Fiction logo

AND THEN I MET YOU

By: Brittany Delk

By Brittany DelkPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
AND THEN I MET YOU
Photo by Andrey Zvyagintsev on Unsplash

I love you in a place where there's no space or time.

The lyrics of Donny Hathaway's sweet ballad plays in my mind as I lay in my secret hide out.

A field of danelions.

Okay, its not really a secret.

But it is far enough from the hustle and bustle of the city. Plus, it has limited cell phone service.

Therefore, it is the perfect hideout for an introvert like myself.

The sun is beaming on my face and is making my t-zone shiner than a crystal ball.

I love you for my life, you're a friend of mine. And when my life is over, remember when we were together. We were alone and I was singing this song to you.

I've never been in love before to truly relate to the words Mr. Hathaway sang so passionately.

But I often dream what it would be like.

I imagine bumping into McDreamy at a Starbucks.

Ladies you know who I'm talking about. The one and only Patrick Dempsey aka Derek Shepherd.

I am a klutz, thanks to my father passing down one of his best traits.

I spill my coffee on McDreamy. I apologize profusely.

"Don't worry about it. Its an old shirt anyway."

I brush up my glasses and look into his eyes.

"Let me buy you a coffee to make it up to you."

"No really, its fine. You didn't get that much on me. Most of it is on the floor."

"No, I insist."

McDreamy laughs.

"Honestly, it looks like you've been having one heck of a day. I should be the one offering you a new coffee or something stronger."

"Tequila always does the trick for me."

McDreamy smiles. I smile back and gaze into his eyes.

Out of nowhere like a sign from the heavens, the song "You belong with me" by Taylor Swift plays on the speaker.

I love Starbucks.

McDreamy and I chat engage in deep conversation for hours until the shop closes for the day.

McDreamy glances at his watch.

"Wow, look at the time. I can honestly say I've never been in Starbucks this long."

"Yeah, you pratically let the whole day fade away with a stranger."

"Are we really strangers if we had coffee and talked for hours? I mean you told me about your cat Daisy. I feel we are so much advanced. "

I chuckle.

"Well I brag and complain about Daisy to everyone. But if you meet her, then you're practially my boyfriend."

"That's a possibility."

My face turns red like Grandma Sally's cherry pies on Thanksgiving.

McDreamy leans in for a kiss. I pucker up and lean forward.

A green light flashes and Mr. McDreamy is gone.

"Chrissy, there you are."

I open my eyes.

"Wait, no. What happened?"

"Chrissy, are you asleep?"

I awaken from my love fantasy to the pesky farmer who loves to overstep his boundaries.

"Chrissy, can you hear me? I can't believe you are still out here. "

"I was about to make out with McDreamy. Did you need something?"

"Make out with McDreamy? Who is that? No one else is out here."

I sit up and dust off my shirt.

"Steve, what do you want?"

"I wanted to introduce you to a new pal of mine. He's helping me with some farm work. Since you're always out here daydreaming, I figure I give him a heads up that you aren't some intruder. Just a nice girl from the city who has no friends."

Steve has such a great way with words.

"Oh how thoughtful. Listen, if he doesn't look like McDreamy, I'm not interested in meeting your new farm help. I should go."

"John come over here. This is my good friend Chrissy.Chrissy, meet John."

I stand up and dust off my jeans.

"Steve, I said I'm not interested."

I turn around and see John.

A tall man with blue eyes and rosy cheeks.

He smiles.

"Hi Chrissy. I have a basket of flowers for you. Steve tells me you like flowers and come here often."

John's words slowly turns to rubbish as my ear drums tune out the rest of his introduction.

Donnie Hathaway plays in my head.

We were alone and I was singing this song to you.

Ladies and genetlemen, I have found my McDreamy.

Love

About the Creator

Brittany Delk

A writer who recently reconnected with her childhood passion for writing.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Brittany DelkWritten by Brittany Delk

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.