouth would not open, and my screams became deafening under the hurting and irritating sounds n my head. Stop it, please somebody stop it, I beg you my head is about to burst, boom! Next thing I feel my face hit the wall hard.

Why am I looking at a gray blank wall with nothing to see but a grimy gray wall, who is punishing me? If I can wake up from this out-of-body experience dream please let me get up now, let me get out of bed now. I can't hear myself thinking about anything, there is no conscious talking going on in my mind it's like all self-communication has been cut off from me inside my head. Am I dead or have these green lights been turned up and now are in charge of me, if so, who is turning those green lights up making me invisible to myself, making me disregard my own self motivations, and my mindlessness is horrifying? Is this my new reality a virtual vapid decline of a life controlled by dark green lights?

Somehow, I must escape. I must escape this asylum of green lights. I first must regain control of myself, but how because I cannot control my bodily functions or thoughts? I don't have a plan, I don't even remember how to plan. My whole inhibition to think or to move n blink is under siege. I am a prisoner inside myself a mindless non-moving corpse of a robot in my human body I have got to escape this current predicament. How am I crying? I don't know for the life of me I can't even think, oh! what is my name or do I have a name, even more importantly did I have a name before this uncontrollable action took place against me, there is more I need to know so much more do I exist, where am I, where am I from who am I wait what, wait what is my dog name, do I have a dog, how can I escape this asylum of green lights if I can't move?

If only I could roll over from this grimy gray wall. The dark green light had to have given the command to keep me in this spot. I haven't moved in days it seems. My dog, my dog what is her name? I can't remember, but why am I thinking about a dog while I am confined like this, but even still I should know if I have a dog because I named her, but I should know my own name and don't. All this noise it's so loud n excruciating I've never heard this kind of violent noise before I can't cover my ears, I can't think, I can't move, I can't do anything, please help me I wish all these green lights would just go away, just blowout or something. Please, somebody, please do something for me I won't resist I won't do anything that will make you angry or upset. I know that the power of green lights is stronger than me I know that the green lights are greater than me as well because the green lights keep me in m place because the dark green lights have paralyzed me in this same position for days.

Gradually, I attempted to move my fingers or toes I was unsuccessful I couldn't do anything. Am I a cripple person unable to function? I am stuck. I've always thought green lights meant to go, how wrong I am to think so drastically about green lights who am I to think that movement is free to be exerted whenever I want it to be exerted. What a hostile abuse of my negligent thoughts I'm so disillusioned n disingenuous by my graphic recognition of the misuse of movement as I lay contained n unable to blink my eyes until the bright green light says so or to induce movement in my body until the dark green light make me move I am in solitary confinement within the skin of my own body.

Just then my legs started moving. They were adjusting to a seating position I was still facing the grimy gray wall n couldn't see what was going on behind me because I couldn't turn my head to see. How n when did I get n this living horror story controlled by green lights or somebody's sick fetish of maneuvering n manipulating me under those powerful green lights. I think that I feel Something happening to me, but what, hey hey I shouted loudly, but to no avail, what is happening, what is going on, what are you doing?

TO BE CONTINUED

I AM IN CONTROL

WRITTEN BY

Gayland B. Coles

(c) 2021

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Gayland Coles

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.