Fiction logo

Apparent Inheritance

But is it Apparent?

By Autumn Walker-DuncanPublished 2 years ago 19 min read
1
The Nature of Beauty, or The Beauty of Nature?

“There it is, the trailer my Aunt Fey would bring around every summer when I was little.” Sylvie Oaks thought to herself as a mobile home carefully picked its way through traffic behind a pickup truck.

Sylvie thought back to when she had made this decision. She had just come home from her job.

Sylvie hadn’t even closed her umbrella before her landlord Mrs. Shutzniff descended on her about the rent. Sylvie gave her the usual response, “I know I’m always a week late, but that’s my pay cycle. I really can’t help that.” Sylvie knew arguing with her landlord again was pointless, but she had no other option.

Mrs. Shutzniff was ranting about, ‘When she was Sylvie’s age she didn’t HAVE shelter’ again when Sylvie’s eyes saw movement outside.

An old man appeared out of the rain and knocked on the lobby door, ”Hello? I have a package for a Miss Sylvie Oaks”.

“I’m Sylvie Oaks”, Sylvie quickly opened the door, grateful for the interruption.

“Oh good! I’m supposed to deliver this in person you see, it’s very urgent”, the man handed a large envelope to her.

“Hello, I’m Elouise Shutzniff, I didn’t catch your name”, the widow flirted as Sylvie opened the envelope.

“That’s because I didn’t give it, Madame.” The mysterious stranger replied coolly.

“Ahem, of course.” Embarrassed the landlord retreated, “I’d better see that rent tomorrow Miss Oaks”, she added before hastily exiting the corridor.

Sylvie didn’t hear Mrs. Shutsniff though, she was too focused on the paper she was holding. It was an invitation to the funeral of her Aunt Fey and a deed signing over all of her possessions to Sylvie.

Sylvie choked back tears in front of the stranger.

“My condolences Miss Oaks”, the delivery man said gravely.

“Thank you Mr. Uh, Mr.-“, Sylvie sniffled softly.

“Groves”, Mr. Groves answered smiling, handing her a handkerchief.

Taking the tissue from him Sylvie asked through her tears, “Aunt Fey never mentioned you, were you two, friends?”

But when Sylvie looked back up the stranger was gone.

Entering her apartment Sylvie pulled the paperwork out of the envelope again letting out a huge sigh, she sat on her ratty old couch to read the papers more thoroughly.

Sylvie knew that Aunt Fey was definitely not attached to material things; she only had funeral insurance and a trailer. Fey lived freely, traveling wherever she could to help the environment.

On the flip side, she had funeral insurance and no debt. It’s such a simple thing but when you are the sole inheritor that is a huge thing.

Sylvie heaved a huge sigh of relief and began weeping. Hours passed before she fell asleep, but in the morning she had her business face back on and she headed down to Mrs. Shutzniff’s apartment to confidently knock on her door.

Fast forward to today.

“It’s gotten old” Sylvie fretted to herself, “I hope it’s still in good condition inside, I don’t have a plan B.”

A handsome young man poked his head out the window of the truck as he entered the parking lot, “I take it by your expression you’re the new owner” he laughed. “Don’t worry, it passed inspection, it’s an antique but all it needs is a paint job and a little love”, he parked and got out to unhitch the trailer.

“Wait! Don’t unhitch that.” Sylvie said quickly. “You’re only meeting me here, you’re supposed to follow me and set it up, I had to get an advance at work to pay the extra.” She gestured at the diner they were at, “There’s a trailer park near here, but it’s difficult to find if you’ve never been there.”

“Sorry, but nobody told me anything about it” he replied, “Lemmie make a quick phone call at work. I’ll be right back”.

Sylvie watched as the man got back into the truck, she couldn’t hear what he was saying but he came back about ten minutes later with that charming smile back on his face, “It seems that someone messed up the paperwork slightly and someone else got your extras, but don’t worry I will do it anyway and you don’t have to pay for the move as an apology”.

“Wow! Thank you for fixing what could have been the end of a very stressful day” Sylvie said gratefully.

