Fiction logo

Apakoh Drakon

Some Stories are Mythleading

By JBazPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 9 min read
5
Art work By Cole Basaraba- The Authors son

There weren't always dragons in the Valley.

That statement went against everything I now saw in front of me. If my eyes were telling me the truth, then the stories I heard all my life were a lie. I watch in silence as the morning mist stubbornly clings to the terrain below. Creeping along like a living form, wrapping its ethereal body around trees, bush, and boulders alike. As the suns rays break over the mountain and shed its light down into the valley, the truth is slowly revealed.

It is going on two years of pain and madness, since our neighbouring country, Moskal, invaded our small kingdom of Krahaine with out provocation, or justification. Fueled by greed and emboldened by their new religion and a lunatic for a leader.

The actions against my sister led me here. Her bravery and trusting the wrong people got her burned at the stake, alive. Well, of course she was alive, how else would they put fear into the hearts of her followers. If Nyura were already dead and then burned, that would only be a sadistic bonfire. If they would have outright executed her, it would not have given them that for which they were hoping. No, they wanted to hear her scream and beg. They were extremely disappointed, Nyura's silence as she roasted angered, and unsettled them. Giving them no satisfaction and emboldened others, like myself.

She screamed one word at the moment of her death. 'Apakoh.' No one knew what that meant, but they were soon to find out.

It was Nyura who rallied and convinced our people into fighting the invaders. She formed her own resistance force, and named our group Drakon, after the fabled fire breathing creatures, which apparently never lived in the valley. We fought for King and country, winning more battles than any other regiment in the army. We hurt the invading horde. She inspired the soldiers by her presence. Her strategy was unquestionable, her beliefs unwavering. They all knew she would die for them and they for her.

If our country had more regiments like Drakon, with more leaders like Nyura our governing officials may not have done what they did. Instead, our honorable, leaders gave her up to the invading force as an offering, hoping for peace. In return for her loyalty, they let our enemies burn her, and left her charred remains, as a warning to those who dare go against the new and righteous lords of the land.

If that is how our people thank their heroes. I wonder what they would do to me, knowing what I now know.

Adjusting the sword upon my back, I continue staring into the valley below. I hear the shuffling off anxious feet and voices of our company as they mingle. If they are afraid, they don't show it. She taught us well.

The raspy voice of my Capitan breaks the silence. "Lord, the troops are awaiting orders."

With out turning around I softly speak. "Have them make camp here. Choose six of our best to accompany you and I into the valley."

“Should we not take the entire regiment and go down in force?"

Pausing before I reply, “Not at this time, we do not wish to appear aggressive."

“Against whom, Lord?”

As much as I want, I can not share this information. Not yet.

"Go, have them prepare for the foray.”

"Yes, Lord."

As an after thought I call out. "Zelen, ask Gar-Rhek to join me."

It isn't long before there are frantic footsteps crunching on the gravel behind me, I can't help but smile.

"Lord, you called for me?"

"Yes, Gar-Rhek, I would like you to set up a security ward around the camp."

"Lord?"

Suppressing a smile, I turn to reply, "What is it?"

I watch as his youthful face contorts in worry as he tries to express his concern. As a mage, his powers maintain a youthful image. Even though he is roughly twice my age, he appears to be no more than twenty-five.

Fidgeting with his over sized robe, he stutters. "L..Lord, creating a ward of that size would take considerable skill, I am only second mage, not first. I have yet to reach my full level of training."

Taking a deep breath, I reach out and hold his shoulders. "Gar- Tel, was first mage, he was killed in the battle of Dunfork. Therefore, you are now our first mage. How you level up will be based on what you do."

"Yes, Lord." The nervousness never leaves his eyes.

"This war forced all of us into growing up and assume responsibilities we were not ready for. Zelen was a black smiths apprentice, now he is captain. I should be in my final year of studies, still chasing skirts. Readying myself to take over my father’s business, yet here I am. And my sister….”

Gazing into his eyes, I realized how untrained he yet is. His had not gained the full violet colour of a first mage. His eyes are ever changing based on his emotions. I whisper. "Gar-Tel believed in you, and so do we."

He visibly stands taller, although he still only comes up to my shoulder in height. As he turns to leave I call out, "Return when you are done, I wish for you to join us in the valley."

I chuckle to myself, as his shoulders droop once more.

An hour later Zelen approaches with six members of our group. They are exactly whom I wished. Leanhia, the best tracker in any country. The twins Hargon and Hollaran, who's archery skills are legendary, and veteran fighters, Belleck, Narry and Tylorn. They have the most accounted kills of any soldier, of either side.

"We are ready, Kallin." Smiling to myself, Zelen reverts to my first name when he is relaxed. Yet, it was his idea to call me Lord in front of the group. Every so often I think he feels the need to remind me that I am an ordinary person, just like everyone else.

"Shall we move out, Lord?"

"Soon."

