Fiction logo

Another Extraordinary Day

The Saga continues

By Jan PortugalPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
3
Another Extraordinary Day
Photo by Max Okhrimenko on Unsplash

CHAPTER TWO

Bum...ba dum ba dum🎶…Bum..ba dum ba dum…🎶 it was Jayne’s familiar Sherwood Forest ringtone, every time Jessie heard it she couldn’t stop the Pavlov giggle from erupting. “Hiya Toots, did you get any sleep last night?”

”Oh Jess wait’ll I tell you about the dream I had, something is happening to me--after Jerome's lecture--or maybe it was the three pears I ate for dinner. I dunno... But I had this unearthly dream.“

”What! What, what did you dream?”

”Uhm, I don’t know where to start, it bordered on the bizarre, definitely surreal.”

Jessie plopped down in her favorite armchair and put her feet up on the hassock preparing for one of Jayne’s shaggy dog stories. “Was I in it?”

“I don't know...maybe. Something in Jeromes lecture triggered a metamorphosis in me, I swear I can feel my DNA changing. Anyway I woke up convinced I had gained super-powers like Carol Danvers did when she became Captain Marvel.”

“Really?” Jessie squealed sitting up straight crossed leg in the chair. “What was your dream?”

“Jerome came to me...it was so vivid, the words had to have been his because I don't have that kind of knowledge. It was weird Jess, I was strangely comfortable though. I got the feeling he had more to tell me. I’m wondering if anyone else from the group experienced anything like this.”

“What did he say that made you feel like you've transformed into a superhero?”

“It wasn't only what he said but the whole aggregation of it.” she poured herself a cup of tea and sat down in her sun filled breakfast nook. “He said he wanted to explain the root and substance of this world, defining its dangers and atrocities and how not to be influenced by them but to overpower them.” sipping her tea feeling it's soothing warmth calm her. She continued “He said that I AM the ocean and I should imagine how the wave crests raise and fall always changing, taking fluid shape and then dissolving again and again, being part of the great cosmic currents.”

“Oh I just got a chill, that's a big thought being part of the cosmic currents. Trying not to sound too sarcastic. I gotta get a cup of coffee....go on I'm listening”

”This next part is confusing I hope I get it right. Jerome said when you are ready to let go of every thought you've ever had about good and evil, only then after consciously surrendering to the translucent energy currents you gain eternal power and knowledge of all things.”

“I'm not sure I would want that knowledge , it sounds like a lot of responsibility. Is that what made you feel like Captain Marvel?”

“Well that and when he said I should allow myself to float with the underlying currents, until I'm drawn into nothingness which he said is the full measure of eternal being, it's the ocean of light itself where all cosmic lights emerge.

“Nothingness.” Jess said in a slightly sardonic tone.

“Yes, Nothingness,” Jayne rebuked. “Can you imagine walking around interacting with people and events fully aware of Nothingness? But as Jerome put it--to understand this transcendental light--you must develop, entirely new perceptive organs. Not contained in your cosmic self, rather your cosmic self is contained within them. Only when you know--you don't know--are you able to enter this room where your new organs are borne it is akin to growing new arms and legs! Only stronger more powerful more able to adapt to the existing universal powers.”

“Now that's bizarre. is that what made you feel like you were becoming Carol Danvers getting super powers?”

“Well yeah, kinda, my imagination probably had a lot to do with it. But there's more! He said for me to notice that the radiant ocean isn't merely in the deep, it is everywhere. YOU – WE are swimming in It. We are all swimming in this unseen light. You just don't know it--you don't notice it, because life offers too many distractions--you call this your identity waving his hands in the shape of my body. “But the luminous light of this ocean is your true identity.”

“Well, that's a lot to take in” said Jessie, “what kind of things can you do? Can you shoot sparks from your palms? Do your eyes light up?”

“No, not yet anyway...I still have to let it sink in--it's a process--like Jerome says truth must be lived”

“What a strange dream.” Jessie put her cup on the end table when she heard the familiar Plop on her porch and stepped outside to get the paper.”I'm glad I didn't dream it.”

“Think about it Jess, it had to have happened on some cosmic level. I don't know these things. Do you think I should call him and ask if he was aware he was a part of it?” Jayne’s plea reminded Jess of all the times when she needed reassuring during those tumultuous year's of her marriage. Jayne went on “ I'm wondering if he's even real or a residual effect of my divorce. You were with me Sunday, is he real?” Jayne was still crossing swords with that dark cloud of insecurity.

“Of course he's real and his words had a real effect on you. All I can say is you have changed, and for the better too. You've snapped out of your long time funk, and I kinda like the new Jayne.” Jess knew just the right thing to say to her beloved friend. “Why don't we go to Santa Monica for a swim in the ocean?”

“Terrific idea I can contemplate Jerome’s words about blending with the currents, practice swimming in the sea of light and work on getting my new superpowers. Another great idea. I’ll pack a lunch you drive.”

“Great I’ll be there in 20 minutes. Oh could you pack some of your Mom's sweet baby gherkins I like?”

********

This seems to be evolving into a series. To view Chapter One click Here

Chapter Three is Here

Fan Fiction
3

About the Creator

Jan Portugal

I love the adventure writing takes me on. I enjoy the idea of sharing them with an audience. I hope you enjoy my visions too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.