“My pleasure” he answered.

“So which vehicle will I be following?” The driver asked getting back in his truck.

“That big purple truck, over there”, Sylvie pointed at a large truck with an extended cab, a feature she recently became grateful for, because she had been sleeping in it since she moved out. She instead used half her rent for a storage unit and the rest on moving and traveling expenses.

Sylvie pulled out of the parking lot and turned down a back road.

The trailer park was called Pixie Village, supposedly named after the first owner’s obsession with folklore. This landowner bought the property because it was located in a large clearing, surrounded by trees.

Sylvie had a hard time understanding why a place so beautiful was so affordable, until her interview with Ida Springfield the park manager. Sylvie learned that this place was an unofficial co-op where everyone pitches in on community events, gardens, farm work, etc.

It took a while for Sylvie to find her lot. After the driver parked the trailer and leveled it, he wiped his brow and said, “You were right Miss Oaks, this place is hard to find. I’m surprised you knew of it at all.”

“My Aunt liked to visit, she would bring them new seeds, and fertilizer mixes.” Sylvie grabbed a couple of water bottles from her truck and tossed one to the driver, “I had never been until now but I heard lots of stories, I figured since I inherited her trailer I would try living here” Sylvie explained. “I had no idea there would be so many rules though.”

“Yeah, the rules are tough at first but you get used to them”, He answered opening his bottle. “You find out they’re for everyone’s benefit. A lifestyle like this is like a farmer’s life, only more people are involved in the work”.

“You seem to know what you’re talking about, do you live around here?” Sylvie enquired.

“Ah! You found me out, I moved into lot one-fifty two years ago”, the mover answered mischievously.

“Wait a minute!” Sylvie exclaimed looking at her lot number, ‘one-fifty-two’ the sign read on the large rock on the front of her property. She then looked across the street at the rock next door which read, “one-fifty”.

“What a coincidence!”, Sylvie said amused, “So we’re neighbors then.”

“Yep, my name is Ash Braun”, the man stuck out his hand, “. Welcome to Pixie Village.”

“Thank you Mr. Braun”, Sylvie took his hand.

“Please call me Ash”, Ash said kindly.

“Then you can call me Sylvie” she responded blushing.

“I'll see you tomorrow morning then,” Ash said walking away.

“What?” Sylvie replied confused.

“Orientation, you’ll receive a phone call from Ida soon with all the information,” he replied walking backward.

Sylvie giggled and waved goodbye when her cell phone rang.

The caller display said Ida Springfield, and Sylvie smiled, “Hey Ida, what’s up?”

As she spoke to Ida about when to be at orientation and what to bring, Sylvie decided to take her first look at the interior of her new home. The outside of the trailer would lead you to believe Fey had no pride in homeownership, but what the outside lacked the interior had in spades. Beautiful lightweight material folded, slid, and spun into various pieces of furniture. There was a loft for sleeping and a loft for storage granted much of it was full of her Aunt Fey’s old things still.

Sylvie soon decided this was much better than her old apartment. “I could also use the money I saved on the move to fix up the outside when I get back from the funeral”.

At orientation that morning, she was first given a tour of the grounds with Ida and Ash as her guides. The two of them had knocked on her door at six o’clock with coffee and freshly baked muffins.

“They’re still warm,” Sylvie was moved by the gesture.

Sylvie quickly noticed that just because they live in the country and live green, doesn’t mean they don’t use modern tools and appliances. On the contrary, in many cases, the science here was more advanced and innovative. Some were even D.I.Y’s.

Sylvie learned about solar and wind power, free-range poultry, and community gardening. By noon Sylvie’s head was spinning and her stomach was rumbling, fortunately, their next stop was the community mess hall.

“The cafeteria keeps regular restaurant hours with a full-time chef, at Dollar Store prices. The catch is everyone has mandatory volunteer hours as kitchen and cafeteria staff, and the Chef is paid with free rent.” Ash explained.

“Wow, the Chefs got it pretty good doesn’t he?” Sylvie said sitting next to Ash with her food tray.