Sidling up to me, Zelen leans in and whispers. “Kallin, as your friend I’ll follow you any where. As commander I need to ask, what is the end game here?

I search deep into my soul, wondering how to answer, Zelen notices my struggle.

“Kallin, what do you hope to find down there?" He inquires.

Turning to my old friend I smile, "Nyura believed our future, our only hope for survival."

A low thrumming massages the ground beneath us. All conversation ceases as we let our imaginations wander.

Zelen turns to the others and smiles. “That's our cue to get moving.”

Without question the team picks up their gear and begin to walk down into the valley. Casually continuing their conversation as if it was an everyday stroll.

In moments we hear footsteps then cursing. Turning around we watch Gar-Rhek struggle to free his mages robe, which managed to get tangled around a thorn bush. When all else fails he raises his hand and calls out 'Arrpo.’ In a flash the offending bush vanishes in a puff of ash.

Staring at the grey pile I look up as Gar-Rhek approaches and ask. "Is the camp safe."

Gar-Rhek was beaming. "Yes lord, it wasn't as hard as I thought. Nothing will breach the barrier and no enemy mage will detect our group, I promise you."

I pull out the map once more, it is no more then a rough drawing on a piece of cloth. A cloth torn from a shirt; it is more precious to me than any other item I possess. It was Nyura's.

We were separated not long ago, forced to flee from one of the few battles that hadn't gone our way. The enemy summoned, black leather winged devils that were summoned from the pits of Hellz itself. When she failed to arrive at the rendezvous, we thought she was lost to us forever.

Then a month later Nyura strolled into our camp as if she were never gone. I noticed the change, even if others had not. While we struggled to remain positive, Nyura glowed with hope. When anyone asked about her disappearance, she would remain quiet, smile, and walk away.

It wasn't until later when she confided in me that I thought her crazy. She remained adamant when I expressed my thoughts. Against my better judgement she convinced me that we needed to share this information. She swore it would change the tide of the war. We sent word to our leaders that we were on our way to meet with them. As we approached the castle, Nyura proved she was still herself when she sensed something was wrong. Ordering our company to remain hidden in the forest while her and I entered through the city gates and headed for the castle.

We should have walked away, nothing felt right. The citizens eyes were hollow and lost. I knew better, Nyura must have known, but insisted we continue. She told me 'Fate has its own way to reveal the future'. I believe my brain was so puzzled, trying to comprehend the meaning behind that comment, that I lost my logical sense of reasoning and followed her anyway. Plus, I was really hungry.

As we entered the great hall, all the people we expected to see were there. Our King sat upon his throne; the leaders of our land were hovering around. What wasn't expected were the banners of our enemy that now hung from the walls. We especially didn't expect to see the Moskalette soldiers. We were apprehended the moment we entered, locked up and thrown in a cell. That certainly was not the welcome we were expecting. I was craving some ale and food, all I got was a stale rag shoved in my mouth.

We never had the chance to tell them why we were there. No one asked and we had no intention of sharing it with them. The next day, with our hands tied and our mouths gagged we entered a makeshift courtroom. There, we were tried and convicted by an ugly Moskalette, who played judge and juror. He was no more a judge than we were guilty of treason, which is apparently what we were charged with. We were sentenced to burn at the stake for all to witness.

Knowing we were to die together gave me the strength to remain brave. My mouth was dry, and I prayed no one could see me shaking as they led us from the cell and to our death. Before reaching the courtyard, where we were to be tied to the stake, Nyura hugged me and thrust a piece of cloth into my hand. Her last words to me were a whispered, 'Forgive me.'

I froze, there was something about the way she said it. Before I could reply, a hood was thrown over my head, I was tossed onto a wagon and driven out of the castle and into the forest.

The next day I heard she died in silence. The crowd remained silent with her.

It didn't take me long to figure out, that Somehow Nyura convinced one of our lords to meet with her in private. I never knew what was said or promised, but I believe it was her final words that set me free from the fire.

That night, members of our group snuck in and cut her charred remains down and buried her in a secret tomb. Now we are all criminals, wanted by the very country we fought for.

So, now I stand upon this mountain peering into the valley below. Trembling inside from fear or excitement I couldn't say. Tucking the map into my pocket. 'Forgive me.'

Turning to the group behind me, the same people that retrieved my sister's body. I nod for us to proceed into the valley, where we will find our future, or our death.

They should have Burned me.

Thank you for reading my story, it is greatly appreciated. If you enjoyed please click on the Heart, subscribe, share with others and leave a comment if you so wish.

Jason

Fantasy
5

About the Creator

JBaz

I have enjoyed writing for most of my life, never professionally.

I wish to now share my stories with others, lets see where it goes.

Born and raised on the Canadian Prairies, I currently reside on the West Coast. I call both places home.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Awesome!!!

  • Call Me Les2 years ago

    I really like how you arranged the dialogue and paragraphs. My fav part though is that it involves hiking!! An actual trip through the valley. The end made me sad. The art from your son is phenomenal!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.