Fiction logo

Ant-Man and The Wasp: Quantumania - Movie Review

A Decent Movie

By Havi NagpalPublished about a year ago 6 min read
1

Introduction

we have a new MCU movie that is a new Ant-Man movie. The movie had a really great song choice for the trailer this song was in my head for about two months.

Synopsis

So Ant-Man and the Wasp: Quantumania is essentially the new Journey to the Center of the Earth movie that takes place in the MCU but only half. The MCU Quantum realm is not bare it's not Baron it's not anything there's actually a whole civilization down there and Michelle Pfeiffer's character was running and gunning for 30 years while she was down there a few hours in the quantum realm was five years to us so was she down there for 30 years or was she down there for 30 hours to her I don't know. We're on a new adventure Scott Lang's daughter's like hey I whipped up this device I can communicate with the quantum realm in my garage they all get sucked down into the quantum realm and Kang is there.

Kang

Kang is going to be a problem and I need to try to get out of there unscathed okay what I liked about this movie is very simple it's the thing we all wanted to be awesome but figured would be awesome because anyone who bets against Jonathan Majors is not playing the odds.

Jonathan Majors as Kang was abosolutely epic I don't mind saying he completely made the movie the movie has some fun in there absolutely but it' the basic MCU talking points you have after you see an MCU film he showed up to work and showed up he did not only that a standout MCU villain just in the entirety of the MCU which is great not only for this film but the MCU going forward because it's been like hey who's the new Thanos all right Jonathan Majors as kang we saw a glimpse of a variant o him at the end of Loki but we haven't actually seen him one of the things I liked about Jonathan majors in this movie as Kang is he didn't fall into the MCU trap that a lot of other characters in this movie fall into a lot of other characters and a lot of other MCU movies fall into MCU movies in general fall into and that's the clippiness the mcu's overwhelming urge to make every moment a funny moment have everyone have a snarky clippy response like everyone needs to be funny even when it's out of characters not everybody has to be funny have your comic relief character and that's totally fine but when the shit's going down don't compromise it with humor and this movie does do that but not when Kang is on screen when Jonathan is on screens like everyone like just stand back let him work which was a great call he's engaging as hell he's threatening you know he will follow through on his threats he's a badass villain by any metric.

Atmosphere

Also, I will say some of the CGI'S actually really good in terms of setting an atmosphere for a movie that's essentially borrowing from Journey to the Center of the Earth Tron legacy absolutely in here a little bit of Mad Max Beyond Thunderdome as well I thought the world visually aesthetically speaking I thought it was fun but some of the fightings I noticed like there's when everything was CGI on screen and CGI things were fighting other CGI things it's like the camera knew how to stay on it because it's well it's not a camera but there are some scenes where live action people are fighting and it's really choppy shaky cam times couldn't believe it it's like the shaky cam is the trend we never want to come back but like all Trends, it's coming back and I'm seeing more of it again let's not.

The three acts of this film feel like three different movies sometimes like the First Act was the most interesting we get to this world it's more interesting than I thought it would be and that's because it didn't feel like an MCU movie in terms of the MCU vernacular the way people talk their clippiness it wasn't really there yeah then the ant family gets this McGuffin in which they can all understand everyone which means we can understand everyone and after that a large number of these Quantum realm life forms now talk with that cookie cutter MCU sass has been plaguing the MCU for years things like that make me feel like the mcu's a parody of itself is can we just have that die at Thor love and Thunder I get it I'm not as young as I used to be I'm not as connected maybe I have that old man energy going along a young folk that might be watching this do you enjoy that it's actually a real question I am curious like what's the demographic they're going for so the First Act starts out interesting it starts to drop because of that second act is when we get a lot more Kang like that the third Act is bad I am flipping a coin as to which movie had more things going on for the last act just on screen in general this or the last Act of Aquaman it's a lot going on if for Ant-Man it feels a little weird to me granted ant-man's really the thing that dabbled into the quantum realm because well he's the character with the shrinking Tech and so why not I get it it makes sense but in terms of this Grand scope Adventure it's like Scott Lang Ant-Man was never what I liked about him, I like the smaller personal story of the first movie having him come in for a bigger fight as part of an ensemble with the Avengers that was fun that works but this movie was a lot more than Ant-Man ever needed to be there are more characters in this movie than there ever have been in an Ant-Man movie in terms of protagonist Scott Lang's character the Ant-Man vibe that blue collar everyday man who got to be a hero regardless of the odds it gets lost under the weight of this whole enormous story to be fair they come close to capturing something special with Scott Lang's Arc but this isn't horseshoes or grenades close isn't there which is fine if you choose to see the movie how I choose to see the movie which is Kang the Conqueror versus the ant fan.

Conclusion

This movie worked for me when it was Kang also modoc in it it's not a sport spoiler is it everyone like I knew Modoc was in it and I don't have Twitter if I knew about it I feel like most people knew about that if you feel like that's a spoiler if you're a big Modoc fan don't get your hopes up he is trash in this movie I've never been a Modoc Super Fan myself like modoc's one of those characters that's bobbed and weaved in and out or through Marvel stories that I've known but I was never like oh modoc's badass I need to see Modoc in a movie and if this is Modoc in a movie no one should ever think that he was bad CGI face especially in contrast with like I said the setting looked great so bad Modoc CGI face just looks worse the whole time I was like Modoc is silly at best but worse than that and why is he even here it doesn't need to be here look in the end Ant-Man and the WASP Quantum Mania it was all-right it had some fun Parts Jonathan Majors as Kang was great made the film entirely I just wish the film he was in as a whole was better I feel like this is a better time if you're drunk yeah no it's a Quantum party alright so Ant-Man and the WASP Quantum Mania have you seen it? what did you think about it? so whatever you think comment below and let me know.

FantasySci FiHumorAdventure
1

About the Creator

Havi Nagpal

Hey there, I'm Havi! I'm a passionate movie lover and an avid writer of movie reviews.

My writing style is pretty casual and light-hearted, and I try to inject humor into my reviews wherever possible to make them more engaging.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.