“I suppose”, Ash replied through a mouthful of salad, “But because of the prices most people just come here to eat, that’s a lot of work for one man and a bunch of inexperienced volunteers.”

Sylvie took a bite of her chicken burger feeling a little sheepish.

“Now that you’re here I’m sure a whole lot of the burden will be lifted though” Ash continued unaware of her embarrassment. ”You said you were a waitress, and prep-chef correct?”

“Yeah, that’s right.” Sylvie said swirling her straw in her juice absently, “It’s the closest thing I can get to Culinary College for now, at least until I can afford to only have one job. Then I can finally apply for school.”

“I see, so that’s why you moved here?” Ash asked now invested in the topic.

“Sort of?” she struggled with her answer, “I probably wouldn’t even have thought of it if it weren’t for my Aunt Fey, she passed away recently and she left me everything.”

Ash choked on his food, “You must have been close”.

“In a way. It’s complicated. I only saw her a couple of weeks a year, it was great. And yes, we loved each other, obviously, but… ” she trailed off sadly.

“You wish you could have been closer.” He finished for her polishing off his meal. “Maybe you can get to know her better through her stuff.”

“You’re right! Maybe there’s a photo album or something. I should look after orientation!” Sylvie said exuberantly. “I don’t have a lot of time before the funeral though, maybe I should wait till I get back.” She deflated a little.

Ash looked at his watch, “Speaking of orientation we should probably meet back up with Ida soon to finish your tour, then we will have you schedule your volunteer hours this month. I will guide you through the paperwork the first time and after that, it will be sent to you electronically.”

They put their trays away and headed back to the main office together, making small talk all the while.

“Ashley Maurice Braun, You’re late!” Ida said as they came in the door, “The point of you dining with the newbie is to stay on schedule you know.”

“If we’re so behind schedule why are you wasting time using my full name?” Ash growled back at her, his face flushed with childish embarrassment.

“Because I know you hate it,” Ida responded as she handed the paperwork to him, “Now try not to be all day about this task, OK?”

Ash smiled wryly at Sylvie, ”Yes Ida. Come on Sylvie, let’s go in the back room where there’s a table.”

By sunset Sylvie was exhausted, she decided to shower and turn in early.

Sylvie said her goodbyes the next day and set out for Ivy falls for the weekend. Five hours and two truck stops later, she arrived at the Ivy Motel. An inexpensive, somewhat hygienic hovel. Sylvie researched thoroughly before reserving.

Sylvie quickly checked for bedbugs before getting ready for bed, dreading tomorrow.

That night Sylvie had a dream, her Aunt Fey was outside her mother’s house handing something small to Sylvie’s mom. Next thing she knew Sylvie was flying over an ocean holding hands with her Aunt, their other hands cleaning the pollution as they passed.

Sylvie woke up suddenly at a knock on the door, she checked the time, four o’clock. She threw on a robe and looked out the peephole, “We need to talk” came a familiar voice through the door.

“Mr. Groves, what brings you to my door at such an hour?” Sylvie asked cautiously through her deadbolt.

“Well, as it turns out you may be my daughter.” Mr. Groves confessed bluntly. “I just found out myself, and I figured we should set a few things straight before your mother’s funeral today”.

“It’s not my mom’s funeral it’s my Aunt Fey’s, and I don’t know where you got the idea that I’m your daughter but my mother was always faithful to my father!” Sylvie then slammed the door.

An envelope was slipped under the door, “Fey was your mother, and the answers are all there.

Hospital records, DNA, etc.”, Mr. Groves continued through the door. “Your mother spent two years with her sister while I was on tour, when I got back we continued traveling together.”

Sylvie looked through the official documents as he spoke.

Sylvie opened the door again in tears “I guess we have some things to talk about”.

“Go get dressed I know a great all-night dinner” he grinned excitedly at her.

Sylvie got dressed as fast as she could, thrilled at the idea of still having a living relative.

Sylvie walked out the door but couldn’t see Mr. Groves anywhere.

“Sylvie?” She heard as she was looking around the building “Your Aunt’s funeral was here?” It was Ash carrying a bucket of ice in his boxers.

“Yeah, what are you doing here?” Sylvie asked incredulously.

“I had to pick up a special part for a tractor”, Ash explained flustered.

“Well I won’t keep you, I’m just meeting my father for an early breakfast”. Sylvie boasted looking at everything other than Ash.

“I thought you said your aunt was your last living relative” Ash inquired confused.

“I thought so too, but look at this” she handed him the papers, “This says that my aunt is my mom and Mr. Groves is apparently my dad”

“Sylvie, there you are” Mr. Groves hobbled up “I’m sorry dear, I had to use the facilities. Shall we?”

“See you later Ash,” Sylvie said as she met up with Mr. Groves.

“Wait you forgot your-” but they were already gone.

As the waitress brought their coffees they talked about the hard times, and the good times but whenever Sylvie brought Fey or their relationship up Mr. Groves would say something like, “It’s too soon”, or “I can’t seem to recall”.

However, halfway through the main course, Mr. Groves became very interested in Fey’s trailer, more specifically a ring he gave her several decades ago that he wanted back for sentimental reasons.

“I’m sorry Mr. Groves but I haven’t had a lot of time with the trailer yet and I haven't seen anything like that. In both material and meaning Aunt Fey believed jewelry to be too binding” Sylvie reminisced.

“Please, call me Dad”, Mr. Groves replied nervously.

By the end of dessert, Mr. Groves was getting restless, “Are you, alright Dad?”

“My diabetes is acting up. My Insulin, it’s in my car!” Mr. Groves pleaded.

“Of course! Where’s your car?” she asked putting his arm over her shoulder.

“In the back of the lot”, he wheezed giving her his keys.

Sylvie dragged her father to his car, “Where do you keep it Dad?” she cried. Rooting around in his glove box then she smelled something sweet and felt something wrap around her face. Sylvie blacked out.

“Oh good, you're waking up”, a worried voice pounded against her head painfully. Sylvie cautiously opened her eyes to find herself tied to a chair in what appeared to be a cabin. Ash was busy untying her, which was a difficult task considering how much his hands were bleeding.

“Don’t worry the police are on their way, and that man will never hurt you again.”

“What happened?” Sylvie asked groggily, looking around she saw Mr. Groves unconscious on the floor. “He wasn’t my father was he?” she started putting the pieces together.

“No, he wasn’t.” Ash replied gently helping her to her feet, “From what I’ve gathered He wanted a priceless artifact in your Aunt’s possession”

“Yeah, a ring. I’ve never seen it but he insisted she had it” Sylvie began before the police came in, and they soon became distracted with other things.

After much questioning, Sylvie noticed the sun and realized “I’m late!” she cried out. “Officer, are we done here? I have a funeral to get to.”

“Alright you two can go, but expect a phone call for further questioning”, the policeman replied reluctantly.

“Thank you sir”, Sylvie replied, quickly heading for Ash's truck.

Ash got her to the church just as they were in the middle of the viewing and they slipped into line.

Sylvie’s eyes widened when it was her turn, the ring! Hidden in plain sight, only someone close to her would notice that one piece of jewelry on Fey’s middle finger.

Sylvie took Ash’s hand in hers, when he squeezed her hand comfortingly her tears started flowing. As she took her final look at her Aunt she whispered to the corpse gently, “I wish I knew the truth about you, you were so warm and loving, but so distant and secretive.” Sylvie kissed her Aunts cold forehead before turning to find a seat.

The rest of the funeral went smoothly, and Fey’s body was delivered to the crematorium.

Sylvie attended the reception and met with people from her Aunt’s life she’d never even heard of, midway through the night she realized most of the people here were of good cheer! Not out of disrespect but because they had come from all over the world to say goodbye to a woman who had touched their hearts and changed their lives, all through the afternoon and well into the evening everyone exchanged stories about how the legendary Fey changed the world.

Sylvie felt herself smiling most of the time as well; learning about her Aunt Fey through the eyes of the people she’s helped gave Sylvie insight into Fey’s life from a whole new perspective.

All Sylvie’s life her mother would tell her about how she traveled and helped people, but it was always tinged with anger and sadness. Aunt Fey and her Mother would argue every year when she visited, each night for two weeks after they thought Sylvie had gone to bed. “I can’t settle down, my works to important!” Fey would always stubbornly stick to that point.

“You have responsibilities though! You have to grow up sometime!” Sylvie’s mother would exasperatedly rebuttal.

After the funeral, Sylvie explained everything to Ash over Chinese in her room. Just as she was getting to the part about diabetes her phone rang, it was the officer from the cabin saying it was an open and shut case and that she doesn’t have anything to worry about. “Thank you, officer, Goodbye” Sylvie replied and hung up.

“It’s finally over, so we can go home,” Sylvie said to Ash. “I don’t mean to be rude, but can we talk more tomorrow? I’m very tired.”

“No problem”, Ash gave her a big hug and grabbed all the leftovers, “If you need anything let me know.”

Sylvie giggled a little as he left, grateful that he was there.

Sylvie and Ash both set out for home the next day, they shared pit stops and got to know each other a little bit better. By the time they got home, it was after dark and they were both exhausted, so they didn’t bother saying anything to each other and went straight to bed.

Sylvie settled into life at Pixie Village over the next few days. She enjoyed the structure and simplicity of it all. A week past and Sylvie received two packages in the mail; her Aunt’s ashes and ring.

“The ring survived the cremation, I can put it in a safe place after spreading her ashes.” She said determinedly. “I’ll wear it for the ceremony though,” showing Ash the ring on her finger.

“Do you think the ring is that valuable?” Ash contemplated.

“All I know is it has to remain a secret, Fey spent her life running from that man because of greed”, Sylvie lamented. “It was important to her, she died protecting it. To me though it’s a magnet for trouble and nothing is worth that”.

“Well then, we’d better be getting it over with,” Ash responded standing up.

“OK, let’s go to my family’s lake to scatter her ashes”, Sylvie said resolutely.

“That sounds perfect” Ash agreed. “How ‘bout we make the trip tomorrow, after our volunteer hours?”

“It’s a Date,” Sylvie said coyly, she got up to make coffee, so he couldn’t see how red her face was. “Would you mind getting the new box of filters? They’re on the top shelf of the pantry.”

“No problem,” Ash got up on his tippy toes to reach the filters, but when he pulled the box down it dragged a picture frame that was laying flat on the shelf off and it shattered on the floor.

“I am soooo sorry Sylvie” Ash panics crouching down to clean it up.

“That’s OK, it was just a frame I’m sure the picture's still fine.” Sylvie reasoned.

Ash picked up the picture and noticed something folded up behind it, “Sylvie? I think you’d better look at this”.

“It’s a picture of the last summer we spent together” Sylvie beamed.

“No this”, he showed Sylvie the folded piece of paper. It was a birth registry, an authentic record proving without a doubt that Fey was Sylvie’s Mother!

“I guess Mr. Groves wasn’t lying!” Sylvie was flabbergasted, her father spent his life tormenting her mother, and to keep Sylvie safe she gave her to her sister to raise. “And Mom never knew why.” Sylvie lamented.

“I’ll get the glass, why don’t you finish putting on the coffee?” Ash said comfortingly, putting a hand on her shoulder.

“Okay”, Sylvie answered absently going through the motions of making coffee, her mind reeling with all this new information.

Ash rented a canoe for the two of them the next afternoon and they drove down to the lake her Mother used to live on. The two of them walked down to the water with it, after making it to the center of the lake Sylvie said a few loving words, and scattered Fey’s Ashes in the water.

Sylvie began swishing her hand idly in the water when Ash and she began to witness something extraordinary. All of the litter and pollution began to disappear, the crystal clear water spreading down the channels from where the ring had touched.

Sylvie smiled ecstatically, now knowing she was going to help the world just like her mother.

The End

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Autumn Walker-Duncan

I am a Writer & Illustrator. I graduated from The Toronto Film School's Writing course with honors. I have a loving fiancé, and an even more loving Dog.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.